• Announcements

    • iacas

      Create a Signature!   02/05/2016

      Everyone, go here and edit your signature this week: http://thesandtrap.com/settings/signature/.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
andyh

Ball in a rolled up leaf inside bunker

43 posts in this topic

Hi,

Hope I can get some help with this.

Today I hit my shot straight down the fairway and it landed inside a rolled up leaf in a fairway bunker. The leaf was rolled up like a tube and the ball rolled into it. We could not find the ball and started lifting leaves in the area. I picked this leaf up and the ball rolled out?

I replaced the ball and played on. After the game we checked the rules and it seems that I should have been penalized 1 shot.

That seems really harsh but is that the correct ruling?

thks

andy

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Yep, 1-stroke penalty.  Sucks, but that's the rule.

b . Searching for or Identifying Ball Covered by Loose Impediments in Hazard

In a hazard , if the player’s ball is believed to be covered by loose impediments to the extent that he cannot find or identify it, he may, without penalty, touch or move loose impediments in order to find or identify the ball. If the ball is found or identified as his, the player must replace the loose impediments . If the ball is moved during the touching or moving of loose impediments while searching for or identifying the ball, Rule 18-2a applies; if the ball is moved during the replacement of the loose impediments , there is no penalty and the ball must be replaced.

If the ball was entirely covered by loose impediments , the player must re-cover the ball but is permitted to leave a small part of the ball visible.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by thescarecrow

Why a penalty?

Ball was replaced.

My understanding is that the ball should have been replaced inside the leaf as he found it.  Reading the OP description this was not done, only the ball was replaced, therefore a penalty.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

I am reading replaced ie; as found. (returned to leaf)

We may be confusing andyh

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I did not replace it back into the leaf, so I guess that would be another penalty.

From reading the ruling I should have placed the ball back inside the rolled up leaf but could have left a small part of the ball visible. plus taken a 1 stroke penalty because I moved the ball when I was searching for it.

or could it have been replaced back into the leaf without penalty?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1 stroke penalty.  You needed to put the ball back inside the leaf in the exact spot where you found it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by thescarecrow

Why a penalty?

Ball was replaced.

Rule 18-2a says that if the player or caddy lifts or moves the ball, touches it purposely, or causes it to move, then it's a one-stroke penalty.

So, even if he did put it back where he found it and put the leaf back where he found it, he still gets the 1-stroke penalty.  I guess an additional one-stroke penalty for not putting it back into the leaf.

It brings up a follow-up question though:

If he noticed the ball inside the rolled up leaf before he moved it, yet could not possibly move the leaf to identify it without moving the ball and incurring the one-stroke penalty, what can he do?

Can he play it and go chase it down afterwards, confirm its his and play on?  Or find out it's not his, and return back to original spot (prior to bunker) and play under lost ball penalty?  How does it work?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

The 1 stroke penalty was for moving the ball at rest when the loose impediment was moved during the search.  R18-2a  The fact that the player did not see the ball, it was in the leaf, unfortunately is irrelevant.

The player must replace the ball.  Failure to do so is a general breach of Rule 18 which is and a 2 stroke penalty or loss of hole in match play.  (2PS total, you don't count 1 + 2 more.)

Rule 12-2 covers how to identify a ball that needs to be lifted.  If the player was able to see "a ball" after moving loose impediments, and the ball had not been moved during this search, the player would be able to then identify the ball following R12-2 with no penalty.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A loose impediment, once moved, does not have to be replaced.  Therefore, the ball must be replaced as closely as possible to where it lay, but the leaf does not have to be replaced.  If anyone can find a decision disputing this, I'd be happy to see it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Fourputt

A loose impediment, once moved, does not have to be replaced.  Therefore, the ball must be replaced as closely as possible to where it lay, but the leaf does not have to be replaced.  If anyone can find a decision disputing this, I'd be happy to see it.

