Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
kountrymike

Caddie assist in lining up shot?

10 posts in this topic

Can a caddie address or hold the club to the ball then have the player address the ball then swing? I caddie for my daughter at age 7. The other caddies are lining up the clubs for the kids and having them just swing. I am having a hard time finding what rule this would fall under. Also on the putting green they are doing the same thing and using their foot for the player to aim at then moving right before the swing.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

I don't believe a caddie can address the ball, but they can line a club up.  I'm not sure how they could line the club up effectively without addressing the ball though.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

A caddie can assist the player by lining up the club, including with the club immediately behind the ball. However, placing a foot on the green to indicate the line for putting is a breach of Rule 8-2b and results in two-stroke penalty, even if the foot is removed before the ball is putted. At age 7, the kids should be just permitted to play - no competition involved.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the clarification and the help. I am just getting into golf and reading the rules are like doing your taxes. Thanks again and I look forward to hearing from you all again.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can a caddie address or hold the club to the ball then have the player address the ball then swing? I caddie for my daughter at age 7. The other caddies are lining up the clubs for the kids and having them just swing. I am having a hard time finding what rule this would fall under. Also on the putting green they are doing the same thing and using their foot for the player to aim at then moving right before the swing.

For your first question, I'd say yes.  The caddie has a similar status to the partner under the rules.  This decision would seem to support that:

14-2/1

Player Aligns Partner's Club Before Stroke

Q.A player aligns his partner's putter and then moves away before his partner plays. Is this permissible?

A.Yes. Rule 14-2 (Assistance) does not apply prior to making a stroke.

If they are touching the green with the foot while using that foot to indicate a line for putting, then they are already in breach.  If touching the line is just incidental, then there is no penalty, but the foot must be moved away before the stroke is made.

b. On the Putting Green

When the player’s ball is on the putting green, the player, his partner or either of their caddies may, before but not during the stroke, point out a line for putting, but in so doing the putting green must not be touched. A mark must not be placed anywhere to indicate a line for putting.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I was watchin an LPGA event last sunday (Lydia Ko won) and I noticed several instances wheres the caddies would stand back on the target line while the player was at address to confrm that they were properly aligned. Then they would move to the side and the player took the shot. I guess it's legal.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As long as they move before the stroke, it's legal.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I was watchin an LPGA event last sunday (Lydia Ko won) and I noticed several instances wheres the caddies would stand back on the target line while the player was at address to confrm that they were properly aligned. Then they would move to the side and the player took the shot. I guess it's legal.

I saw that too. Even though it's within the rules, I'd like to see the Player have to choose their putting lines, after all, isn't that part of playing the game..?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Quote:

Originally Posted by arturo28mx

I was watchin an LPGA event last sunday (Lydia Ko won) and I noticed several instances wheres the caddies would stand back on the target line while the player was at address to confrm that they were properly aligned. Then they would move to the side and the player took the shot. I guess it's legal.

I saw that too. Even though it's within the rules, I'd like to see the Player have to choose their putting lines, after all, isn't that part of playing the game..?

Sure, and it has always been part of the game to have your caddie assist you with it.  Ask anyone who has played in Scotland on vacation and hired a caddie.  They will tell you that a good caddie is easily worth 5 strokes just from his help in reading the greens.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • I'll answer your question with another question: If you drop the 3H, what would you hit for a 215 yard shot, or even a 210 or 205 yard shot? Are you comfortable gripping down on your 4-wood to cut distance off of it by that much? I personally don't see much issue with keeping the 3H in the bag since it isn't actually hurting anything. You say the other alternative is to drop the 4-wood, but why do you feel that you must drop anything at all? It's okay to have a 10 yard gap. If it really concerns you, though, I would think that the best way to go would be to swap from a 4-wood to a 3-wood. This would increase the gap between your 3H and the next longer club without affecting the gap between the 3 and 4 hybrid, which seems to be a number you like better for a gap. I'm just a little confused why you'd drop down to 13 clubs if the hybrid isn't costing you strokes. I know I find hybrids easier to hit than a wood that I'm trying to hit shorter than usual. I absolutely hate to hit a 3/4 3-wood to cover the cap between a full 3-wood and my 3-iron, but the number for a 3/4 3-wood is such a rare distance that I'd much rather have consistent gaps up through a 3-iron than a big jump from a 4i to a 3H. In my case a 3H would hurt my game, but it doesn't seem like yours is doing you any harm and could be protecting you from an awkward 4 wood shot.
    • This might not be the most helpful for balls and gloves (though I do see golf ball deals pop up at least once a week), but golfwrx's classified section is a great place to get deals on a lot of stuff. I got my AD-DI shaft there for $130, along with my KBS shafts from 3-LW for another $150 for the set. The AD-DI was used for a week (didn't have a mark) and the KBS shafts clearly only ever had a grip installed on the 7-iron. Good deals there, at least from what I've found, but mostly on clubs and shafts (though they do have golf balls in their classifieds every so often).  The nice part about that is they also have a WTB forum, where you post what you want and people come to you. That's actually what I did for the iron shafts. I posted about what I wanted and I had about 7 responses to choose from within 24 hours, so it's pretty active. For golf balls other than ProV1's that would be your best bet for finding them.
    • Are you sure?  I can barely see you!
    • Hi guys, I know how this is going to sound (Oh no, Shane's asking another set make-up/gap analysis question. Ahhhhhhh! Let's run and hide!) But it's a very valid question... I hit my 3 hybrid pretty well, (I finally stopped pulling it) but I believe it's too close in distance to my 4-wood (225 vs 215). My 4-hybrid is around 200 ish... ( I have a little gap down to the 5-iron... frankly because I just don't hit it much) would I be safe to drop the 3-hybrid?  I thought of carrying both a 5h and a 5i to fix the "gapping issue" but I usually just grip down on the 4h when I'm between the two... I understand it drops me to 13 clubs; but the other alternative is to drop the 4- wood but that creates too much of a gap.
    • Things I do when the pace is slow: Take more time on my shot Engage in casual conversation Look around for lost balls Doodle around, looking nonchalant Stare at the front group, trying to use force to move them along
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

  • Blog Entries