Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 3453 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Today I played a matchplay. My opponent hits his ball in the greenside bunker. I hit it near to this bunker, 1 foot from the green. Easy lie to putt to the hole.

Because the green was sanded, there is a bit sand in my line of play and not on the green. Opponent hits his ball out of the bunker, taking a lot of sand out of the bunker and in my line of play (partly on and partly off the green).

Now what? I am entitled to my own lie, just a bit of sand on my line of play not on the green, but now there is a big heap of sand in my line of play and not on the green. So I clean up the mess....

But by cleaning up, I must have also cleaned up some of the sand that was already there. Difficult to tell if I did, or if I did not.

What would be the proper thing to do?

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Sounds okay. (However, please don't add to or change your story fifty posts later. ;-)

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB

Posted

Under 16-1a you can clear your line on the green from the sand as long as you do not press down anything.  The definition of "loose impediments" clearly states that "sand and loose soil are loose impediments on the putting green, but not elsewhere." 

So you cannot remove the sand in front of your ball that is not on the green. This includes the new sand. You can only brush aside the sand that is on the putting surface.

Julia

:callaway:  :cobra:    :seemore:  :bushnell:  :clicgear:  :adidas:  :footjoy:

Spoiler

Driver: Callaway Big Bertha w/ Fubuki Z50 R 44.5"
FW: Cobra BiO CELL 14.5 degree; 
Hybrids: Cobra BiO CELL 22.5 degree Project X R-flex
Irons: Cobra BiO CELL 5 - GW Project X R-Flex
Wedges: Cobra BiO CELL SW, Fly-Z LW, 64* Callaway PM Grind.
Putter: 48" Odyssey Dart

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I' d just clean off the excess sand on the green, until my line looked like the rest of the sanded green. 

In My Bag:
A whole bunch of Tour Edge golf stuff...... :beer:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted
14 minutes ago, DrvFrShow said:

So you cannot remove the sand in front of your ball that is not on the green. This includes the new sand. You can only brush aside the sand that is on the putting surface.

That's incorrect. You're entitled to the lie your stroke gave you.

If your ball comes to rest in the fringe, and a subsequent shot by someone else deposits sand in front of or on top of your ball, you can remove that sand and re-create the lie and line of play that your stroke gave you.

 

Quote

 

13-2/8.5 

Player's Lie Affected by Sand from Partner's, Opponent's or Fellow-Competitor's Stroke from Bunker

Q.A's ball is on the apron between the green and a bunker. A's partner, opponent or fellow-competitor (B) plays from the bunker and deposits sand on and around A's ball. Is A entitled to any relief?

A.Yes. A is entitled to the lie and line of play he had when his ball came to rest. Accordingly, in equity (Rule 1-4), he is entitled to remove the sand deposited by B's stroke and lift his ball and clean it, without penalty.

 

 

  • Upvote 2

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Thank you.

Julia

:callaway:  :cobra:    :seemore:  :bushnell:  :clicgear:  :adidas:  :footjoy:

Spoiler

Driver: Callaway Big Bertha w/ Fubuki Z50 R 44.5"
FW: Cobra BiO CELL 14.5 degree; 
Hybrids: Cobra BiO CELL 22.5 degree Project X R-flex
Irons: Cobra BiO CELL 5 - GW Project X R-Flex
Wedges: Cobra BiO CELL SW, Fly-Z LW, 64* Callaway PM Grind.
Putter: 48" Odyssey Dart

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted (edited)

But still no complete answer to my question. You can't be sure to leave the 'old' sand and only clean up the 'new' sand.

Is it 'recreate the old line of play as good as possible'. ?

Edited by MacDutch
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
3 hours ago, MacDutch said:

But still no complete answer to my question. You can't be sure to leave the 'old' sand and only clean up the 'new' sand.

Is it 'recreate the old line of play as good as possible'. ?

You're allowed to remove the sand which resulted from the other player's stroke. The verbs restore and recreate are used a couple of places in the Rules, so if you wish to use them, it's unlikely to create a problem unless you're confronted by an English Major. :)

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB

Posted

Mac, see if this Decision helps:

13-2/8.5 Player's Lie Affected by Sand from Partner's, Opponent's or Fellow-Competitor's Stroke from Bunker


Q. A's ball is on the apron between the green and a bunker. A's partner, opponent or fellow-competitor (B) plays from the bunker and deposits sand on and around A's ball. Is A entitled to any relief?

A. Yes. A is entitled to the lie and line of play he had when his ball came to rest. Accordingly, in equity (Rule 1-4), he is entitled to remove the sand deposited by B's stroke and lift his ball and clean it, without penalty.

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB

Posted

You're allowed to recreate your old lie to the best of your ability. It will not be possible to recreate your original lie exactly. You'll have to "eyeball it." There's no other way. If there's a rules official present, you should probably get them to supervise and approve your finished product. If you're not playing in a tournament, use your own judgement as to what is good enough. Golf is still supposed to be a game of honor.

If you think you might have unintentionally removed some of the original sand (which by the way it will be impossible not to do unless you leave the new sand there) confess to the golf gods and move on. You weren't cheating.

 

Julia

:callaway:  :cobra:    :seemore:  :bushnell:  :clicgear:  :adidas:  :footjoy:

Spoiler

Driver: Callaway Big Bertha w/ Fubuki Z50 R 44.5"
FW: Cobra BiO CELL 14.5 degree; 
Hybrids: Cobra BiO CELL 22.5 degree Project X R-flex
Irons: Cobra BiO CELL 5 - GW Project X R-Flex
Wedges: Cobra BiO CELL SW, Fly-Z LW, 64* Callaway PM Grind.
Putter: 48" Odyssey Dart

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
1 hour ago, DrvFrShow said:

You're allowed to recreate your old lie to the best of your ability. It will not be possible to recreate your original lie exactly. You'll have to "eyeball it." There's no other way. If there's a rules official present, you should probably get them to supervise and approve your finished product. If you're not playing in a tournament, use your own judgement as to what is good enough. Golf is still supposed to be a game of honor.

If you think you might have unintentionally removed some of the original sand (which by the way it will be impossible not to do unless you leave the new sand there) confess to the golf gods and move on. You weren't cheating.

"Recreating" the lie is not a part of the relevant decision. Mention is made of "re-creating" elsewhere in the Rules for different circumstances.

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB

Note: This thread is 3453 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.