Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
HackerUpNorth

Hole in One!

12 posts in this topic

Hello,

I got my first hole in one recently, at a local course in Eureka, Ca.   It was a par 4 287 yard, ( markers said 298 but I measured it) with my 3 wood.  The people near the green waiting for the next hole, were standing there when I teed off, and the ball was going near them, when the ball landed they turn there heads, and I thought oh crap I almost hit them.  It turns out they heard it hit, and were surprised and just backed up a little bit.  They said it hit a little rise a few yards past the green, on the slope, and caused the ball to roll backwards and in the hole!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

► 1:05► 1:05 www.youtube.com/watch?v=IMmUavZU5Is Jul 11, 2008 - 1 min - Uploaded by GolfingRivals Checkout this crazy bit of golf from the recent 2008 Asian Tour. Silky Goosen got right royally ... Check this out. Cool getting an ace.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Goosen has to replace his ball. No ace.

I thought Goosen got a two stroke penalty on top of the fact that it counted for KJ Choi. When I watched this thing, it looked like Goosen's ball went in. I guess it didn't matter if he got a 2 stroke penalty. Either of them could make the 6 footer left. Was this how KJ ended up winning?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by zipazoid

Goosen has to replace his ball. No ace.

Originally Posted by Lihu

I thought Goosen got a two stroke penalty on top of the fact that it counted for KJ Choi.

When I watched this thing, it looked like Goosen's ball went in.

I guess it didn't matter if he got a 2 stroke penalty. Either of them could make the 6 footer left.

Was this how KJ ended up winning?

Ummm, no.  It's what Zip said.  KJ Choi leaves his ball where it is, no penalty, and Goosen puts his ball back where it was, no penalty, no hole-in-one.

That's it.  (Had it been Choi's ball that carromed into the hole, that would be a different story.)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Ummm, no.  It's what Zip said.  KJ Choi leaves his ball where it is, no penalty, and Goosen puts his ball back where it was, no penalty, no hole-in-one. That's it.  (Had it been Choi's ball that carromed into the hole, that would be a different story.)

Assuming they both made the putt, does this mean that KJ needed to win the next hole? I remember it being announced that he won the match, but now I have no idea how ne did it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Lihu

Assuming they both made the putt, does this mean that KJ needed to win the next hole? I remember it being announced that he won the match, but now I have no idea how ne did it.

If they both made their putts they both made birdie. According to the graphic they were both -4 going into the hole, therefore -5 after it if they both made their putts. It was the 18th hole, so if it was the last round, playoff. If not, tied going into the next round.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Goosen and Choi aside, an amateur gets a double eagle on a 300 yard Par 4? That's the kind of item that makes the Sports Illustrated blurb page. Did the golf course call it in to the local media?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Goosen and Choi aside, an amateur gets a double eagle on a 300 yard Par 4? That's the kind of item that makes the Sports Illustrated blurb page. Did the golf course call it in to the local media?

That's true, I think they have a plaque for the people who aced the first hole on One of my local courses. I should ask. BTW, back to goosen and choi, did you hear the announcer say 271 yards, but the tee box sign said 217 yards? Either way, it is really impressive that these two shoot for the pin at 200+ yards.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Nope you had to be member at the course to get recognition, all I got was good job, and it will be listed as the first person to get a hole in one on a par 4 at the course, but no name

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Quote:

Originally Posted by HackerUpNorth

Nope you had to be member at the course to get recognition, all I got was good job, and it will be listed as the first person to get a hole in one on a par 4 at the course, but no name

Hmm. Sounds like a double secret double eagle if there's an ace but they won't identify the perp. BTW, I know someone who aced a par 3, but refused to tell the Pro Desk (and this course adds your name to a the wall plaque) because he carded something like a 118.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lihu

BTW, back to goosen and choi, did you hear the announcer say 271 yards, but the tee box sign said 217 yards? Either way, it is really impressive that these two shoot for the pin at 200+ yards.

That announcer was wacko. "He's got some meat on this one. It could be too much!" BTW, those swings sure looked smooth and easy.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    Leupold Golf
    Snell Golf
    Talamore Golf Resort
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • Here in USA, the KBS Tour S-flex shafts go for about $27 each new. If you get AP2 714 model, a 4-PW (?) reshaft would require $189 + tax to get shafts. Add $15 per club for shaft swap, and $10 per for new grips, and it's about $365 + tax. The KBS Tour stiff would be a few grams lighter and slightly stiffer than the S300 which often come as stock for the AP2. OTH is on target, consider this too.
    • I had a big long post going and lost it. The game of golf has only one set of rules per continent. The equipment used is well defined as far as legal, or illegal. The other sports you mentioned are dealing more with different age groups, physical sizes, and skill levels. Sure, golf has players of all ages, sizes, and skill levels too. Golf also has one set of rules, and one playing field with differences in length. Difference is baseball has tee ball. Football has different leagues based on age groups, and it's the same  for basketball. These sports cater to the needs of their players based on their age groups, and skill levels. This also includes the playing fields, and equipment they use. So in that respect I have no problem with what other sports are doing. 
    • 2/23: Feeling encouraged. I think I've got the (worse than usual) weight-shift/head movement mystery solved, or at least "identified" with a much better understanding of it (and a confirmation that it's always been there ). Getting better at the process I think...(1) noticing a problem but not knowing the why, (2) Slowing down and checking keys 1-3, and (3) "going back to my first lesson" so to speak by reviewing old video and my swing posts, and slowly "backing up" from the problem to try and identify the (chain of) cause(s). Today's practice: 10 minutes of good ol' wall drill, with original focus of getting my right hip away from the wall but with added attention paid to my upper body and (actually getting some) secondary axis tilt. Several slow and medium-speed reps of this pausing for feel and thinking about and practicing how I'd transition into the downswing. Then 6-8 minutes outside... Just two "reps" of 3-4 minutes slow-motion back- and downswings (hip, axis tilt, weight shift (and resulting proper better club path ) and then an easy-swing full shot with my 56o. So I only hit two shots and both were perfect, high draws.
    • Cobra Bio Cell + set at 15 degrees I am very confident with this club.  My 4 iron goes about 190 and my 3h goes 200-210.  Anything more than that (in the 220-230 range) is this club.  I have hit some very accurate shots with it and feel very comfortable with it.  In the first round this season, I have plopped one from 225 out within 15 feet from the pin.  I may change my driver this year but I get the feeling this club along with my hybrid (also a Bio Cell +) will be around for a long time
    • Make sure you bring your current driver with you and make sure u hit it on the launch monitor there.  You will want to be able to compare what it says for your current driver with what they fit u for.  All u want to see is the improvement of the new over the old.  Don't dwell on the distance the monitor says....just the improvment.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. bluebaws82
      bluebaws82
      (35 years old)
    2. g30rg35m1th
      g30rg35m1th
      (17 years old)
    3. Otis2014
      Otis2014
      (54 years old)
    4. Phil Marsh
      Phil Marsh
      (46 years old)
    5. SMOOTH1
      SMOOTH1
      (55 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon