Jump to content
bkuehn1952

During Drop, Ball Bounces, Hit Foot - No Problem

4 posts / 912 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

I learned something new today.  Under the new Rules, one drops a ball in the relief area.  It hits the ground and bounces into your foot, but remains in the relief area.  No problem, play it as it lies. The accidental contact does not matter as long as the ball hits the relief area first and remains in the relief area.

That seems odd but that is the Rule.  Since the drop is from knee level, it probably won't happen too often.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

9 hours ago, bkuehn1952 said:

That seems odd but that is the Rule.  Since the drop is from knee level, it probably won't happen too often.

Might happen more often, as people aren't dropping from as far away from their feet as they would with their arm fully extended away from them.

BTW, you should spend some time here:

cropped-rgfavicon.png?fit=240%2C240&ssl=

On December 2, and for each of the next 30 days, RulesGeeks.com is going to be highlighting 30 major changes from the 2019 Rules. Our schedule is as follows: December 2 – Ball in Motion Accid…

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

9 hours ago, bkuehn1952 said:

Since the drop is from knee level, it probably won't happen too often.

It will probably happen more often now than with the old rule since your arm is a fixed radius when fully extended and dropping at knee height brings the ball closer to your foot.

Good to know accidental contact is not an issue though, thanks for sharing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, billchao said:

It will probably happen more often now than with the old rule since your arm is a fixed radius when fully extended and dropping at knee height brings the ball closer to your foot.

Good to know accidental contact is not an issue though, thanks for sharing.

On a related issue, if the ball is dropped in the right way, and accidentally comes to rest against your foot or your equipment, still in the relief area, you've completed the drop and must play it as it lies.  If the ball moves when you move your foot, or the piece of equipment, you must replace it, with no penalty.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...