Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
jerkputter

ball lands on another teebox right next to tee marker

14 posts in this topic

My ball lands on another tee box today next to tee marker which had me blocked from green I was playing

Would I get free relief ?  or do I just move the tee marker? I always played where we dropped off another tee box but I know the rules say play it as you found it. I also know some local rules do not allow you to hit a ball off another tee box.

I got the honor to play Shoal Creek near Birmingham Alabama and few months ago and my ball landed on another tee box. I was a guest at this great golf course and no way was I going to take a divot on that perfect tee box. Just wondering what would happen in tournament golf if the ball came to rest behind a tee marker that you were not supposed to move. JP

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

If local rules don't specify it you have to play the ball on the tee box.  You may move the tee marker and make your shot or take an unplayable lie and drop with a penalty stroke (not sure why you would do this).

I'm not a rules guru so I could be mistaken, I'm pretty confident on this ruling though.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We play winter rules all year at our course so dropping from a tee box would probably fit into those winter rules. Some of the people I play with bend most of the rules anyway. If you are tagged as a cheater then from a golfer viewpoint your are branded for life. More than once I have seen a person tee off with a Pro V and finish the hole with a Top-Flite lol

I just never seen a PGA event when a players ball landed next to a tee marker so I was not quite sure what the exact rule was. Thanks for your reply. JP

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

11-2 . Tee-Markers

Before a player makes his first stroke with any ball on the teeing ground of the hole being played, the tee-markers are deemed to be fixed . In these circumstances, if the player moves or allows to be moved a tee-marker for the purpose of avoiding interference with his stance , the area of his intended swing or his line of play , he incurs the penalty for a breach of Rule 13-2 .

11-2/1

Status of Tee-Markers After First Stroke

Q. Under Rule 11-2 , tee-markers are deemed to be fixed when playing the first stroke with any ball from the teeing ground. Are tee-markers obstructions thereafter?

A. Yes.

You can not move the tees, on the tee box you are playing, before your first stroke.  After that, all tee markers are movable obstructions.  You can move them out of the way.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by jerkputter

We play winter rules all year at our course so dropping from a tee box would probably fit into those winter rules.

Dropping from a 'tee box' is not a winter rule. You may play from a 'tee box' whenever you wish.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ah, jerkputter. I think that starting the hole with ball A, and finishing with ball Z is not uncommon and does not necessarily indicate any rules violation, as long as all balls used are conforming and you are not in playing in tourney where the 'one ball rule' is in effect.  Sure, sometimes folks switch balls for no good reason and that is a 'no-no'.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by joekelly

Ah, jerkputter. I think that starting the hole with ball A, and finishing with ball Z is not uncommon and does not necessarily indicate any rules violation, as long as all balls used are conforming and you are not in playing in tourney where the 'one ball rule' is in effect.  Sure, sometimes folks switch balls for no good reason and that is a 'no-no'.

Starting a hole with one ball and finishing the hole with another (whatever the type) can only take place when substitution is permitted under a Rule.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Joe, I was referring to certain people that play with us that hit their ball in the woods with a pro v and when they putt I notice it is a different ball. They are just cheaters and we all know it yet we continue to let them play. I know most all golf groups have them. I wonder sometimes if PGA tour players have a few. These people never mention when we are looking for their ball what brand and number until a ball is found and they say yea, that's it. A few years ago I watched one of these cheaters tee off and try to hit his shot over some trees to a short part 4. I was next to the green when he hit. His ball went behind the green by some trees. I just picked it up and put it in my pocket and waited until he got to where it should be. Yep, he found it right away. I never mentioned to him I had his ball in my pocket. I just wanted to confirm he was indeed a cheater. I tossed his ball in the water on the next hole.lol

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This happened to Graeme McDowell a couple of years ago at Tiger's tournament (the year he won).  On the last par 3, he overshot the green and the ball landed on the next tee box, way above the green he was playing.  I can't remember if he had to move the marker.  But he did pitch it on the green and made the putt.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by jerkputter

I got the honor to play Shoal Creek near Birmingham Alabama and few months ago and my ball landed on another tee box. I was a guest at this great golf course and no way was I going to take a divot on that perfect tee box.

Why?

A tee box is a place specifically prepared for making strokes from it. It is not forbidden to take a divot when making a stroke. In fact, in many cases it is even highly recommended... ;-)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by jerkputter

Joe, I was referring to certain people that play with us that hit their ball in the woods with a pro v and when they putt I notice it is a different ball. They are just cheaters and we all know it yet we continue to let them play.

Other than when the "one ball rule" is in effect (which is usually only for high level tournaments), can't you legally substitute whatever ball you like for a lost ball, or ball in hazard? I can find no rule to the contrary...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by sacm3bill

Other than when the "one ball rule" is in effect (which is usually only for high level tournaments), can't you legally substitute whatever ball you like for a lost ball, or ball in hazard? I can find no rule to the contrary...

