• Announcements

    • iacas

      Introducing TST "Clubs!"   08/28/2017

      No, we're not getting into the equipment business, but we do have "clubs" here on TST now. Groups. Check them out here:
Sign in to follow this  
joekelly

In the hazard, test away.

Recommended Posts

Total hypothetical, but interesting.  Tom drives his ball into the greenside sand bunker. Across the green is the pond. Rained heavy the prior day,  Tom is very uncertain how to play the shot, about 40 yrds from the pin. He decides to take some practice swings onto the sand, obviously testing the conditions. Once, twice, 3X Tom digs into the sand. Then he blasts out near to the pin.  How many  penalty strokes for Tom?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

I don't understand the question. Where exactly is he taking his practice swings? In the green side bunker in which his ball lies, or elsewhere?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

As far as I can understand:

1: If he knew it was a breach, or was made aware of it after the first swing: Six shots penalty.

http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-01/#d1-4-13


Player Advised of Breach of Rule; Player Breaches Same Rule Prior to Stroke

Q. In stroke play, a competitor, whose ball lies in a bunker, makes a practice swing and touches the ground in the bunker with his club. His fellow-competitor advises him that his action may be a breach of the Rules. The competitor disagrees and makes several more practice swings prior to making his stroke, touching the sand each time. What is the penalty?

A. As the competitor was correctly advised that touching the ground in the bunker with his club during a practice swing was a breach of the Rules (Rule 13-4b), the third principle in Decision 1-4/12 is not applicable. Therefore, the competitor is penalized four strokes - two strokes for the initial breach and two strokes for all subsequent breaches when the additional practice swings were made.


If he didn't know it was a breach: Two shots penalty.

http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-13/#d13-4-3

Touching Ground in Hazard with Several Practice Swings

Q. In stroke play, a competitor in ignorance of the Rules took several practice swings in a hazard, touching the ground each time. What is the penalty?

A. Two strokes for a breach of Rule 13-4.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Only one adjustment to Zeph's comment on 1-4/13.  It's still only 4 strokes maximum.  2 strokes for the initial breach and 2 more for the accumulated additional strokes.  That decision only applies if the player is informed of the breach, then continues to break the rule.  I ran across a similar incident a few years ago in which a fellow competitor in my group moved a loose impediment when his ball lay in a hazard.  After being informed of the breach, he figured that since he already had incurred the he might as well get his money's worth and moved 2 more sticks from behind his ball.  The committee informed him of the 2 additional penalty strokes before he returned his card.

For Joe's hypothesis:  2 stroke penalty for testing the condition.  The following is the explanation of how to treat this case of multiple breaches of the same rule.  Decision 1-4/12 has explanations of several potentially complex multiple breaches.  It doesn't matter if he knew what he was doing or not.  2 strokes is sufficient to ensure that he doesn't gain an advantage from his act.

Quote:

3. Related Acts Result in One Rule Being Breached More Than Once - Single Penalty Applied

Example 1: In stroke play, a competitor takes several practice swings in a hazard, touching the ground each time. The practice swings are related acts breaching a single Rule. The ruling would be a single two-stroke penalty under Rule 13-4b

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Yeah, you're right. I read "two strokes for each subsequent...", but it's too late to edit the post now. The wording is:

Therefore, the competitor is penalized four strokes - two strokes for the initial breach and two strokes for all subsequent breaches when the additional practice swings were made.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    Talamore Golf Resort
    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Mission Belt
    Snell Golf
    Frogger Golf
    PitchFix USA
  • Posts

    • I've spent the week of Thanksgiving in Pinehuerst (at Talamore, actually) every year since 2007.  We've had a very few frost delays, and most years its really pleasant.  We've played in shorts lots of times.  Myrtle Beach will be about the same, or slightly warmer. Its a great time for either, not at all crowded, less slow play problems, easier to get a seat in a restaurant, you'll love it.  If you decide on Pinehurst, I can recommend a few good places.
    • I have these too, I like the look.  I really doubt that there's any advantage to be gained.
    • You could vote 0 if that number is closer to the percentage than 1. That's why there's a "0" option.
    • I'm still recovering from my golf marathon, but I'll write just a little bit now.  First and foremost, this was an absolute blast, thanks to the huge effort of the organizers, @mvmac and @iacas, to the sponsors, to the staff at Talamore and MidSouth, and to the attitude and efforts of all of the players.  I was lucky enough this past week to play with every one of my teammates (when I count my pre- and post-tournament fun rounds), and against every player on the West team except for @Golfingdad.  Ten matches total for the 2015 and 2017 Newport Cups, and I haven't been in the group with him once.  Fortunately, I've been able to play with him in Palm Springs a couple of times. I loved the matches, from watching @Pretzel and @phillyk bomb it almost off the planet, to watching my partner @bkuehn1952 sink every putt inside 10 feet (keeping the pressure off of me), to seeing @mchepp try to grind me to dust, one crumb at a time.  I enjoyed the mix  of personalities, the wide range of ages, over 40 years from top to bottom, the huge variations in our golf games.  I'm REALLY happy that the top end of the ages was victorious in the end.  I'm absolutely amazed that the end result was this close once again, although it may just be an indication that we all have reasonably accurate handicaps.   As someone mentioned earlier in this thread, a few of us blue team players talked about the challenge balls on Friday night, with most of it being less than completely enthusiastic.  As it turned out, however, I thought the challenge was pretty exhilarating, really ramping up the pressure.  Of course, my match on Saturday with @mchepp was nothing but pressure to start with, I'm not sure I needed to ramp it up any more.  You know, for us old guys, a heart attack on 18 tee wouldn't be a good thing.   Enough for now.  Once again, my thanks go out to @iacas and @mvmac, the sponsors, the venues, the players, and especially to @RandallT for keeping my lovely wife informed.
    • I'm the new guy here on this forum, so I imagine this debate has been going on for awhile so I'll just respectfully respond to this by giving my opinion on the matter: Bull-feathers! There are four things that determine the distance you hit a golf ball; the loft angle on the clubhead, the length of the club, the speed of your swing, and how close to the center sweet spot you connect with the ball. Everything else, IMO, is marketing BS. But as I said at the very beginning of this thread, my swing is not the same as it was 16 years ago when I got my X-14's so I'll be buying something. What that something is at this point I'm still not 100% certain.  
  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

  • Get Great Gear with Amazon