• Announcements

    • iacas

      Create a Signature!   02/05/2016

      Everyone, go here and edit your signature this week: http://thesandtrap.com/settings/signature/.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
WUTiger

Landscaping fabric = immovable obstruction?

6 posts in this topic

My home course is about 20 years old, and was designed by Jack Nicklaus. So, we've got some exciting bunkers and dips and rolls around the greens, and several testy fairway bunkers.

Twice on the front nine, I had odd lies involving buried landscaping fabric which had worked its was to the surface. On one hole, my ball was just off the green, and in a bare spot that had a clump of nylon mesh sticking out of the ground. The ball was sitting partially under the mesh.

Two holes later, my lay-up shot on a par 5 that rolled up to the edge of a fairway bunker. This time, the ball had rolled up against a piece of dark landscaping felt that had surfaced from the bank of the bunker. The felt piece was behind the ball.

In both cases, I took a free drop, citing the rule for immovable obstructions. My two playing partners agreed.

Did I do the right thing?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Yes.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Fourputt

Yes.

Thank you for the expansive answer as to why taking relief was appropriate. I am sure all the readers are now better prepared to properly apply the Rules.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Originally Posted by bkuehn1952

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fourputt

Yes.

Thank you for the expansive answer as to why taking relief was appropriate. I am sure all the readers are now better prepared to properly apply the Rules.

What more was needed?  He asked if his procedure was correct  He cited the rule, and if he followed the procedure in Rule 24-2 for immovable obstructions, then the only answer necessary was the one I gave.  If anybody wants to know more they can look it up HERE .

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you for the expansive answer as to why taking relief was appropriate. I am sure all the readers are now better prepared to properly apply the Rules.

The questioner posited the correct answer in his narrative. The question was seeking confirmation - which was given.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wait a minute!  Did Jack specify those landscaping items?  If not, then maybe they are 'illegal' modifications to the original design. And since those illegal mods caused said player grief, said player is entitled to remove one stroke from his card to penalize the greenskeeper/superintendent.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0