IGNORED

My Swing (HozzleRocket)

HozzleRocket
Note: This thread is 2318 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I've been Playing Golf for: 18 years
My current handicap index or average score is: 15.3
My typical ball flight is: high draw/hook or high block
The shot I hate or the "miss" I'm trying to reduce/eliminate is: hitting ground before ball, coming up short

Videos: 

As a bit of background, I have been working on my swing for a couple of years now and have gone from having a big slice all the way past straight shots (which lasted about a month) to hooking.  I then contracted the shanks about a year ago and had to take some time off but this is me back working on it again.

I am a boring 15 handicap golfer in that I generally never birdie, hardly blow up, par a few times and then bogey a lot.  My typical hole is drive slightly erratic but usually ok (can go left or right), missing GIR even when in good position off tee, getting it on next shot and then 2 putt.  I am quite confident from 100 yards in but I would say my worst shots are 100-200 yards - I barely ever hit nGIR never mind near the pin.

I had a lesson not long ago and have been working on my hip turn.  I had previously been sliding the hips rather than turning and my shot was nearly always starting right and moving further right.  Now, since my lesson, I am hooking/drawing the ball a lot more often with a bit more distance than before.  I still feel as though I am hitting the ground before the ball on most shots at the range and would really like to find a drill to decrease dynamic loft - I would say my 7 iron carry is about 140 with an 80mph swing speed.

From the videos, I notice that my head rises just before impact - is this ok?  Not something I notice when swinging. 

Great screen name!