Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Red Stakes on Left White on Right Rule clarrification


Note: This thread is 4860 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Ok so on the par 4 number 10 tee of my home course there is a woods on the right marked with white stakes which I understand if the ball goes in it's stroke and distance.  But the part that I am confused about are the Red stakes on the left.  To the left of the number 10 hole is the rest of the course so you are still on the course.  If you go passed the red stakes are you able to play the shot where it lies or are you supposed to drop from the closest point of relief on the other side of the stakes.  Also the red stakes only go up so far and if you hit your drive lets say 250 and left you pass the end point of the stakes and everyone considers that playable because it is not marked that far out.  I was just wanting to know if I hit a ball left and go to the left of the stakes must I take a one stroke penalty and drop or can I play the shot as it lies?


Posted
Originally Posted by Reg5000

I was just wanting to know if I hit a ball left and go to the left of the stakes must I take a one stroke penalty and drop or can I play the shot as it lies?

Red stakes mark lateral water hazard, and yes you can play inside the hazard. Or you can do other things as per lateral water hazard rules.

ps. HC index of 2?


Posted
Originally Posted by luu5

Red stakes mark lateral water hazard, and yes you can play inside the hazard. Or you can do other things as per lateral water hazard rules.

ps. HC index of 2?

Ok sounds fair but there is no water to that side.  Just the rest of the golf course


Posted

And yes a Handicap Index of 2.  I never score higher than a 79 on my home course.  The question I asked may seem odd to you only because it is an arguement between me and another guy and I just wanted to confirm with other people that I was correct you can play as it lies passed those stakes because it is not indicated in the course rules that it is a 1 stroke penalty otherwise.  Just a deal sealer was all the question was lol


Posted

This sounds like a question best asked of the pro at the golf course, rather than anonymous online people who have never seen what you are talking about.  It is confusing, especially when you say there is no water on that side of the course, but there are red stakes.  Odd, indeed.


Posted
Originally Posted by Harmonious

This sounds like a question best asked of the pro at the golf course, rather than anonymous online people who have never seen what you are talking about.  It is confusing, especially when you say there is no water on that side of the course, but there are red stakes.  Odd, indeed.

For sure just wanted opinions was all but yes I find it odd too it is marked with red stakes with no water which is why the question arose in the first place =P


Posted
Originally Posted by Paradox

Tall weeds and natural grass areas will often be marked with red or yellow.  They are considered a hazard.

Not according to the Rules of Golf.

33-8/35

Local Rule Treating Rough as a Lateral Water Hazard

Q. The areas immediately adjacent to the fairways consist of large embedded boulders, thick desert brush and prickly cactus. A player whose ball comes to rest in such areas has no opportunity to play a stroke. Would it be proper to make a Local Rule under which such areas would be treated as lateral water hazards?

A. No. There are many courses where the areas adjacent to the fairways are of such a nature that a ball therein is almost always lost or unplayable. Thus, such a situation is not abnormal.


Posted

Thanks guys after some more research I think I got my answer appreciate the feedback


Posted
Originally Posted by Reg5000

Ok sounds fair but there is no water to that side.  Just the rest of the golf course

Which means that the course is improperly marked if there is no water or dry watercourse behind those red stakes.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Originally Posted by Rulesman

Not according to the Rules of Golf.

33-8/35

Local Rule Treating Rough as a Lateral Water Hazard

Q.The areas immediately adjacent to the fairways consist of large embedded boulders, thick desert brush and prickly cactus. A player whose ball comes to rest in such areas has no opportunity to play a stroke. Would it be proper to make a Local Rule under which such areas would be treated as lateral water hazards?

A.No. There are many courses where the areas adjacent to the fairways are of such a nature that a ball therein is almost always lost or unplayable. Thus, such a situation is not abnormal.

I didn't say it was correct..I tried to edit my post to say that..but deleted it instead.  Anyway, its not always "right" but some courses do take liberty with what they consider a lateral water hazard but my main point was that if its marked..all that matters is the color of the stakes which mark the "hazard".

My philosophy on golf "We're not doing rocket science, here."


Posted
Originally Posted by Paradox

I didn't say it was correct..I tried to edit my post to say that..but deleted it instead.  Anyway, its not always "right" but some courses do take liberty with what they consider a lateral water hazard but my main point was that if its marked..all that matters is the color of the stakes which mark the "hazard".

The point is, how do you interpret a single row of red stakes with just more golf course on the other side of them?  What are the limits of the so-called water hazard?  A water hazard is a finite entity.  If you cross over the entire hazard, your ball should either be back in play or it should be outside of the course boundary.  A single row of red stakes can't define a lateral water hazard unless the hazard extends all of the way to the course boundary, and if that was the case, then there should be some additional indicator for out of bounds, be it fence or stakes.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Originally Posted by Fourputt

The point is, how do you interpret a single row of red stakes with just more golf course on the other side of them?  What are the limits of the so-called water hazard?  A water hazard is a finite entity.  If you cross over the entire hazard, your ball should either be back in play or it should be outside of the course boundary.  A single row of red stakes can't define a lateral water hazard unless the hazard extends all of the way to the course boundary, and if that was the case, then there should be some additional indicator for out of bounds, be it fence or stakes.

where are you drawing that there was just a single row of red stakes?  From the guys posts I gathered that there was an area marked as a lateral hazard but it only ran so far up the left side of the hole.  I can only assume it completely encircled SOMETHING, however big or small it may be.

