• Announcements

    • iacas

      Introducing TST "Clubs!"   08/28/2017

      No, we're not getting into the equipment business, but we do have "clubs" here on TST now. Groups. Check them out here:
Sign in to follow this  
WUTiger

Landscaping fabric = immovable obstruction?

Recommended Posts

WUTiger    452

My home course is about 20 years old, and was designed by Jack Nicklaus. So, we've got some exciting bunkers and dips and rolls around the greens, and several testy fairway bunkers.

Twice on the front nine, I had odd lies involving buried landscaping fabric which had worked its was to the surface. On one hole, my ball was just off the green, and in a bare spot that had a clump of nylon mesh sticking out of the ground. The ball was sitting partially under the mesh.

Two holes later, my lay-up shot on a par 5 that rolled up to the edge of a fairway bunker. This time, the ball had rolled up against a piece of dark landscaping felt that had surfaced from the bank of the bunker. The felt piece was behind the ball.

In both cases, I took a free drop, citing the rule for immovable obstructions. My two playing partners agreed.

Did I do the right thing?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

bkuehn1952    472
Originally Posted by Fourputt

Yes.

Thank you for the expansive answer as to why taking relief was appropriate. I am sure all the readers are now better prepared to properly apply the Rules.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Fourputt    922
Originally Posted by bkuehn1952

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fourputt

Yes.

Thank you for the expansive answer as to why taking relief was appropriate. I am sure all the readers are now better prepared to properly apply the Rules.

What more was needed?  He asked if his procedure was correct  He cited the rule, and if he followed the procedure in Rule 24-2 for immovable obstructions, then the only answer necessary was the one I gave.  If anybody wants to know more they can look it up HERE .

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Rulesman    166
Thank you for the expansive answer as to why taking relief was appropriate. I am sure all the readers are now better prepared to properly apply the Rules.

The questioner posited the correct answer in his narrative. The question was seeking confirmation - which was given.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

joekelly    55

Wait a minute!  Did Jack specify those landscaping items?  If not, then maybe they are 'illegal' modifications to the original design. And since those illegal mods caused said player grief, said player is entitled to remove one stroke from his card to penalize the greenskeeper/superintendent.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    Talamore Golf Resort
    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Mission Belt
    Snell Golf
    Frogger Golf
    PitchFix USA
  • Posts

    • As others have said, you''ll probably be hitting a lot of shots with short irons .  with awkward changes to grip,posture, that kind of thing.  I'll be surprised if he let's you swing your driver unless your iron game is really competent and you don't have swing flaws. A very good chance it'll make you a better player, but early lessons  might not be fun. At least that's been my experience and that of everybody I know who have taken lessons.
    • I responded initially to David's comment about hitting an approach shot with what I thought would require a fairway wood to a difficult green and being confident in the outcome. What you've quoted was a response and disagreement to Kevin's comment suggesting that hole would not be difficult for higher handicappers. I'll resist replying to @Vinsk's post directly below yours. My apologies for taking this thread off-topic.
    • I've been looking at my swing in caddie view, especially P8/A8 (the shaft is parallel to the ground in the follow-through) and I noticed that my neck and eyes are still pointing in the direction of where the ball was at address until after P9/A9. I think this is a really bad move for me as I am left handed and left eye dominant, meaning that my dominant eye isn't really seeing the ball after impact, and I am not extending or raising my head from P7/A7 to P9/A9. Annika Sorenstam (who is right handed and right eye dominant) does the opposite move, at P8/A8 her eyes and neck are in the direction of the clubhead from a head swivel move in the downswing. Jim Furyk and David Duval do the same thing that she does and all 3 players shot sub 60 rounds... Could this be a magic move?
    • Uhh, these guys you are destroying, what scores do they usually shoot? they had low handicaps, they were on the golf team with me or for another high school.   You have a 28 HDCP, yet you hit the sweet spot consistently on your irons? for the most part, yes.    thank you for the suggestion, but I hate the feel and look of game improvement irons. which ones do you suggest?
    • Funny guy this Groucho, think he is trolling you Erik.  My story as someone who scores in the seventies when playing a good round (low eighties are more common). I really need my long game to be on. Hitting it 220-230y from the tee, playing a course at 6700y. Next I mostly have a wood or a hybrid to the green. Because of that I became a really good woods/hybrid player (practice it a lot during my rounds). There are two 440y par4's that I can't reach in two, stopped trying to make gir there (no more 3 woods out of my shoes to the green). Not that I hit every green, I even miss greens from 100y in, allways very happy to be on the green in regulation. Ngir is king for me. If not on the green, but almost, I try my Texas wedge (putter) to make up and down. I am not an elite player at all, but am really into scoring. Thinking about buying a chipper, because my chipping is below average. I take my driver out on every hole except par3's. I learned to hit a short gripped driver with an easy 70% swing 180-190y, when there is danger at 200+y, it works for me all the time.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Bryan Kasper
      Bryan Kasper
      (25 years old)
    2. Greg Pickett Golf
      Greg Pickett Golf
      (62 years old)
    3. hobecorning
      hobecorning
      (75 years old)
    4. Lfm
      Lfm
      (73 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon