Jump to content
IGNORED

Ruling?


lamebums
 Share

Note: This thread is 5569 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

I had this today, and thought I'd share this with y'all. I'm sure everyone's had this sooner or later, and I'm wondering what you did about it.

1) Play the ball as it lies, and to hell with the sole of my wedge?
2) Take an unplayable, drop the ball no nearer the hole, and take a stroke?
3) Consider the cart path an immovable obstruction, thus getting a free drop, no nearer the hole, without penalty?

Personally, I took option 3, but what do you think is the correct choice? (Yeah, I tend to interpret the rules.)

"Shouldn't you be going faster? I mean, you're doing 40 in a 65..."

Driver: Burner TP 9.5*
3 Wood: 906F2 15*
2I: Eye 23I-PW: 3100 I/HWedges: Vokey Spin-Milled 56*06, MP-R 52*07/60*05Putter: Victoria IIBall: Pro V1xCheck out my new blog: Thousand Yard DriveHome Course: Kenton County...
Link to comment
Share on other sites


It's obviously option number three. Unless, you are rich and can afford a new club...lol.

Driver Ping G10 10.5*
Hybrids Ping G5 (3) 19* Bridgestone J36 (4) 22*
Irons Mizuno MP-57 5-PW
Wedges Srixon WG-504 52.08 Bridgestone WC Copper 56.13
Putter 33" Scotty Cameron Studio Select #2

Link to comment
Share on other sites


I was under the impression that if your ball was on a man made cart path or caused your stance to be on a man made cart path it was a free drop?

Home Course:
Town of Colonie (69.7-70.1, 119-125)

Link to comment
Share on other sites


i know this for a fact its number three. You made the right choice. A cart path is an un-playable lie.
In My Bag

Driver: Sasquatch 460 9.5°
3 Wood: Laser 3 Wood 15°
5 Wood: r7 19° (Stiff)Irons: S58 Irons 4-PW Orange DotWedge: Harmonized 60°Wedge: Z TP 54°Putter: Tiffany 34"Balls: Pro V1 Shoes: Adidas Tour 360 IIThe Meadows Golf Coursewww.themeadowsgc.comAge: 16
Link to comment
Share on other sites


I was under the impression that if your ball was on a man made cart path or caused your stance to be on a man made cart path it was a free drop?

it is. but sometimes you'll get a good lie on the cart path...

if you do, you can hit it off there, just like you can hit it out of a hazard.

Driver Ping G10 10.5*
Hybrids Ping G5 (3) 19* Bridgestone J36 (4) 22*
Irons Mizuno MP-57 5-PW
Wedges Srixon WG-504 52.08 Bridgestone WC Copper 56.13
Putter 33" Scotty Cameron Studio Select #2

Link to comment
Share on other sites


it is. but sometimes you'll get a good lie on the cart path...

Since when is hitting a wedge off concrete a

good lie? If I were forced to play it as it lies, I would probably use the putter, try to advance the ball, but more importantly, get it back in grass.
"Shouldn't you be going faster? I mean, you're doing 40 in a 65..."

Driver: Burner TP 9.5*
3 Wood: 906F2 15*
2I: Eye 23I-PW: 3100 I/HWedges: Vokey Spin-Milled 56*06, MP-R 52*07/60*05Putter: Victoria IIBall: Pro V1xCheck out my new blog: Thousand Yard DriveHome Course: Kenton County...
Link to comment
Share on other sites


Rule 24: Immovable obstruction- You get free relief one club length no closer to the hole.

Danny    In my :ping: Hoofer golf bag

Driver:   :ping: G425 LST X-Stiff.                        Irons:  :callaway: 4-PW APEX TCB Irons 
3 Wood: :callaway: Mavrik SZ Rogue X-Stiff                            Nippon Pro Modus 130 X-Stiff
3 Hybrid: :callaway: Mavrik Pro KBS Tour Proto X   Wedges: :callaway: JAWS MD5 52°, 56°, 60° 
Putter: :scotty_cameron:  Phantom X 5.5                              Ball: :titleist: ProV 1

 

 

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Rule 24: Immovable obstruction- You get free relief one club length no closer to the hole.

Is it closest relief, or any direction within one club length? If it's any direction, is it one club length from the ball or the cart path itself? Lets say you ball is on the right side of the path, and one club length from the ball to the left still puts you on the cart path (assuming the left side of the path is a more favorable lie). Are you forced to take relief to the left, or can you try and get a lucky bounce off the path to the left? Thanks.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator
Is it closest relief, or any direction within one club length? If it's any direction, is it one club length from the ball or the cart path itself? Lets say you ball is on the right side of the path, and one club length from the ball to the left still puts you on the cart path (assuming the left side of the path is a more favorable lie). Are you forced to take relief to the left, or can you try and get a lucky bounce off the path to the left? Thanks.

It's one club length from the nearest point of relief. That means complete relief - you can't be standing on it, the ball can't be on it, and your swing can't be affected by it. So, wherever the nearest point of complete relief is, you must drop the ball within one clublength of that spot, no closer to the hole.