My philosophy on golf "We're not doing rocket science, here."


Posted

The markings may not be correct but my general understanding of that kind of lateral hazard marking is that it's basically just the local committee taking some liberties in pursuit of either saving a somewhat environmentally sensitive area within the course bounds or just speeding (locally legal) play.  If there are some thick woods and the next hole's a good way to the side and it's not too hard to lose a ball in there, but it's not OB, most guys won't take a provisional for a possible lost ball if they pull or hook one in there.  Marking it as a hazard lets guys stay within the (slightly bent, local) rules if they can't find their ball or it's in an unplayable lie and they just go out to the point of entry and take a drop and +1 penalty.  Lots of people do that anyway (including myself for surprise lost balls, as I'm always walking and don't want to walk back to the tee, though I've started taking a +2 then on the theory that it somewhat more approximates having gone back to the tee and hit a tee shot that's playable, sitting 3 instead of sitting 2), but it's incorrect.  Marking it as a hazard makes it the right play at least according to local rules.

And yes, you can't ground your club but you are allowed to play a ball from within a lateral hazard if you so choose.

Matt

Mid-Weight Heavy Putter
Cleveland Tour Action 60˚
Cleveland CG15 54˚
Nike Vapor Pro Combo, 4i-GW
Titleist 585h 19˚
Tour Edge Exotics XCG 15˚ 3 Wood
Taylormade R7 Quad 9.5˚

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paradox View Post

where are you drawing that there was just a single row of red stakes?  From the guys posts I gathered that there was an area marked as a lateral hazard but it only ran so far up the left side of the hole.  I can only assume it completely encircled SOMETHING, however big or small it may be.

Because that is what Reg5000 seems to be saying.

Quote:

But the part that I am confused about are the Red stakes on the left. To the left of the number 10 hole is the rest of the course so you are still on the course . If you go passed the red stakes are you able to play the shot where it lies or are you supposed to drop from the closest point of relief on the other side of the stakes.

And

Quote:
Ok sounds fair but there is no water to that side. Just the rest of the golf course

If you see something different, then tell me where it is.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Originally Posted by Fourputt

Because that is what Reg5000 seems to be saying.

And

If you see something different, then tell me where it is.

so you've never seen a lateral water hazard marked in the middle of a course?

Nothing you posted suggested that its just a single line.  It just says to the left of the 10th fairway that there is a lateral hazard marked.  No indication of there just being a single line.  I would assume that any course who has the sense to make markings would mark an AREA and not a line.

My philosophy on golf "We're not doing rocket science, here."


Posted
Originally Posted by Paradox

so you've never seen a lateral water hazard marked in the middle of a course?

Nothing you posted suggested that its just a single line.  It just says to the left of the 10th fairway that there is a lateral hazard marked.  No indication of there just being a single line.  I would assume that any course who has the sense to make markings would mark an AREA and not a line.

And it says that there is "no water to that side. Just the rest of the golf course".  And "But the part that I am confused about are the Red stakes on the left. To the left of the number 10 hole is the rest of the course so you are still on the course."  Where do you see that it's not a single line?  All he mentions is a line of red stakes with the rest of the course on the other side.  He says absolutely nothing about an "area".  A course which will use hazard markings where there is no water and no watercourse would not necessarily do anything else right either.   Show me different.

If he comes back and clarifies it, then we will know.  Until then it's possible that either one of us is right.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

when he said "you are still on the course"..I take that to mean that its not OB.  From what he asked..he seemed to be confused about what to do once the ball had crossed into the marked hazard.  Can he play it or does he have to take a drop.  I don't think he was confused as to why the stakes were there or why it was marked as a lateral hazard.

My philosophy on golf "We're not doing rocket science, here."


Posted
Originally Posted by Paradox

when he said "you are still on the course"..I take that to mean that its not OB.  From what he asked..he seemed to be confused about what to do once the ball had crossed into the marked hazard.  Can he play it or does he have to take a drop.  I don't think he was confused as to why the stakes were there or why it was marked as a lateral hazard.

Combine both of your logics together and you guys got it lol....Yes I was confused as to did I have to take a drop or can I play it and for the record Its just a straight line of stakes along the left side of number 10 about 60 yards then stops.  I'll take a picture of it today and show you guys but no need to argue about it.


