IGNORED

Regrip Problem - Oversize Grips That Will Not Slide on Far Enough

Mr Mac
Note: This thread is 1922 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi,

I need some help. I am trying to re-grip with oversize synthetic grips, but I'm having no success getting the new grip unto the shaft far enough. I've re-gripped before with mid-sized grips with no troubles at all, but the oversized grips have got me stumped. I can get them started a couple of centimetres (an inch)  but that's as far as I can manage. Any ideas? Your help will be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Edited by Mr Mac
Careless topic heading

• iacas changed the title to Regrip Problem - Oversize Grips That Will Not Slide on Far Enough

Can you use the air technique? Are you using solvent? I’m no expert but I know some guys here use the air compressor technique and they all seem to think it’s the best way to do it I believe.

• Thumbs Up 1

:ping: G25 Driver Stiff :ping: G20 3W, 5W :ping: S55 4-W (aerotech steel fiber 110g shafts) :ping: Tour Wedges 50*, 54*, 58* :nike: Method Putter Floating clubs: :edel: 54* trapper wedge

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

10 hours ago, Mr Mac said:

Hi,

I need some help. I am trying to re-grip with oversize synthetic grips, but I'm having no success getting the new grip unto the shaft far enough. I've re-gripped before with mid-sized grips with no troubles at all, but the oversized grips have got me stumped. I can get them started a couple of centimetres (an inch)  but that's as far as I can manage. Any ideas? Your help will be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

An air compressor can help as @Vinsk suggested. Also, I find that after I put the solvent on the tape, if I rub the tape down with my hand, it will slide on easier.