Rule 12-1 b:

b. Searching for or Identifying Ball Covered by Loose Impediments in Hazard

In a hazard , if the player’s ball is believed to be covered by loose impediments

to the extent that he cannot find or identify it, he may, without penalty,

touch or move loose impediments in order to find or identify the ball.

If the ball is found or identified as his, the player must replace the loose

impediments . If the ball is moved during the touching or moving of loose

impediments while searching for or identifying the ball, Rule 18-2a applies;

if the ball is moved during the replacement of the loose impediments , there is

no penalty and the ball must be replaced.

If the ball was entirely covered by loose impediments , the player must

re-cover the ball but is permitted to leave a small part of the ball visible.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Originally Posted by Fourputt

A loose impediment, once moved, does not have to be replaced.  Therefore, the ball must be replaced as closely as possible to where it lay, but the leaf does not have to be replaced.  If anyone can find a decision disputing this, I'd be happy to see it.

The OP's example occurred in a bunker ... and I think you are referring to balls outside of hazards.

At least I think that is the difference.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Originally Posted by Missouri Swede

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fourputt

A loose impediment, once moved, does not have to be replaced.  Therefore, the ball must be replaced as closely as possible to where it lay, but the leaf does not have to be replaced.  If anyone can find a decision disputing this, I'd be happy to see it.

Rule 12-1 b:

b. Searching for or Identifying Ball Covered by Loose Impediments in Hazard

In a hazard, if the player’s ball is believed to be covered by loose impediments

to the extent that he cannot find or identify it, he may, without penalty,

touch or move loose impediments in order to find or identify the ball.

If the ball is found or identified as his, the player must replace the loose

impediments. If the ball is moved during the touching or moving of loose

impediments while searching for or identifying the ball, Rule 18-2a applies;

if the ball is moved during the replacement of the loose impediments, there is

no penalty and the ball must be replaced.

If the ball was entirely covered by loose impediments, the player must

re-cover the ball but is permitted to leave a small part of the ball visible.

It says "replace the loose impediments", but nothing says that the ball has to be back inside of the leaf.  In fact, it says that he is allowed to see a portion of the ball.  That would seem to preclude rolling it back up in the leaf where he would be unable to see it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Fourputt

It says "replace the loose impediments", but nothing says that the ball has to be back inside of the leaf.  In fact, it says that he is allowed to see a portion of the ball.  That would seem to preclude rolling it back up in the leaf where he would be unable to see it.

Yes, a portion of the ball, not the entire ball. Also, if part of that ball inside the rolled leaf would be visible from any angle that would satisfy R12-2.

IMO the ball should have been replaced inside the rolled leaf, providing any part of that ball could have been seen from any angle. Why would the player be entitled to such a benefit of removing the entire leaf disturbing his shot? This is not what R12-2 is about.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by wadesworld

Yep, 1-stroke penalty.  Sucks, but that's the rule.

b. Searching for or Identifying Ball Covered by Loose Impediments in Hazard

In a hazard, if the player’s ball is believed to be covered by loose impediments to the extent that he cannot find or identify it, he may, without penalty, touch or move loose impediments in order to find or identify the ball. If the ball is found or identified as his, the player must replace the loose impediments. If the ball is moved during the touching or moving of loose impediments while searching for or identifying the ball, Rule 18-2a applies; if the ball is moved during the replacement of the loose impediments, there is no penalty and the ball must be replaced.

If the ball was entirely covered by loose impediments, the player must re-cover the ball but is permitted to leave a small part of the ball visible.

Player hits ball in bunker. Player finds ball rolled in leaf in bunker. Player identifies ball, returns ball as near as possible as found, then hits ball.  No penalty as per above, refer in order to find

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, a portion of the ball, not the entire ball. Also, if part of that ball inside the rolled leaf would be visible from any angle that would satisfy R12-2. IMO the ball should have been replaced inside the rolled leaf, providing any part of that ball could have been seen from any angle. Why would the player be entitled to such a benefit of removing the entire leaf disturbing his shot? This is not what R12-2 is about.

