Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
JackOConnor

Rules on lining up putts

30 posts in this topic

I regularily play golf with a few friends. One of them has a strange and controversial method of lining up his putts. I believe it to be illegal.

He does the following: Has a look at the putt and takes some practice swings. Then, he grounds the putter behind the ball and while keeping one hand on the grip and not moving the putter, he crouches down behind the putter and lines up the head of the putter with his other hand. Then he takes his stance once again without moving the putter from where he lined it up and takes his stroke.

Is this legal?

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sounds ok to me.  Is there a specific rule you think he is breaching?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Rules concerning putting and the green:

1. You cannot test the grain

2. You must mark your ball if picking up/turning

3. You may clean your ball

4. You may not fix spike marks

5. You may fix ball marks and remove debris

6. You cannot putt with the flag in if your ball is on the green.

Everything else is fair game.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think he may be breaking rule 8-2b

Quote:

When a player's ball is on the putting green, the player....may, before but not during the stroke, point out a line for putting, but in so doing the putting green must not be touched.

Does this not count as during the stroke?

Also, the putting green must not be touched.

Am I interpreting this correctly?

Edit Putting green

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by pixel5

6. You cannot putt with the flag in if your ball is on the green.

Yes you can. It's just a penalty if you hit the flagstick. :-)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by iacas

Yes you can. It's just a penalty if you hit the flagstick. :-)

Interesting, I just made the exact same point in another thread.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by JackOConnor

I think he may be breaking rule 8-2b

Does this not count as during the stroke?

Also, the putting green must not be touched.

Am I interpreting this correctly?

Edit Putting green

Short answer is no.  If I understand your original post, he's is aligning his putter with this right hand on the putter head. When he rests the putter head on the green immediately behind the ball, he has addressed it.  No violation. After that, he aligns the putter with his right hand on the head.....still no violation.  The rules don't care if your right hand is on the grip or the head in the act of aligning the head.  He then takes a normal grip and stance and makes his stroke.  No violation.  The only thing that might be of concern with some is if he touched the green while aligning up the putter head.  IMHO, I don't see a violation of 8-2b in this instance.  This thread, http://thesandtrap.com/t/58953/is-it-legal-to-use-your-putter-to-line-up-your-putt talks about something similar and the discussion mainly focused on whether touching the green behind the ball was touching the "Line for Putting" mentioned in 8-2b..  I posed this question on another rules forum.

http://golfrules.freeforums.org/line-for-putting-t1833.html

The discussion got somewhat involved as to the difference in "The line for putting" in R8-2b versus "The Line of Putt" referenced in the definitions and Rule 16-1, however I believe the consensus was in both cases, touching the green behind the ball was not a violation.

BTW, I posed the question in the other thread to the USGA.  I never got an answer.....

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by iacas

Yes you can. It's just a penalty if you hit the flagstick. :-)

If you can put a ball with the flagstick in...and not hit the flagstick...

...you should stop cutting your holes bigger than regulation!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wow I don't know if I would be your friend while playing golf. You seem to WANT to find something illegal he is doing.

Unless you're playing in a USGA sanctioned tournament. Why do you care so much about his technique?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by pixel5

If you can put a ball with the flagstick in...and not hit the flagstick...

...you should stop cutting your holes bigger than regulation!

Not sure if you're being sarcastic. You are correct that holing out a putt would hit the flag. However, you can putt with the flag in without penalty if you don't hit the flag.

When I play alone or fast with a group, I will sometimes putt a very long putt with the flag in and unattended. I've yet to hit the flag on those long bombs.

To the OP: The  guy's routine is goofy but not illegal. It also makes me feel better about my routine. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by rustyredcab

Not sure if you're being sarcastic. You are correct that holing out a putt would hit the flag. However, you can putt with the flag in without penalty if you don't hit the flag.

When I play alone or fast with a group, I will sometimes putt a very long putt with the flag in and unattended. I've yet to hit the flag on those long bombs.

To the OP: The  guy's routine is goofy but not illegal. It also makes me feel better about my routine. :)

Exactly. Nobody said "hole a putt." They just said putt with the flagstick in. It's perfectly legal.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Yea, it's legal alright. I just kind of assumed it would be illegal cause no one else is doing it!!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I occasionally golf with a guy who has one of those stand up putters.  If you haven't seen them they have a big, ugly (ugly!) head that allows it to stand up on its own so the player can stand behind the ball and move it until it is on line.  Stupid thing looks like a piece of bended sheet metal with a shaft and a grip. We like to give him crap about how ugly the putter is and what an awful noise it makes (doink!).  But I'm afraid totally legal - and painful since he putts great with it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by rustyredcab

Not sure if you're being sarcastic. You are correct that holing out a putt would hit the flag. However, you can putt with the flag in without penalty if you don't hit the flag.

Yes, and by Decision 17-3/1, it's impossible even to argue that your lag putt was so perfect that it just dropped into the cup without touching the flagstick. (This is clearly true---the ball is only holed when it comes to rest, which is plainly impossible for it to do without striking the flag stick at some point, even if the ball does not touch it on the way to the bottom of the cup.)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by turtleback

Interesting, I just made the exact same point in another thread.

