IGNORED

Advice on some new (old) clubs - blades for a high handicapper

Note: This thread is 4189 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I've been out of golf for 5 years now but I'm getting back into it (I hope).  I'm about halfway through my lessons and going in, I'd be happy shooting in the mid 90s.  My current clubs are a set of Mizuno game improvement clubs.  Was fitted 7 years ago with extra stiff shafts.  I need to get out of them as I've lost a lot swing speed after reconstructing my swing.

So I need new shafts.  Question is, should I stick with my cavity back mizzie's (MX-25) or re-shaft a set of new KZG forged.

A buddy of mine picked up a set of KZGs which I took for a test drive at the range.  I haven't hit forged clubs since I started playing 15 years ago and those were an old set of Titleists.  These KZGs were smooth (when I strike them well).  The thing that turns me away from them is my handicap - I feel like I'm learning to drive in a $100k sports car.

Thanks for any insight.

How much are you willing to spend?  Re-shafting/re-gripping your current clubs could be as expensive as getting another set of irons (used or new depending on the make).  This is the time of year to find deals too - as many folks are putting away the clubs for the winter months.  And a lot of retailers are discounting clubs to make room for next seasons inventories.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I don't want to spend too much but then again, it would just be the price of the shafts - I have grips and I do my own re-shafting and gripping (I like getting my hands dirty).