IGNORED

Back pain?

DublinMeUp
Note: This thread is 4456 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi Guys.

I know this will be hard to determine without you seeing my swing but just looking for any ideas.

I have noticed  an ache on the left side of my back since i started playing again. I am slightly worried that I am damaging myself permanently as it doesn't seem like just stiffness from not using the muscles that way before.

The following picture shows the area and possibly the muscle / muscle's affected. Sorry i just picked the first picture that came up.

Back-Muscles-Diagram.jpg

So I'm thinking its one of two things,

1) During my back swing i am not rotating my hips enough so all my turning motion is from the shoulders causing the muscles on my left side to stretch to far

2) I need to get my clubs fit to me ( All standard spec ). I'm 6'3" and have always presumed i need longer clubs because of this. Could i be stretching something by crouching down to much?

Just worried as I'm only 27 and don't want to give myself back problems by continuing to do something that is damaging me.

Cheers

Dub,  Is this related to your recent tour striker purchase?