IGNORED

In need of new Irons!

Note: This thread is 6128 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Howdy all.

I am in DIRE need of new Irons. I've been playing the same set of Wilson Staff blades since 1985 and have decided it's time to upgrade. OK, it's past time, but the problem is I can't seem to find anything I remotely like. My current GHIN is 11.2, so I don't think I need "super game improvement clubs" but want something a little more forgiving than my 20 year old blades. I just got back from Cobra demo days and nothing I hit there felt good. I also hit some Titlist while there and the 755's felt better. I've hit Callaway and Ping, and nothing feels right. Should I be looking at Mizuno or Nike?

HELP!

What is out on the market that will feel and perform like Wilson Staff Fluid Feel blades?
I've spent most of my life golfing - the rest I've just wasted.

In my bag todayâ¦.
Driver: 2009 S9-1 10.5
19d Hybrid4-SW:2008 FP 58/10 Mizuno MP T-10Putter: White Hot XG Sabertooth

I like forged:

Callaway XForged Blades
Hogan Apex Plus

I like cast:

Ping S58 or S59

If I weren't on staff with Callaway, I'd give serious consideration to playing the Pings. They are a GREAT set of clubs. Forged blade look and feel.

I don't know what the fluid blades feel like, but if they're from '85, and Wilson Staff, I can't imagine they are terribly easy to hit. If that's the feel you are looking for, try Hogan Apex

Callaway RazrFit Extreme 9.5 w/Project X 6.5
Callaway XHot Pro 15* 3Wood w/Project X 6.5
Callaway XTour 18* 2h w/S300
Callaway XHot Pro 4/5 irons w/S300
Callaway XForged III 5-PW irons w/S300
Callaway Forged 52*/58* Wedges
Odyssey 7 Versa 90
Callaway Hex Black Tour

The Callaway X Tour irons are so sweet...I hit them at Demo Day, they are tough to hit for my handicap but they have a great feel.

Driver Ping G10 10.5*