• Announcements

    • iacas

      Introducing TST "Clubs!"   08/28/2017

      No, we're not getting into the equipment business, but we do have "clubs" here on TST now. Groups. Check them out here:
Sign in to follow this  
tiger1242

Rule question regarding sprinkler system

Recommended Posts

tiger1242    0
So today I hit an approach to a green that goes just over the back and I thought rolled down the slope on the other side. When I get to my ball it is actually right on the top of the hill at the start of the slope in a sprinkler head hole ~4 inches deep. I have no doubt that it would have gone down the hill if it wasn't for the hole. What should I have done? I dropped next to the sprinkler head right behind the fringe and putted, wound up 2 putting for par. Was that correct or should I have dropped at the bottom of the hill where the ball most likely would have wound up?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Fourputt    922

You can't assume that the ball would have rolled down the hill, no matter how certain you might be.  You were entitled to relief from the immovable obstruction (the sprinkler head).

The proper procedure was to determine the nearest point to where the ball lay which was not closer to the hole and gave complete relief from the obstruction for lie, stance and area of intended swing.  From that reference point you get a one clublength arc not closer to the hole in which to drop the ball.  If the ball, when dropped, rolls closer to the hole than the NPR, or rolls back in to a position of interference, or rolls more than 2 clublengths from where it first hit the gound, then it must be redropped.  If it again rolls into one of those positions, then the ball must be placed on the spot where it first hit the ground when dropped the second time.  The ball may be cleaned under this rule, but a ball may not be substituted for the original ball unless the original ball is not immediately recoverable.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

joekelly    55

Let's assume that the ball is in the middle of the sprinkler cover and i could find the NPR to the right or left. But if i choose to drop to the left, the ball would surely roll to the bottom of the hill. Twice this and i place the ball, to my advantage, in a nice lie.  But choose the right side and it's undesirable hard pan.

May i choose which side to drop?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dormie1360    63

If you have a situation with more than one NPR then yes, may choose which one to use. Equidistant NPR's do not happen very often.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

David in FL    1,519
Let's assume that the ball is in the middle of the sprinkler cover and i could find the NPR to the right or left. But if i choose to drop to the left, the ball would surely roll to the bottom of the hill. Twice this and i place the ball, to my advantage, in a nice lie.  But choose the right side and it's undesirable hard pan. May i choose which side to drop?

Remember too, you must have complete relief for lie, stance, and swing. With very few exceptions, the NPR is one single point on the course.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Rulesman    166

Twice this and i place the ball, to my advantage, in a nice lie.

You must place the ball where it hit the ground when you dropped. You can't place it where you choose.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

joekelly    55

But i can drop, with some restrictions, about where i like. Right? I get the one club length from the NPR, not nearer the hole. So i can move the club in a semi-circular path around that one NPR point, make my choice and drop. As long i continue to obtain complete relief from the place i choose.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

David in FL    1,519

But i can drop, with some restrictions, about where i like. Right? I get the one club length from the NPR, not nearer the hole. So i can move the club in a semi-circular path around that one NPR point, make my choice and drop. As long i continue to obtain complete relief from the place i choose.

Correct.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Rulesman    166

But i can drop, with some restrictions, about where i like. Right? I get the one club length from the NPR, not nearer the hole. So i can move the club in a semi-circular path around that one NPR point, make my choice and drop. As long i continue to obtain complete relief from the place i choose.

Indeed. But dropping from shoulder height can you guarantee to hit an exact spot rather than within 6" say?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    Talamore Golf Resort
    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Mission Belt
    Snell Golf
    Frogger Golf
    PitchFix USA
  • Posts

    • As others have said, you''ll probably be hitting a lot of shots with short irons .  with awkward changes to grip,posture, that kind of thing.  I'll be surprised if he let's you swing your driver unless your iron game is really competent and you don't have swing flaws. A very good chance it'll make you a better player, but early lessons  might not be fun. At least that's been my experience and that of everybody I know who have taken lessons.
    • I responded initially to David's comment about hitting an approach shot with what I thought would require a fairway wood to a difficult green and being confident in the outcome. What you've quoted was a response and disagreement to Kevin's comment suggesting that hole would not be difficult for higher handicappers. I'll resist replying to @Vinsk's post directly below yours. My apologies for taking this thread off-topic.
    • I've been looking at my swing in caddie view, especially P8/A8 (the shaft is parallel to the ground in the follow-through) and I noticed that my neck and eyes are still pointing in the direction of where the ball was at address until after P9/A9. I think this is a really bad move for me as I am left handed and left eye dominant, meaning that my dominant eye isn't really seeing the ball after impact, and I am not extending or raising my head from P7/A7 to P9/A9. Annika Sorenstam (who is right handed and right eye dominant) does the opposite move, at P8/A8 her eyes and neck are in the direction of the clubhead from a head swivel move in the downswing. Jim Furyk and David Duval do the same thing that she does and all 3 players shot sub 60 rounds... Could this be a magic move?
    • Uhh, these guys you are destroying, what scores do they usually shoot? they had low handicaps, they were on the golf team with me or for another high school.   You have a 28 HDCP, yet you hit the sweet spot consistently on your irons? for the most part, yes.    thank you for the suggestion, but I hate the feel and look of game improvement irons. which ones do you suggest?
    • Funny guy this Groucho, think he is trolling you Erik.  My story as someone who scores in the seventies when playing a good round (low eighties are more common). I really need my long game to be on. Hitting it 220-230y from the tee, playing a course at 6700y. Next I mostly have a wood or a hybrid to the green. Because of that I became a really good woods/hybrid player (practice it a lot during my rounds). There are two 440y par4's that I can't reach in two, stopped trying to make gir there (no more 3 woods out of my shoes to the green). Not that I hit every green, I even miss greens from 100y in, allways very happy to be on the green in regulation. Ngir is king for me. If not on the green, but almost, I try my Texas wedge (putter) to make up and down. I am not an elite player at all, but am really into scoring. Thinking about buying a chipper, because my chipping is below average. I take my driver out on every hole except par3's. I learned to hit a short gripped driver with an easy 70% swing 180-190y, when there is danger at 200+y, it works for me all the time.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Bryan Kasper
      Bryan Kasper
      (25 years old)
    2. Greg Pickett Golf
      Greg Pickett Golf
      (62 years old)
    3. hobecorning
      hobecorning
      (75 years old)
    4. Lfm
      Lfm
      (73 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon