18th hole of a one day tournament. The rough is at least 4 inches deep and two of the guys in my foursome are playing well enough to be in the running for top finishing positions.
My cart partner hits a big high slice into the right hand rough. While I'm sitting in the cart not 10 feet away, I see the guy reach for the ball and I thought he was trying to make sure it was his. Instead, he picks the damn thing up, moves it back about two feet and places it on a nice tuft of grass so it is sitting 2 inches above the sod.
I didn't say anything but when we went to turn scorecards in I couldn't hold myself back. I was out of the running, not going to get anything out of it but I was so pissed. I didn't want to sign the scorecard or have anything more to do with this guy or the tournament.
When I brought this to the attention of the Tour Director, I told him exactly what I saw and the guy claims, no way it was two feet it was only 3 inches. It doesn't matter how far once you've picked up the ball that was lying in the rough.
Is the penalty disqualification?
Should I have called it immediately and let the rest of the foursome in on what I'd seen?
BTW, his score stands.....and he got second place. All I got was a sick feeling of disgust and never wanting to play a competitive round of golf again. In 8 tournaments this is the second flagrant violation of the rules of golf that I've witnessed. I am 2 for 8, so how many incidents happen every tournament if I've seen 2 in just 8 tries?