IGNORED

When did you start Golf?

Steven McFarlane
Note: This thread is 4919 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

1. 1. When Did you Start

• Kid 0-12
    • Teenager 13-16
    • Young Adult- 17-19
    • Adult 20+

• Replies 116
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I started in my early twenties. I played alot for about a year, and then about 4 years went by where I only played about twice a year (kids, office job, no money, etc.). I've gotten serious about my game in the last 6 months, and I'm shooting in the low 90s now. I'm hoping to get a score in the 80s before the year is out.

Titleist 907D1 10.5°
Titleist 906F4 15.5°
Titleist 906F4 18.5°
Wilson Staff Pi5 3-P
Titleist Vokey 56.14Cleveland CG12 60°Scotty Cameron Newport Two

I started playing when I was 16 years old and I've been to the heights and down to the lows over the years. In my twenties I played par and on rare occassions under par. Quit for 10 years to coach little league baseball with my two sons. Took it back up around 40 and never regained the feel I once had. Got down to around a 7 handicap and now I'm struggling to stay under 85 all the time.

Golf is not a game, it's a way of life!

Driver...Cubic Balance offset
Fairway wood......Flying Saucer
3-Wood....Cleveland LauncherIrons.......Callaway Great Big Bertha w/graphite shaftswedges....Cleveland sand wedge, Callaway Lob wedge putter....Claveland VAS.

• Administrator

I went to a summer camp with my cousin the summer before my freshman year. We hit balls off tees and putted. That was all it took to get me hooked. I bought a 7-iron for $20 (probably a ripoff!) and swung it all winter. That Christmas, I used my Christmas and Birthday money to buy my first set of clubs - Nicklaus/MacGregor VIPs with persimmon woods, 3-PW and 1/3/5 iron with a Bullseye-type putter.