I think he mean's the golfer couldn't find his ball through the green, and dropped one when no one was looking.   Think "Goldfinger" and Odd Job via his pant leg.

A variation is the "Towel trick" that I've seen at my club.  Player is always looking for a ball with a towel hanging from his hand.  New ball is inside the towel.  Can't find your original, or having found original you don't like where it is......drop new ball, or throw towel on ground with ball inside.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Haha.  Never heard of the 'towel trick' but the hole in the pocket is well known.  Next we will find the hat with the secret pocket and ball within. As player (cheater) bends over to search ball drops free.  'FOUND IT'.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • This is a fundamental that is that ruins so many golf swings before they start. Let's look at why. Bending at the waist is physically easier - it takes less work from your legs to bend over and your body naturally avoids work.  The big problem is that you are out of balance by the time you reach the top of your backswing and worse... Your upper body weight is not over your legs which means a ground up swing is dead. Through your transition your weight needs to be firmly planted over your loaded legs so 1) you can linger in your transition in balance until your forward weight shift happens and 2) So that your lower legs are in a position of leverage to get your weight moving and to have enough spring to keep pushing until your weight has made it all the way to your left foot.  So, if you don't love your swing check for this setup flaw. So, many people who swing over the top don't realize they had no chance way back from their setup. 
    • Good topic. I voted breaking 80 is harder. Obviously the two are connected but if push came to shove I think more golfers could learn how to avoid making doubles than be taught or acquire the skills to break 80. Breaking 80 for many golfers would mean significantly raising the level of their games, while not making a double is more about avoiding the big miss and game planning/course management. More specific to the OP's question relating to a golfers that shoots in the low 80's and is trying to break through, it could be one or other, most likely a combo of both. For myself, like @The Recreational Golfer I've had more rounds in the 70's than double bogey free rounds so could you say it's "easier" for me to shoot in the 70's than avoid making a double? Yes and no, depends on how you look at it. Even though I messed up on one or two individual holes I had to play fairly solid golf the other 16/17 holes to break 80, IMO that's more difficult than avoiding making a double. Even on a round where I didn't make a double I had to perform at a consistent level for 18 holes to break 80. If you told me I had to play 10 rounds where I had to break 80 and 10 rounds where I couldn't make a double, I think the latter would be easier for me. 
    • Good to hear. An observation for you... When you start getting your lower body into it guess what?  You start doing work!  And that takes fitness.  Some people have an illusion of an effortless golf swing. But in reality, it's effortless for your wrists but more work for your legs and core.  So, keep is mind as you go from hitter to swinger your fitness, core, and lower body strength demands go up. 
    • I'll answer your question with another question: If you drop the 3H, what would you hit for a 215 yard shot, or even a 210 or 205 yard shot? Are you comfortable gripping down on your 4-wood to cut distance off of it by that much? I personally don't see much issue with keeping the 3H in the bag since it isn't actually hurting anything. You say the other alternative is to drop the 4-wood, but why do you feel that you must drop anything at all? It's okay to have a 10 yard gap. If it really concerns you, though, I would think that the best way to go would be to swap from a 4-wood to a 3-wood. This would increase the gap between your 3H and the next longer club without affecting the gap between the 3 and 4 hybrid, which seems to be a number you like better for a gap. I'm just a little confused why you'd drop down to 13 clubs if the hybrid isn't costing you strokes. I know I find hybrids easier to hit than a wood that I'm trying to hit shorter than usual. I absolutely hate to hit a 3/4 3-wood to cover the cap between a full 3-wood and my 3-iron, but the number for a 3/4 3-wood is such a rare distance that I'd much rather have consistent gaps up through a 3-iron than a big jump from a 4i to a 3H. In my case a 3H would hurt my game, but it doesn't seem like yours is doing you any harm and could be protecting you from an awkward 4 wood shot.
    • This might not be the most helpful for balls and gloves (though I do see golf ball deals pop up at least once a week), but golfwrx's classified section is a great place to get deals on a lot of stuff. I got my AD-DI shaft there for $130, along with my KBS shafts from 3-LW for another $150 for the set. The AD-DI was used for a week (didn't have a mark) and the KBS shafts clearly only ever had a grip installed on the 7-iron. Good deals there, at least from what I've found, but mostly on clubs and shafts (though they do have golf balls in their classifieds every so often).  The nice part about that is they also have a WTB forum, where you post what you want and people come to you. That's actually what I did for the iron shafts. I posted about what I wanted and I had about 7 responses to choose from within 24 hours, so it's pretty active. For golf balls other than ProV1's that would be your best bet for finding them.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

  • Blog Entries