• Announcements

    • iacas

      Visit FlagstickRule.com   03/13/2017

      Visit the site flagstickrule.com to read about and sign a petition for the USGA/R&A regarding the one terrible rule in the proposed "modernized" rules for 2019.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
HackerUpNorth

Hole in One!

12 posts in this topic

Hello,

I got my first hole in one recently, at a local course in Eureka, Ca.   It was a par 4 287 yard, ( markers said 298 but I measured it) with my 3 wood.  The people near the green waiting for the next hole, were standing there when I teed off, and the ball was going near them, when the ball landed they turn there heads, and I thought oh crap I almost hit them.  It turns out they heard it hit, and were surprised and just backed up a little bit.  They said it hit a little rise a few yards past the green, on the slope, and caused the ball to roll backwards and in the hole!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

► 1:05► 1:05 www.youtube.com/watch?v=IMmUavZU5Is Jul 11, 2008 - 1 min - Uploaded by GolfingRivals Checkout this crazy bit of golf from the recent 2008 Asian Tour. Silky Goosen got right royally ... Check this out. Cool getting an ace.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Goosen has to replace his ball. No ace.

I thought Goosen got a two stroke penalty on top of the fact that it counted for KJ Choi. When I watched this thing, it looked like Goosen's ball went in. I guess it didn't matter if he got a 2 stroke penalty. Either of them could make the 6 footer left. Was this how KJ ended up winning?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by zipazoid

Goosen has to replace his ball. No ace.

Originally Posted by Lihu

I thought Goosen got a two stroke penalty on top of the fact that it counted for KJ Choi.

When I watched this thing, it looked like Goosen's ball went in.

I guess it didn't matter if he got a 2 stroke penalty. Either of them could make the 6 footer left.

Was this how KJ ended up winning?

Ummm, no.  It's what Zip said.  KJ Choi leaves his ball where it is, no penalty, and Goosen puts his ball back where it was, no penalty, no hole-in-one.

That's it.  (Had it been Choi's ball that carromed into the hole, that would be a different story.)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Ummm, no.  It's what Zip said.  KJ Choi leaves his ball where it is, no penalty, and Goosen puts his ball back where it was, no penalty, no hole-in-one. That's it.  (Had it been Choi's ball that carromed into the hole, that would be a different story.)

Assuming they both made the putt, does this mean that KJ needed to win the next hole? I remember it being announced that he won the match, but now I have no idea how ne did it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Lihu

Assuming they both made the putt, does this mean that KJ needed to win the next hole? I remember it being announced that he won the match, but now I have no idea how ne did it.

If they both made their putts they both made birdie. According to the graphic they were both -4 going into the hole, therefore -5 after it if they both made their putts. It was the 18th hole, so if it was the last round, playoff. If not, tied going into the next round.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Goosen and Choi aside, an amateur gets a double eagle on a 300 yard Par 4? That's the kind of item that makes the Sports Illustrated blurb page. Did the golf course call it in to the local media?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Goosen and Choi aside, an amateur gets a double eagle on a 300 yard Par 4? That's the kind of item that makes the Sports Illustrated blurb page. Did the golf course call it in to the local media?

That's true, I think they have a plaque for the people who aced the first hole on One of my local courses. I should ask. BTW, back to goosen and choi, did you hear the announcer say 271 yards, but the tee box sign said 217 yards? Either way, it is really impressive that these two shoot for the pin at 200+ yards.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Nope you had to be member at the course to get recognition, all I got was good job, and it will be listed as the first person to get a hole in one on a par 4 at the course, but no name

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Quote:

Originally Posted by HackerUpNorth

Nope you had to be member at the course to get recognition, all I got was good job, and it will be listed as the first person to get a hole in one on a par 4 at the course, but no name

Hmm. Sounds like a double secret double eagle if there's an ace but they won't identify the perp. BTW, I know someone who aced a par 3, but refused to tell the Pro Desk (and this course adds your name to a the wall plaque) because he carded something like a 118.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lihu

BTW, back to goosen and choi, did you hear the announcer say 271 yards, but the tee box sign said 217 yards? Either way, it is really impressive that these two shoot for the pin at 200+ yards.

That announcer was wacko. "He's got some meat on this one. It could be too much!" BTW, those swings sure looked smooth and easy.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    Leupold Golf
    Snell Golf
    Talamore Golf Resort
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • Why not just send it back and get your refund?..Spending $200 on a "starter driver" seems expensive, from my perspective.... That all said, I'm very happy with my GX-7. I've got 10 rounds in with it so far and it isn't leaving my bag. They tell you right up front that it isn't going to win in a head to head distance competition with your driver. The point is that you'll hit it an acceptable distance (think 2 wood), but will be in play a lot more than with your driver. That's why they tell you to do the "averages test". Play a full round with your driver and measure EVERY driver shot (even the ones you dribble off the tee or slice into the nearby pond). Then play the same course with the GX-7 and measure your distances. That's what they mean when they say you'll be "consistently longer" with the GX-7.  If you're like me, your distances with the GX-7 will be averaged as longer than the driver.  If you can keep your driver in play on most every hole, then the GX-7 really isn't for you anyway. You aren't the target audience.    
    • I use it as a streatching/warm-up/exercise device.  I think it works well for that.  Maybe it helps my tempo also.
    • I bought a 100 pack of 48mm plastic castle tees on eBay for less than $4-shipped. They're the PERFECT height for the GX-7 and should last me forever. 
    • When using a cart don't wait for your fellow player sharing your cart to finish their shot and get back in the cart if it is quicker to drop him off and drive to your ball while he is getting ready to hit.  You have to use your judgement on when this will quicken your pace of play, it often will. There are really dozens of things you can do to help with pace of play. Little things, like where you park your bag around the green when walking, bringing your head cover to the tee box so you can put it back on as you walk back to your bag, mark your scorecard at the next tee while your playing partner is teeing off, etc. etc.  They all add up.  If you stay focused and aware of pace of play you'll learn them and/or figure them out.
    • I'll be in class with you then, Bill. Will be totally new to me, but let me know if there's any pre-knowledge you think might be helpful for me to brush up on first. I played a round last week, but I'm not sure what the heck happened to me (other than just age). I got fatigued at the turn, and started to feel a twinge in my neck- but played through it. Past couple days have been nursing the neck with Advil and massages, but now it is isolated to just some pain in my right shoulder blade when I lift my head up and turn it to the left. Other head movements feel just fine, but I'm not pushing it with a swing or anything yet. So I'm recovering well, but I'm just more concerned that this is a sign I'm starting to fall apart! It felt like a pretty standard walking round, which I'm usually able to do without any fatigue/aches/pains. I tell my wife, see! I just gotta play more for my own health! That logic seems to be working for now Good luck with your recovery, Matt.  
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. chewyshaun
      chewyshaun
      (38 years old)
    2. JetFan1983
      JetFan1983
      (34 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon