IGNORED

Help needed with golf grip

Note: This thread is 2654 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi guys, I've been golfing for about 4 years and looking to improve. I'm a left handed golfer with limited mobility and feeling in my right thumb due to a car accident in 2005. I'm only able to open my thumb about 30 degrees, which I think hurts my game but I'm not sure if it's just in my mind. My ball flight is a pull slice. My questions is what parts of the swing are impacted by the right hand (Left Hand for Righty)?

35 minutes ago, Mistabigevil said:

Hi guys, I've been golfing for about 4 years and looking to improve. I'm a left handed golfer with limited mobility and feeling in my right thumb due to a car accident in 2005. I'm only able to open my thumb about 30 degrees, which I think hurts my game but I'm not sure if it's just in my mind. My ball flight is a pull slice. My questions is what parts of the swing are impacted by the right hand (Left Hand for Righty)?

What do you mean by this? Could you maybe take a picture of your hand with your thumb out to its limit?

In my uneducated opinion, the top hand thumb isn't as important as the bottom hand thumb, but I've been known to be and frequently am wrong.

Colin P.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

43 minutes ago, Hatchman said:

Hello @Mistabigevil.  Sorry to hear about the accident and glad your ok.  How do you hold or grip a golf club typically as a starting point, maybe?  

I was using a strong right hand grip, but found it to be more comfortable by also strengthening my left hand also which helped my ball striking. My driver clubhead speed is 90-95. Let me know if I can provide anymore info.