I would agree. [URL]http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-23/#23-1/7[/URL] [URL]http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-12/#12-1/3[/URL]

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Fourputt

It says "replace the loose impediments", but nothing says that the ball has to be back inside of the leaf.  In fact, it says that he is allowed to see a portion of the ball.  That would seem to preclude rolling it back up in the leaf where he would be unable to see it.

The point is that he has to replace the impediment in a hazard.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Golf Evolution
  • Posts

    • My Swing (PhraseUniverse)
      For best results on filming your swing, read this. The second half of the article is about how to position your camera, which is the most important part. http://thesandtrap.com/b/playing_tips/filming_your_swing
    • TST Member Review - The Tee Claw
      Product Name: The Tee Claw
      Product Type: Tee Holder for Golf Mats
      Product Website/URL: www.teeclaw.com
      Cost: $15 Ratings (out of 5):
      Quality: 4
      Value: 4
      Effectiveness: 4
      Durability: tbd
      Esthetic Appeal: 4   Link to Discussion Thread   My Member Revie I was able to take the Tee Claw to one of our open local ranges on Sunday. As stated above, I cut down a few tees ahead of time to the right height so I wouldn't have to do it at the range. I set the Tee Claw in the mat below then put my driver next to it to get the right height. This mat is an All Turf mat, which is similar to the Real Feel mats with a little less dense weave. The mat is made of woven fibers. At the range, the first thing I noticed was this range has two types of mats; a cheap imitation turf mat where the rubber tee goes and a tighter weave mat. The Tee Claw had no issue with the woven mat, but would not grab the cheap mat fibers. The video below shows this. The cheap mat only has fibers that run vertically and are not woven together. Undaunted, I used the woven mat for the test. I set the Tee Claw up with just one lanyard pulled straight back. This distance is about 30 inches. I hooked the tee under the mat with a tee as is suggested in the Tee Claw site video. The tee fits snug into the Tee Claw base. I used my driver to test the set up. The Tee Claw moved after the shot, but the tee stayed in place. I was worried that I would lose the tee, but this didn't happen. This will save on tees if this happens routinely. I took three swings with this set up. The Tee Claw came loose after the shot, but stayed on the mat.
      Next, I set up the Tee Claw with two lanyards. The second lanyard was set up as a guide for my swing path. This will come in handy as a training aid.
      After hitting, the tee stayed in. The Tee Claw moved. You can see below, it recoiled and twisted a bit. It took a few seconds to untangle it and set it back up. If you are the kind of player who rapid fire hits balls, this may get annoying. But if you are like me and take your time, the extra set up time is not an issue. If I am doing slow motion drills, I would use the rubber tee. But once I am hitting to observe ball flight, I would use the Tee Claw instead.
      Lastly, mats seem to be the key for the Tee Claw to work. Good mats with a weave work the best. I have two mats at home, the All Turf mat I showed above and one I got when buying a Birdie Ball net. They are below. I apologize for not cleaning the dead grass off the mat! It was cold out. The Tee Claw had no issues with either of these mats. I would take the mat type into consideration when you purchase the Tee Claw.
      At $15, the Tee Claw is not a big investment and worth the money for being able to set your tee height while practicing on mats. I've resorted to cutting down rubber tees to the right height before, but this is a better way. Try it out!
    • Claim Your Achievements Here!
      Got them all. I gave you the "Broke 80" award. All set! Congratulations to all who have claimed their awards so far!
    • My Swing (PhraseUniverse)
      Thanks for the advice. I will work on this over the week and post another video this weekend. 
    • Quitting a round early - Why Would You Quit?
      I can't recall ever quitting for a reason other than rain.  And I will play through a certain amount, especially if I have a cart with a windshield.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

    No users celebrating today
  • Blog Entries