IGNORED

How many shots do I get??

Popeye
Note: This thread is 2028 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Warning-daft question arriving!

Just need a pint clarifying for me, sorry if it's obvious to some but I'm new to the game and still trying to get my head around some things!

At the minute a have a handicap of 28. Now in match play that should mean I get a shot on every hole and 2 on holes 1-10? Correct? However, although my home course is a par 71 it has a sss of 69. Does this 2 shot difference affect what holes I can take 2 shots on or does it not matter? Tia.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

8 minutes ago, Popeye said:

At the minute a have a handicap of 28. Now in match play that should mean I get a shot on every hole and 2 on holes 1-10? Correct? However, although my home course is a par 71 it has a sss of 69. Does this 2 shot difference affect what holes I can take 2 shots on or does it not matter? Tia.

No, the course par does not come into effect. If you have a course that is par 72 with a slope of 125, you get the same number of strokes as a par 70 with a slope of 125. You just get the strokes on the hardest holes.

lets say a golfer has 20 strokes, they would get 1 stroke on every hole, and then an additional stroke on the #1 and #2 handicap holes.

Edited by saevel25

Matt Dougherty, P.E.
 fasdfa dfdsaf 

What's in My Bag
Driver; :pxg: 0311 Gen 5,  3-Wood: 
:titleist: 917h3 ,  Hybrid:  :titleist: 915 2-Hybrid,  Irons: Sub 70 TAIII Fordged
Wedges: :edel: (52, 56, 60),  Putter: :edel:,  Ball: :snell: MTB,  Shoe: :true_linkswear:,  Rangfinder: :leupold:
Bag: :ping: