Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 3398 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Went out as single, and was put with a couple of guys who good naturely ragged on each other (and me) through out the 9 hole round in a 110 degrees. I returned their ragging as best I could. 

One of the guys had a ball in a sand trap. He went in the trap to hit it with his sw. He also took his putter with him, which he laid in the bunker. The other golfer got on him about grounding the his (putter) club. The guy in the trap said it didn't matter since he wasn't using the putter in the trap. This went back and fourth, until they asked me for a ruling. I ruled the guy in the bunker was at fault, and should take the penalty. That it was concieveable he could have tested the sand with the putter. 

So what is the ruling for such a scenario? My quick decision  was actually to keep moving in the heat. 

Once at the 19th we had a good time and my ruling was never mentioned. 

In My Bag:
A whole bunch of Tour Edge golf stuff...... :beer:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted (edited)

You may lay clubs in the bunker, no penalty.  Placing clubs in a bunker is not, in of itself, considered testing the sand.

 

13-4. Ball in Hazard; Prohibited Actions

Except as provided in the Rules, before making a stroke at a ball that is in a hazard (whether a bunker or awater hazard) or that, having been lifted from a hazard, may be dropped or placed in the hazard, the player must not:

a.

Test the condition of the hazard or any similar hazard;

b.

Touch the ground in the hazard or water in the water hazard with his hand or a club; or

c.

Touch or move a loose impediment lying in or touching the hazard.

Exceptions:

1. Provided nothing is done that constitutes testing the condition of the hazard or improves the lie of the ball, there is no penalty if the player (a) touches the ground or loose impediments in any hazard or water in awater hazard as a result of or to prevent falling, in removing an obstruction, in measuring or in marking the position of, retrieving, lifting, placing or replacing a ball under any Rule or (b) places his clubs in a hazard.

2. At any time, the player may smooth sand or soil in a hazard provided this is for the sole purpose of caring for the course and nothing is done to breach Rule 13-2 with respect to his next stroke. If a ball played from a hazard is outside the hazard after the stroke, the player may smooth sand or soil in the hazard without restriction.

3. If the player makes a stroke from a hazard and the ball comes to rest in another hazard, Rule 13-4a does not apply to any subsequent actions taken in the hazard from which the stroke was made.

Note: At any time, including at address or in the backward movement for the stroke, the player may touch, with a club or otherwise, any obstruction, any construction declared by the Committee to be an integral part of the course or any grass, bush, tree or other growing thing.

Penalty for Breach of Rule:

Match play - Loss of hole; Stroke play - Two strokes.

Edited by Dormie1360
  • Upvote 3

Regards,

John

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

@Dormie1360 beat me to it with the right answer.  The rule is more about testing the hazard, not "you can't put your club in sand."

-- Michael | My swing! 

"You think you're Jim Furyk. That's why your phone is never charged." - message from my mother

Driver:  Titleist 915D2.  4-wood:  Titleist 917F2.  Titleist TS2 19 degree hybrid.  Another hybrid in here too.  Irons 5-U, Ping G400.  Wedges negotiable (currently 54 degree Cleveland, 58 degree Titleist) Edel putter. 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted (edited)

The relevant prohibition clause is b) not a)

 "the player must not touch the ground in the hazard ....  with .... a club;"

Edited by Rulesman
  • Upvote 1

Note: This thread is 3398 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.