Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 3471 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

In the scoring tent, player says that he played two balls. Committee asks if player selected. Player says that he did not. Committee accepts for the score for the original ball.

End of story. (Except for dad, who's apoplectic. :-O )

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB

Posted

Perhaps a naive question, but when playing a 2nd ball, when would a player ever want the original ball to count? Wouldn't one just play the original ball if that was the one to count?  Dispense with the 2nd ball altogether.

I suppose in some limited situations a member of the stroke play field might insist that one MUST take relief or a drop from a situation.  It seems likely to be rare.

Brian Kuehn

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
13 minutes ago, bkuehn1952 said:

Perhaps a naive question, but when playing a 2nd ball, when would a player ever want the original ball to count? Wouldn't one just play the original ball if that was the one to count?  Dispense with the 2nd ball altogether.

I suppose in some limited situations a member of the stroke play field might insist that one MUST take relief or a drop from a situation.  It seems likely to be rare.

You declare the one that you feel is most likely to score the best, or the one you hope abides by the rules and that is usually the second ball.  However, we don't always succeed with our intent, and may make a higher score with the second ball and be stuck with it if it was played within the rules.  

Sometimes the second ball is not within the rules, so in that case the original ball counts, even if it too is not played properly.  When I invoke this rule, I make certain that at least one of the balls is unquestionably within the rules.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
12 minutes ago, bkuehn1952 said:

Perhaps a naive question, but when playing a 2nd ball, when would a player ever want the original ball to count? Wouldn't one just play the original ball if that was the one to count?  Dispense with the 2nd ball altogether.

I suppose in some limited situations a member of the stroke play field might insist that one MUST take relief or a drop from a situation.  It seems likely to be rare.

@bkuehn1952 you are right, almost always the player will be looking for relief but he must always declare that to be the case, no matter how obvious it may be. A case when he may want the original to count is if he is in doubt as to whether relief is mandatory (newly sodded area, for example) or where play is prohibited (ball lying on a wrong green or in an ESA, for example)

  • Upvote 1

Note: This thread is 3471 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.