I'm not sure why the original poster started this thread. There are some good questions and answers (and even videos) here: http://www.usga.org/QUESTIONS/FAQS/r...idx=96&Rule;=24

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Is it closest relief, or any direction within one club length? If it's any direction, is it one club length from the ball or the cart path itself? Lets say you ball is on the right side of the path, and one club length from the ball to the left still puts you on the cart path (assuming the left side of the path is a more favorable lie). Are you forced to take relief to the left, or can you try and get a lucky bounce off the path to the left? Thanks.

It is actually the nearest point of relief no closer to the hole. Key word being "nearest".

Link to comment
Share on other sites


I think everyone should go buy a rule book or two....


It is a really good idea to keep one in your bag...the USGA makes them as easy as possible to find and interpret all the rules

In My Bag:
9.5 degree Mizuno MX-500
15 degree Titliest 904F
Mizuno MP-32 3-PW
Cleveland CG10 Black Pearl 52 degree
Vokey Spin-Milled 56.14
Ping i5 Anser

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Is it closest relief, or any direction within one club length? If it's any direction, is it one club length from the ball or the cart path itself? Lets say you ball is on the right side of the path, and one club length from the ball to the left still puts you on the cart path (assuming the left side of the path is a more favorable lie). Are you forced to take relief to the left, or can you try and get a lucky bounce off the path to the left? Thanks.

The procedure would be:

1. Mark the original spot of the ball. 2. Determine the closest spot of complete relief (neither you nor the ball can be on any part of the cart path) to where the original spot was, make sure it is not closer to the hole and mark that. 3. Mark one club length from the spot of relief. 4. Hold your hand straight out from your shoulder and drop the ball within that club length.

Danny    In my :ping: Hoofer golf bag

Driver:   :ping: G425 LST X-Stiff.                        Irons:  :callaway: 4-PW APEX TCB Irons 
3 Wood: :callaway: Mavrik SZ Rogue X-Stiff                            Nippon Pro Modus 130 X-Stiff
3 Hybrid: :callaway: Mavrik Pro KBS Tour Proto X   Wedges: :callaway: JAWS MD5 52°, 56°, 60° 
Putter: :scotty_cameron:  Phantom X 5.5                              Ball: :titleist: ProV 1

 

 

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I can't imagine why the OP would think that there is any other decision than his 3rd option. The rules are quite clear on this. The only possible question would be if the paved area was designated as an integral part of the course, like the road at the 17th hole on the St. Andrews Old Course, but that is a rare exception in the world of modern golf. Note the definition below from the Rules of Golf, particularly the part in bold type:

Obstructions An “obstruction’’ is anything artificial, including the artificial surfaces and sides of roads and paths and manufactured ice, except: a. Objects defining out of bounds, such as walls, fences, stakes and railings; b. Any part of an immovable artificial object that is out of bounds; and c. Any construction declared by the Committee to be an integral part of the course. An obstruction is a movable obstruction if it may be moved without unreasonable effort, without unduly delaying play and without causing damage. Otherwise it is an immovable obstruction.

You are always

entitled to relief without penalty from an immovable obstruction, but you are not required to take it. I have hit from paths before when taking the correct relief would have left me nearly unplayable in deep rough. The grass visible in that photo near the ball does not seem to be too bad, so I'd definitely take relief here.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 5569 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct links for Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package. Save 10% on Mevo with coupon code "IACAS" as well.
  • Posts

    • Played again this morning to try and get out before a lot of people came (no tee times required at the Methodist course). And honestly, not much to say about the round. I can pretty much summarize today’s round by saying this: I had a rough start and couldn’t get anything going. Parred 10 and 11 to start the back nine, but a three-putt for bogey on 12 ruined my momentum. The final numbers were 47-44 for a 91. Not great. I also have a required PAT in two weeks at that course (more about that in my blog post today), so I’ve gotta get working.
    • Day 28: 8/13/2022 Worked on my priority pieces today with a 7 iron. It was all block practice. However, I only focused on one thing at a time. Working hard to try to get a movement engrained into my swing. No random practice today. 
    • Just curious, why did you bring this thread back to life? 
    • I have a golfing friend whose entire body is pretty beat up from multiple injuries.  Hits down on the ball a lot.  He's close to a scratch player.  A true range rat.  He finds 4 pine cones to put in a rectangle under the mat aligning with his hitting area.
    • Thanks for all the good ideas. I’m current practicing on a new Top Tracer range at our course. The mat does seem softer than many I have used at regular driving ranges. But still you can tell if you hit it really fat. It hurts. The data it gives for each shot isn’t very informative. It shows carry, total distance, height and how much it curves. I think we can tell most of that without the feedback. 
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. cipher
      cipher
      (42 years old)
    2. JoshStefanyszyn
      JoshStefanyszyn
      (27 years old)
    3. MexicanStallion
      MexicanStallion
      (35 years old)
    4. RaginCajun814
      RaginCajun814
      (45 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...