• Announcements

    • iacas

      Visit FlagstickRule.com   03/13/2017

      Visit the site flagstickrule.com to read about and sign a petition for the USGA/R&A regarding the one terrible rule in the proposed "modernized" rules for 2019.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Kelzzy

Standing next to the tee box, in front?

11 posts in this topic

Hey dudes, I had a question about the rules of all of ya. During my tournaments, I've been noticing that some players will be standing straight next to you on the tee-box with their bags very close to you.. aka making it very possible to hit them / their bags.

My question: Is this against the JGANC / NCGA official golf rules? Could I call them out on it with a legit source backing me up?

Also, can a player be about 100 feet almost directly ahead of you when you are in the fairway. Like say I was about to hit my iron shot, and my opponet I was playing with was about 150 feet ahead of me and a little to the right. Is that illegal?

Thanks, just some questions I had! Much appreciated for all the answers in advance.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Originally Posted by Kelzzy

Hey dudes, I had a question about the rules of all of ya. During my tournaments, I've been noticing that some players will be standing straight next to you on the tee-box with their bags very close to you.. aka making it very possible to hit them / their bags.

My question: Is this against the JGANC / NCGA official golf rules? Could I call them out on it with a legit source backing me up?

Also, can a player be about 100 feet almost directly ahead of you when you are in the fairway. Like say I was about to hit my iron shot, and my opponet I was playing with was about 150 feet ahead of me and a little to the right. Is that illegal?

Thanks, just some questions I had! Much appreciated for all the answers in advance.

Nothing in the rules to prohibit either of those unless it's determined that it's done purposely to try and bother you.  Even then it's just an etiquette issue, and can only be addressed by the committee in charge of the competition.  It would have to be a severe breach of etiquette for the penalty to be assessed, because the only penalty they can call is disqualification.

You can do one of two things.  You can ask them to move away on the tee or farther to the side in the fairway, or you can just ignore it and learn to not let it bother you.  On the tee I'd certainly ask them to move their bags off the tee box, and step away from you.  For the fairway, it really doesn't bother me unless they are standing right in my line of play.  If they do that, then they are idiots, and I'd tell the to get out of the way or I'm not responsible for what happens next.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Thanks for the reply. I was playing in a tourny and asked them to move from the tee box so my clubhead wouldn't knick them or their bag, but they didn't . I got used to it. As for standing in front of me in the fairway, it was just something I noticed a couple of players have been doing. Thanks!
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just courteously ask them to move when on the tee if you have a concern about hitting them or their bags. The more tournaments you play in, the more you'll learn to block out other competitors. Just don't be rude about it; chances are they aren't trying to intentionally bother you.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by geauxforbroke

Just courteously ask them to move when on the tee if you have a concern about hitting them or their bags. The more tournaments you play in, the more you'll learn to block out other competitors. Just don't be rude about it; chances are they aren't trying to intentionally bother you.

You're 100 percent right. The most recent toruny I played in was about a week ago and I already felt myself adapting more to the course as a personal place than caring about the other players.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Kelzzy

My question: Is this against the JGANC / NCGA official golf rules? Could I call them out on it with a legit source backing me up?

Just for information. The JGANC/NCGA don't make the Rules of Golf. They are made by the USGA and R&A.;

The JGANC/NCGA could make regulations re such actions but could not impose a Rule penalty but could impose a disciplinary penalty (eg prohibition of entry in to other events).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have never had that problem, but if someone was in the way of my prep routine, i would ask them to kindly MOVE.  If they didn't, i would probably stand there and look at them until they moved.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Start taking a slow swing and look back in the direction of interference.  They will get the picture.  If they stand there smugly it is gamesmanship and should be reported in an off-the-cuff manner "Yeah I played a nice round besides having to baby-sit Jim on the tee boxes.  He plopped his bag in my backswing at least 6 times.  Was really bothersome to have to show him where to stand."

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You don't have to invoke any rules or say anything.

If their equipment is near you, just be doing some lazy half practice swings whilst looking at their stuff, or them.

They will get the message. If they don't, just keep doing it.

If they ask what you're waiting for, tell them.

If someone is in front of you on the fairway, same thing.

Just keep doing practice swings unti they get the message.

If they ask what you're waiting for, tell them.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For the guy standing 100-150ft in front of you - what is the ruling if your ball hits him or his bag?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by jobuddha

For the guy standing 100-150ft in front of you - what is the ruling if your ball hits him or his bag?

If he is your partner, it's a one stroke penalty.  Otherwise no penalty in stroke play - in either case, play the ball as it lies.

In match play, if a ball is stopped or deflected by an opponent or his caddie there is no penalty, but the player may immediately cancel and replay the stroke.  If any player from either side plays before he does so, the stroke stands.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    Leupold Golf
    Snell Golf
    Talamore Golf Resort
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • I think an active lead knee (or both knees) certainly helps with sequencing. In order for the knee to move forward and around (and straighten) it helps for it to gain some flex and rotate internally on the backswing. Creates some "flow". I basically described what I mean by active knee movement in my previous post in this thread. Like I said, doing the knee stuff in of itself might not be the answer, have to consider how the torso is working to facilitate the motion/pieces. While I love Jack's swing and think there is a lot we can learn from it, he was a special players and he would have been just as good with a swing where he kept the lead heel planted.
    • Quality over quantity! I understand the concept, but 2 grand for 3 wedges? There's no way they out perform vokey or any of your other major wedges enough to warrant those kind of prices! That's just my opinion. You're 100% correct there are people with money to blow who will buy them just to say they did. IMO it's all about the player. Spieth for example could take any wedge and most likely perform better than I ever will be able to. Which I'm sure you will agree to some extent. Just blows my mind at the cost! 
    • I'm still putting my money on you being the bigger head case.  
    • The dude has won 2 majors with glaringly less talent than the other top players....I don't think that happens to a head case. People tend to think otherwise at times because he wears his emotions on his sleeve so vividly, but Spieth's mental game is still more of an asset than anything else for him IMO. With his relatively limited talent, you don't accomplish things that only Jack, Tiger, and Seve have done if you're truly a head case. Reality vs. perception difference here.
    • The site of the 2017 U.S. Open is near my old stomping grounds...I was born about 30 min. away from where Erin Hills was eventually built.  I moved from that area long before the course was even planned, so I've never been there or played it or anything, but I learned some interesting things this evening. I have a good friend up there who works for a limo/shuttle company, and he has been driving people from Madison, Milwaukee and O'Hare to Erin Hills for several days, and he made several comments on how remote the golf course is.  It might not be exactly in the middle of nowhere, but apparently a short drive would get you there. There is only one way in, and one way out.  And these are country roads, not four-lane highways. They announced this site would host the U.S. Open in 2010...seven years ago, and they couldn't get a better road system in place?  I thought that was one of the things that they took into consideration when they scout potential sites?  It sounds like this course was earmarked to host USGA events before it was even built, so if they set out to design a course that would one day host a major, why wouldn't the road infrastructure be included? Anyway, the course itself is a monster...or at least can be, when the stretch it out.  From the blacks it plays 7,800 yds, but it looks like it will play about 7,700 during the tournament.  All four par 5s are over 600 yds, two par 4s are over 500 yds, and two others are over 480.  This is the first time in many years the course will play to a par of 72, which actually gives the guys a chance to make up some ground.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. bigtosh90
      bigtosh90
      (27 years old)
    2. dopplegvnger
      dopplegvnger
      (25 years old)
    3. Frank62
      Frank62
      (55 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon