IGNORED

Players irons vs game improvement irons

cmoneygo
Note: This thread is 2199 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hello all, I'm your average golfer who didn't start playing until my 20's and had no background of it, however I'm pretty athletic and have good to great hand -eye coordination. I've been playing nike mach speeds irons for the last 6 years or so and never had an issue with the equipment. now this past year I have been playing much more and went from shooting in the 100s to shooting mid to low 80s. the people I play with laugh at the idea that I shoot with irons off the shelf and have never  been fitted, so I finally get fitted and find out all my woods are the wrong flex for my swing speed and the loft is too high for my swing plane. he recommends me the 10.5 rogue with a accra shaft which I love but for the irons he suggested I get the forged callaway player irons. my worry is that I am getting ahead of myself ,even though I hit them well in the simulator. I just started really enjoying the game and would hate to struggle but would love to hear if anyone else has been at that crossroad and what were your experiences. 

First you shoot with a gun you play golf with irons. Anywho, if you have good hand eye and shoot in the 80's you are fine with a cavity back players iron. They will take some getting used to, but I think you will really like them especially since the Nikes you are currently playing are garbage ;-). After a breaking in period I would think you will start to see improvement as the playability you will get from a good players iron will help you score, and getting fit will make a huge difference. Anyway good luck and have fun.

• Like 1

Danny    In my :ping: Hoofer Tour golf bag on my :clicgear: 8.0 Cart