IGNORED

How to hit a driver?

Matt66
Note: This thread is 3370 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

A stupid question, that will no doubt require a stupid answer but is genuinely bugging me.

If you see the threads that I have posted in recently, including my member swing thread, you'll come to the realisation that;

1. I'm an eager newbie

2. Pretty Useless with any club bigger then a 5 wood

3. Confused beyond my wildest dreams with how on earth I go about getting solid decent contact with the daddy club

So when I first started playing I was pretty fearless and would go for the driver when called upon, yeah I hit a fair few shanks & slice it a long way but at least it felt good to hit the bad boy.

So as I have continued playing more and more one would hope an improvement would occur, it did and I managed to tame the slice into a fade and even see a slight draw every now and then.

However more recently I have really struggled for any consistency, with sky shots destroying my driver head being the most common of all shots. I feel like when I hold a driver I genuinely don't know what to do with it, how to stand, swing etc.

So I wanna try and go back to basics, I've read and watched countless videos on hitting the ball on the up, hitting down ( as @mvmac ms to be growing in popularity) stance, set up & even down to how high you tee it up.

I wondered what are the general set up methods everyone goes through & then what works for you guys when making the transition from irons to driver.

I have an idea about the very basics such as set up, square up that club face (or at least attempt!) but is there anything that you do or don't do that works & perhaps maybe I may have a eureka moment next time I practice!

Cheers guys :-)

Matt