IGNORED

My Swing (domwatts23)

Domwatts23
Note: This thread is 1072 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I've been Playing Golf for: 6 months

My current handicap index or average score is: 30
My typical ball flight is: Straight/straight slice
The shot I hate or the "miss" I'm trying to reduce/eliminate is: Driver/hybrid/long iron slice

Videos: 

Hi,

Here are a few videos of my swing. I have been playing for 6 months and I play righty. I started off hitting all of my drives straight and a slice has crept in over the last couple of months. I have also noticed it with my hybrid and long irons, and every now and then a short iron as well. So clearly there is a fundamental swing error causing this. 

I used to think I was coming over the top but now that I have seen a couple of  videos I am not so sure and I'm starting to think that it might be the club face being open and/or something to do with my release. 

When I focus properly and do not rush, about 80% of the time I would say I can hit a straight drive about 250. But I would really like to know what you guys think is causing the slice and any other comments you have on my swing, as my friends and I are playing very regularly now and we are all keen to improve as fast as possible. 

I have also noticed and people have commented that I stand very close to the ball (closer than others), and I am wondering if this is something which needs to be changed. I have never had a lesson except for one when I was about 9 years old during which I was taught the very basics (I guess)