I think it was Seve who actually had his caddie tend the flagstick on even 6' putts, as long as the caddie pulled the flagstick out of the cup before the ball went in it was legal.This was a while ago so maybe the rule has been changed but I don't think so.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I occasionally golf with a guy who has one of those stand up putters.  If you haven't seen them they have a big, ugly (ugly!) head that allows it to stand up on its own so the player can stand behind the ball and move it until it is on line.  Stupid thing looks like a piece of bended sheet metal with a shaft and a grip. We like to give him crap about how ugly the putter is and what an awful noise it makes (doink!).  But I'm afraid totally legal - and painful since he putts great with it.

check out Bridgestones new putter line. They are going a very different direction on the counter balance putter. They are able to stand up on their own as well but with a very traditional look.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've read both http://thesandtrap.com/t/58953/is-it-legal-to-use-your-putter-to-line-up-your-putt and http://golfrules.freeforums.org/line-for-putting-t1833.html as referenced in Dormie's post and I figured I'd throw in my tuppence worth. It would probably be more appropriate in http://thesandtrap.com/t/58953/is-it-legal-to-use-your-putter-to-line-up-your-putt but I didn't want to bump a nearly year old thread.

Anyway, the point that strikes me about the language of 8.2b is "... may, before but not during the stroke, point out a line for putting ,"

There seems to have been a lot of discussion about where the 'line for putting' is in relation to the 'line of putt' as discussed in 16.1 but the point I haven't seen made anywhere is that the language 'line for putting' seems to me clearly intended to indicate a point at which the ball would be aimed.

Thus, any point on the green in a direction opposite from that which the ball will be traveling cannot possibly be used to 'point out a line for putting'.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    Leupold Golf
    Snell Golf
    Talamore Golf Resort
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • (Feel free to move if this isn't an appropriate location) I purchased a SkyTrak launch monitor, and I have been very pleased with the product thus far. I feel that my review/experiences over the past few years may be able to help some or create good discussion on practicing. I don't have practice facilities readily accessible (25 min drive), so I've spent countless hours refining my swing in my garage with a mat/net.  3 years ago I was a 12 hcp and often struggled to make consistent solid contact, but have since lowered my hcp to the 4-6 range. It took a little while to learn the "feel" of different hits/misses while hitting into a net, but I was soon able to identify many different misses (fat, thin, toe, big slice, duck hook, etc) as well as a relatively solid hit.  It was easy to make improvements to my swing, because the difference between my "better" shots and my "worse" shots was easy to determine.   As I continued to improve my ball striking on the mat, I saw positive (although somewhat delayed) results on the course.  Last year, I had finally eliminated the majority of major mis-hits, and my "worse" shots turned into smaller draws and slices as well as small errors in distance control and starting flight path. I found that my mat/net practice sessions mostly consisted of solid feeling hits that went in the general vicinity of my target.  I was no longer getting specific enough feedback to further hone my ball striking.  I would spend a full week practicing what felt great at home, but when I took it to the course, I realized that I actually had a mild-moderate slice/draw that I wasn't aware of.  Basically, it was like hitting an 8 iron and knowing that my ball likely landed somewhere on the green or fringe, but, but not knowing if it was left, right, short, or long. I spent more time going to the range and hitting the course, but my schedule just doesn't allow me to go more than once or twice per week.  My improvement plateaued.   I did some research, and ultimately settled on the $2k SkyTrak instead of the variety of different options.  I considered the Optishot2 and GC2 based on other reviews, but ultimately settled with an in-between.   It was easy to setup, and after 5 minutes of experimenting with different ball positions, I've found it to be very accurate and consistent to the best that I can tell.  I can't attest to the accuracy of the more specific measurements (spin, launch angle, club head speed, etc), but what I "feel" seems to be very consistent with what I see.  The only thing that doesn't "feel" like what I see, is that my stock standard "good" feeling shot has a decent draw to it instead of being straight (remember my problem above?).  Adjusting my baseline "feel" to what is reality, any shots that feel like a draw actually show up as a bigger draw, and what feels like a fade is actually a straight shot.   I can consistently judge a fade, draw, flighted, flop, and my carry to within ~5 yards after I strike the ball.  It truly feels like I'm hitting on the range but with more specific information at my disposal (carry, launch angle, max height, spin).  Even if the numbers aren't perfectly accurate, they seem to be accurate relative to other shots within the same launch monitor (aka spin numbers increase and decrease as would be expected based on swing/club, even if I can't confirm their overall accuracy). I have no clue if SkyTrak was the best bang-for-buck, or if there are better products out there.  I also haven't been able to take it outdoors to confirm flight patterns.  It seems like a very poor setup for anyone wanting to take it to the range - indoor mat/net setup is its niche from my understanding.   I'm only a week in to using it, so my feeling may change over time, but I thought I would share my experience and offer to answer any questions if anyone has them.  Happy golfing!
    • So, I have another lesson on saturday but I've been working hard maintaining my posture during the swing. Over the last few months i developed a trend where on the down swing i would lean my left shoulder toward the ball and my right shoulder would come under and 4 times out of 5 i hit the ball fat. Yesterday's range session showed tremendous improvement, and i was back to hitting good shots again. Now that I have this down, I think it's time for another lesson so I can work on whatever he tells me next. Also, I bought a nike blades 4 iron for fun because I've always liked the look of blades but don't have the balls to actually play them, and I was shocked at how much distance I got, even on mishits. I was even more surprised when I put it on a tee and was hitting the ball almost as far as my 3 wood... just a lot more accurate. Can anyone say Beginners Luck? I think the true cause for this is actually the loft of the 4 iron. The one i have now(Cobra King Forged TEC), has so little loft it feels like i'm attempting to hit driver off the deck and is super tough to hit.
    • We missed some birthdays yesterday: @Bechambo, @Danny The Pin Seeker, @Rick_D, and @ScottHoganGolf. Happy birthday!
    •   Thanks guys! Got to take the kids to the driving range, in Michigan, in mid-Feb! Not bad at all. 
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. henry granic
      henry granic
      (61 years old)
    2. Jscrillah
      Jscrillah
      (45 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon