IGNORED

Pretty Basic Question - which balls to use

Note: This thread is 4645 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

This is gonna be a tough one for two reasons, The first is i haven't a clue about the different types and what they are used for etc. Secondly, I don't really know what info to provide in order to get suggestions.

Anyway, when i started playing again a few weeks back it was a round on a whim with friends, didn't expect to become instantly addicted again, so knowing i would play rubbish i picked up a box of like 40 mixed balls ( not sure if they were lake balls or whatever ). There were loads of "name" brands in there and i just picked out the best condition ones and played with them.

So, due to me being a pretty bad player my number of lost balls per round is pretty high so i need to get a ton of golf balls now but can be paying hundreds of euro on new pro v's etc.

My playing partner is a 10 handicap and seems to know a fair bit, he said nearly every ball i was playing was to hard or not suited to me, i think he saw me playing with some top-flite model ( i dunno if it makes a difference seeing as i slice them ob or lose them in lakes lol ).. if it does make a difference what makes and models should i be looking for?

Once i have determined what golf balls to get i will then be looking for deals like used or reclaimed etc.. problem is i don't really understand the difference between a lake ball and a reclaimed or any other variant of used ball. I don't see the point in buying a ton of spanking new balls to lose or damage a large percentage of them per round so what should i buy? ( lake, reclaimed etc ? )

as i said above If you need info on my game or clubs or courses to make suggestions let me know and i'll supply it. If a ball can give me even a slight edge then i want it =)