IGNORED

Question for the dads....

PensacolaWahoo
Note: This thread is 6013 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I have a 4 1/2 year old boy. He's been hitting balls off and on at the range with me since about last August. He's got his own bag, putter, 3W, 7 and 9 iron. I often wished that I started playing at an earlier age and want him to grow up playing golf. He seems to enjoy it (in short bursts), but his attention span is still extremely limited. Just wondering how early other dads out there have gotten their children involved and what type of approach you've taken as far as practice. I want him to try hard and do things properly, but I also want him primarily to have fun. Wondering if 4-5 years old is just too young to expect him to take anything seriously.

In my bag -

MacGregor V-Foil 13º
Lynx Fairway Metal 18º
TM SuperSteel Burner 3-PWSrixon I-201 56ºPurespin Wedges 52º & 60º

I started taking my sons with me at about that age. I started by just taking their putter with me and they would drop balls and putt at every green. After that we started taking a wedge and if I missed the green they would chip from my ball too. Next we started to have them tee off at the 150 marker, then red tees, and now at 11 and 13 they are playing off the white tees. The biggest thing I found was to no push it. If they were done, they were done, and they didnt hit another ball until they were ready.

Ease them into it and have fun out there.
Driver - TaylorMade R9 460 10.5°
3 Wood - TaylotMade Burner Tour
3 & 4 Hybrids - Adams a7
Irons - R7 tp 5-PW
Wedges - Vokey SM Black Nickel - 52º - 56º - 60ºPutter - Scotty Cameron California - SonomaSkyCaddie - SG4Lowest Round - 68 - Par 72 /67.6/120Lowest Tournament Round - 69 -...