Note: This thread is 4860 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 1: 2025.12.26 Worked on LH position on grip, trying to keep fingers closer to perpendicular to the club. Feels awkward but change is meant to.
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • When you've been teaching golf as long as I have, you're going to find that you can teach some things better than you previously had, and you're probably going to find some things that you taught incorrectly. I don't see that as a bad thing — what would be worse is refusing to adapt and grow given new information. I've always said that my goal with my instruction isn't to be right, but it's to get things right. To that end, I'm about five years late in issuing a public proclamation on something… When I first got my GEARS system, I immediately looked at the golf swings of the dozens and dozens of Tour players for which I suddenly had full 3D data. I created a huge spreadsheet showing how their bodies moved, how the club moved, at various points in the swing. I mapped knee and elbow angles, hand speeds, shoulder turns and pelvis turns… etc. I re-considered what I thought I knew about the golf swing as performed by the best players. One of those things dated back to the earliest days: that you extend (I never taught "straighten" and would avoid using that word unless in the context of saying "don't fully straighten") the trail knee/leg in the backswing. I was mislead by 2D photos from less-than-ideal camera angles — the trail leg rotates a bit during the backswing, and so when observing trail knee flex should also use a camera that moves to stay perpendicular to the plane of the ankle/knee/hip joint. We have at least two topics here on this (here and here; both of which I'll be updating after publishing this) where @mvmac and I advise golfers to extend the trail knee. Learning that this was not right is one of the reasons I'm glad to have a 3D system, as most golfers generally preserve the trail knee flex throughout the backswing. Data Here's a video showing an iron and a driver of someone who has won the career slam: Here's what the graph of his right knee flex looks like. The solid lines I've positioned at the top of the backswing (GEARS aligns both swings at impact, the dashed line). Address is to the right, of course, and the graph shows knee flex from the two swings above. The data (17.56° and 23.20°) shows where this player is in both swings (orange being the yellow iron swing, pink the blue driver swing). You can see that this golfer extends his trail knee 2-3°… before bending it even more than that through the late backswing and early downswing. Months ago I created a quick Instagram video showing the trail knee flex in the backswing of several players (see the top for the larger number): Erik J. Barzeski (@iacas) • Instagram reel GEARS shares expert advice on golf swing technique, focusing on the critical backswing phase. Tour winners and major champions reveal the key to a precise and powerful swing, highlighting the importance of... Here are a few more graphs. Two LIV players and major champions: Two PGA Tour winners: Two women's #1 ranked players: Two more PGA Tour winners (one a major champ): Two former #1s, the left one being a woman, the right a man, with a driver: Two more PGA Tour players: You'll notice a trend: they almost all maintain roughly the same flex throughout their backswing and downswing. The Issues with Extending the Trail Knee You can play good golf extending (again, not "straightening") the trail knee. Some Tour players do. But, as with many things, if 95 out of 100 Tour players do it, you're most likely better off doing similarly to what they do. So, what are the issues with extending the trail knee in the backswing? To list a few: Pelvic Depth and Rotation Quality Suffers When the trail knee extends, the trail leg often acts like an axle on the backswing, with the pelvis rotating around the leg and the trail hip joint. This prevents the trail side from gaining depth, as is needed to keep the pelvis center from thrusting toward the ball. Most of the "early extension" (thrust) that I see occurs during the backswing. Encourages Early Extension (Thrust) Patterns When you've thrust and turned around the trail hip joint in the backswing, you often thrust a bit more in the downswing as the direction your pelvis is oriented is forward and "out" (to the right for a righty). Your trail leg can abduct to push you forward, but "forward" when your pelvis is turned like that is in the "thrust" direction. Additionally, the trail knee "breaking" again at the start of the downswing often jumps the trail hip out toward the ball a bit too much or too quickly. While the trail hip does move in that direction, if it's too fast or too much, it can prevent the lead side hip from getting "back" at the right rate, or at a rate commensurate with the trail hip to keep the pelvis center from thrusting. Disrupts the Pressure Shift/Transition When the trail leg extends too much, it often can't "push" forward normally. The forward push begins much earlier than forward motion begins — pushing forward begins as early as about P1.5 to P2 in the swings of most good golfers. It can push forward by abducting, again, but that's a weaker movement that shoves the pelvis forward (toward the target) and turns it more than it generally should (see the next point). Limits Internal Rotation of the Trail Hip Internal rotation of the trail hip is a sort of "limiter" on the backswing. I have seen many golfers on GEARS whose trail knee extends, whose pelvis shifts forward (toward the target), and who turn over 50°, 60°, and rarely but not never, over 70° in the backswing. If you turn 60° in the backswing, it's going to be almost impossible to get "open enough" in the downswing to arrive at a good impact position. Swaying/Lateral Motion Occasionally a golfer who extends the trail knee too much will shift back too far, but more often the issue is that the golfer will shift forward too early in the backswing (sometimes even immediately to begin the backswing), leaving them "stuck forward" to begin the downswing. They'll push forward, stop, and have to restart around P4, disrupting the smooth sequence often seen in the game's best players. Other Bits… Reduces ground reaction force potential, compromises spine inclination and posture, makes transition sequencing harder, increases stress on the trail knee and lower back… In short… It's not athletic. We don't do many athletic things with "straight" or very extended legs (unless it's the end of the action, like a jump or a big push off like a step in a running motion).
    • Day 135 12-25 Wide backswing to wide downswing drill. Recorder and used mirror. 
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.