or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Tour Talk › Kenny Perry Breaks Rule (or not) Twice at Shark Shootout
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Kenny Perry Breaks Rule (or not) Twice at Shark Shootout  

post #1 of 48
Thread Starter 


Rule 14-2 prohibits Kenny Perry from doing what he is doing TWICE in this video. Kenny and JB Holmes finished T2 in the 2009 Shark Shootout and cashed checks for $161,666 each.

http://freedrop.wordpress.com/2009/1...tout-scramble/

I'd rate it as unlikely that they'd waive that rule, though it wouldn't surprise me if they retroactively do it to protect Kenny Perry.


I still think he broke the rules earlier this year at the FBR.

Update: the rule was not in effect for this tournament. So KP did NOT break the tournament rules, but he still broke the Rules of Golf.
post #2 of 48

Re: Kenny Perry Breaks Rule (or not) Twice at Shark Shootout

i noticed this to and wondered if they waived it during scrambles.
post #3 of 48

Re: Kenny Perry Breaks Rule (or not) Twice at Shark Shootout

Wasn't it just about a year ago there was video of KP improving his lie with a wedge in the rough prior to hitting the shot. Maybe the golf gods got him back at the Masters. We'll see what happens next season.
post #4 of 48

Re: Kenny Perry Breaks Rule (or not) Twice at Shark Shootout

Originally Posted by ping12 View Post
i noticed this to and wondered if they waived it during scrambles.
My thought also. At least KP didn't drop a ball out of his pocket and declare..."Here's our ball..it's right here!"
post #5 of 48

Re: Kenny Perry Breaks Rule (or not) Twice at Shark Shootout

Originally Posted by ping12 View Post
i noticed this to and wondered if they waived it during scrambles.
Rule 1-3 says that's not an option. It seems unlikely they would play by "almost golf" rules, even in a scramble, at that level. Plus, of all the times to have that rule, that's the format in which it's most important.
post #6 of 48

Re: Kenny Perry Breaks Rule (or not) Twice at Shark Shootout

Originally Posted by uttexas View Post
Wasn't it just about a year ago there was video of KP improving his lie with a wedge in the rough prior to hitting the shot.
Thats what iacas was saying about the FBR.
post #7 of 48

Re: Kenny Perry Breaks Rule (or not) Twice at Shark Shootout

I heard one of the commentators say that it was allowed during the scramble format. But I can't comment on whether or not this exception is valid according to tour rules.
post #8 of 48

Re: Kenny Perry Breaks Rule (or not) Twice at Shark Shootout

I saw it also but I'm not sure if it was allowed or not. I just assumed if his playing partners weren't concerned and it's a bit of a lax tourney no big deal.
post #9 of 48

Re: Kenny Perry Breaks Rule (or not) Twice at Shark Shootout

What is he doing?
post #10 of 48

Re: Kenny Perry Breaks Rule (or not) Twice at Shark Shootout

I also believe it was allowed under that format, but have no means for clarification.
post #11 of 48

Re: Kenny Perry Breaks Rule (or not) Twice at Shark Shootout

Interesting. I think it is allowed to stand on the extension of a partner's line during Scrambles - but I'm willing to be corrected!
post #12 of 48

Re: Kenny Perry Breaks Rule (or not) Twice at Shark Shootout

Originally Posted by Acropo View Post
Interesting. I think it is allowed to stand on the extension of a partner's line during Scrambles - but I'm willing to be corrected!
If that is what he did, who benefits/suffers from this and why?

I am confused.
post #13 of 48

Re: Kenny Perry Breaks Rule (or not) Twice at Shark Shootout

I heard the commentators specifically comment that this was allowed...not sure if it was due to the format or if the tourney allowed it. Either way it was allowed and the made sure to note it in the commentary.
post #14 of 48

Re: Kenny Perry Breaks Rule (or not) Twice at Shark Shootout

Originally Posted by MikeLowry5 View Post
If that is what he did, who benefits/suffers from this and why?

I am confused.
Read the rule referenced in post #1.
post #15 of 48
Thread Starter 

Re: Kenny Perry Breaks Rule (or not) Twice at Shark Shootout

Originally Posted by keitha37 View Post
I heard the commentators specifically comment that this was allowed...not sure if it was due to the format or if the tourney allowed it. Either way it was allowed and the made sure to note it in the commentary.
If it was allowed, that's lame. LAME.

I realize a "scramble" isn't "Rules of Golf" (the whole format is invalid, basically) but you should follow the rules that are still possible, and 14-2 is still "follow-able."

LAME.
post #16 of 48

Re: Kenny Perry Breaks Rule (or not) Twice at Shark Shootout

I don't think he violated the rule.

Kenny was only watching for his OWN reference - not to help on alignment or otherwise assist Holmes.

from the Decisions:
The purpose of Rule 14-2b is to prohibit a caddie from positioning himself behind the player while the player makes a stroke in order to advise the player on alignment or otherwise assist him.
And - if it is a violation - the penalty would be on Holmes (of the team), technically. Holmes is the player making the stroke "allowing it" to happen.
post #17 of 48

Re: Kenny Perry Breaks Rule (or not) Twice at Shark Shootout

I agree that what I beleive to see is Kenny watching to get a read for his own putt, and not to assist the player. This would not be an infraction of rule 14-2b.
post #18 of 48
Thread Starter 

Re: Kenny Perry Breaks Rule (or not) Twice at Shark Shootout

Originally Posted by Jay-Bird View Post
I don't think he violated the rule.
He did. That decision talks about a caddie "inadvertently" standing on the line, as in a caddie standing there and not really paying attention.

Kenny Perry was paying attention. You need to cite the entire decision, please:

Source: Decision 14-2/4
Caddie Inadvertently Stands on Extension of Line of Play Behind Ball

Q. A player's caddie inadvertently stood on an extension of the player's line of play behind the ball when the player made a stroke. The caddie was watching another player play from the next tee. Neither the player nor his caddie was aware that the caddie was so located. Was the player subject to penalty under Rule 14-2b?

A. No. The purpose of Rule 14-2b is to prohibit a caddie from positioning himself behind the player while the player makes a stroke in order to advise the player on alignment or otherwise assist him. In this case, the caddie was not so positioned.

The same ruling would apply if the player's caddie inadvertently stood on an extension of the line of putt behind the ball during the stroke.



Originally Posted by Jay-Bird View Post
And - if it is a violation - the penalty would be on Holmes (of the team), technically. Holmes is the player making the stroke "allowing it" to happen.
Agreed, but since it's a scramble and the team score is all that counts, the team would incur the penalty.

Originally Posted by lcfd42 View Post
I agree that what I beleive to see is Kenny watching to get a read for his own putt, and not to assist the player. This would not be an infraction of rule 14-2b.
That's irrelevant. Read the rule.

Source: Rule 14-2
Assistance
In making a stroke, a player must not:

a. Accept physical assistance or protection from the elements; or
b. Allow his caddie, his partner or his partner's caddie to position himself on or close to an extension of the line of play or the line of putt behind the ball.



It says nothing of the intent. It says: "In making a stroke, a player must not allow his partner to position himself on or close to an extension of the line of the putt behind the ball."

The rule says "don't let someone stand there." JB let someone stand there. It's irrelevant the intent, except it's quite obvious KP was paying attention and not watching another player tee off on another hole or something.

He broke the rule. The only question is whether the rule was "waived" because a scramble isn't "real golf" to begin with. It seems as though it may have been, which I think is disappointing.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Tour Talk
This thread is locked  
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Tour Talk › Kenny Perry Breaks Rule (or not) Twice at Shark Shootout