Jump to content
IGNORED

Red Penalty Area Behind Green, and No Drop Zone


BrendanR
 Share

Note: This thread is 1158 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

My first post!

My coastal course has a green with the ocean behind it. It is classified as a red penalty area (lateral water hazard old language).

If I thin (skull) a short wedge, the ball can fly through the green and into the penalty area (and gone).

At the point of entry it is impossible to drop within 2 club lengths 'no nearer the hole' and out of the penalty area, because the margin of the penalty area curves around and towards the green. I can't go back behind the area, as it's the ocean. 

There's no designated drop zone either.

So what are my options?

1. Replay the shot under stroke and distance, or

WHAT ELSE??!!!!

I have been taking a drop right on the point of entry. It always rolls into the penalty area so I then place the ball right at the point of entry, as it is 'no nearer the hole' and within 2 club lengths. I take a stroke penalty as well of course.

Is this legal? It seems to be legal to me, but the rules of golf don't cover this scenario as far as I can see. 

Are players required to have at least two options when their ball is in a penalty area, according to the rules?

This situation is really bugging me and Google is silent!

Regards - Brendan

 

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites


There's no guarantee that any of the options available in the rules are actually available for an individual circumstance.  If there is no relief area available within 2 clublengths of the entry point AND not nearer the hole, then you do have to go back and use the stroke and distance option.  I agree with @Groucho Valentine, the club would do well to establish a drop zone, but unless they do, you only have one choice under the rules.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • iacas changed the title to Red Penalty Area Behind Green, and No Drop Zone
  • Administrator
3 hours ago, BrendanR said:

 I have been taking a drop right on the point of entry. It always rolls into the penalty area so I then place the ball right at the point of entry, as it is 'no nearer the hole' and within 2 club lengths. I take a stroke penalty as well of course.

 Is this legal? It seems to be legal to me, but the rules of golf don't cover this scenario as far as I can see.

If you truly have no point sideways that's not nearer the hole, you can't drop on the point of entry legally, no. You'd still be dropping in the penalty area, as dropping on the point of entry puts you IN the penalty area.

And, really, even with a "round" green, there are often spots that you can drop that are "no closer to the hole." For example:

Image%202019-06-06%20at%2010.38.13%20AM.

In that photo both the blue and pink "hole locations" intersect the edge of the penalty area a few times. You can see how there are areas where you could drop in those situations. (Assume the edge of the penalty area is the white of the rock wall.)

More here:

3 hours ago, BrendanR said:

Are players required to have at least two options when their ball is in a penalty area, according to the No.

I'm with the others: you should ask your course about establishing a drop zone.

  • Thumbs Up 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Thanks guys!

Much appreciated, I will talk to the club about it and ask for a drop zone.

In the meantime I will hit a provisional ball the next time I skull it through that green...!

Ciao – Brendan

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Note: This thread is 1158 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct links for Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package. Save 10% on Mevo with coupon code "IACAS" as well.
  • Posts

    • Driver (Titleist 915D2), 4W (Titleist 917F2), 19 degree hybrid (Titleist TS2) 20 degree hybrid (Maltby KE4). What's the story?  I got my driver in 2015.  First ever fit driver, first ever new-as-in-new driver.  In 2017, I got my irons, 5-U.  I got fit for a hybrid (Ping demo day) but I had just bought a 4H, so I kept it.  I already had the 3H that went with it (that's the 20 degree in the bag now).   In 2018, I was going to buy a 3W and a 5W.  Titleist rep discovered I hit the 4W past the two of those, and those two about the same distance.  Dude could've just fit me for those two and made that sale, but I believe he helped me get the best bag makeup I could with what I was looking for.  So he suggested a 4W and a 3H.  I bought the 4W;  again, I had a 3H already.  But Titleist got some appreciation from me for that in the fitting. A month or so ago, I discovered my 5I and 4H were going comparably, with some of the better 4H shots hitting into the lower end of 3H acceptable shots.  And my best 3H shots were a good 25-30 yards short of my 4W.  So I dropped the 4H and, while at the Roger Dunn, found the 3H I had been fit for (same specs, successor head I think).  I had been looking for the 7W cousin of my 4W but found this instead.  I borrowed it from them (not a euphemism -- they have a 90 day 100% money back guarantee, so it's basically borrowing with a security deposit... but I like this club). And I hit it well past my old 3H and short of my 4W, so there's a good gap.   One of these days I might get a full bag fitting or replace a lot at once or something but... I took up golf in graduate school and a lot of the financial habits are tough to break.  Plus, I own a lot of clubs that I really like (driver, 4W, 3H now, all my irons down to the UW).   
    • Day 2: Did some work on priority piece with 7-iron, and then some work on driver, just static setup stuff and some slower rehearsal swings, no balls.
    • I really got caught up writing today -- that's most of what I did from lunchtime until about 9.  That's good news for me professionally, since I got a lot of writing done, but not great for me in terms of my club championship that begins on Friday   But hey, I had a few minutes to practice, I made use of them. Day 155.  A half dozen each of quarter PW, quarter 8I, full swing 6-Iron.  Real balls, indoors, off a mat, into a net. 
    • Day 14: Today I practiced three times, each about 10-15 minutes, in the morning, before dinner, and before bed. Each time it was the same thing, swings from A2 to P6 or whatever the club horizontal after impact is. It's extremely frustrating to do this and continue to have a shut club face. I tried presetting at the delivery position, where I _know_ the face is correct, and I still find some way to shut it coming to impact. My belief is that it's excessive arm or forearm rotation that I do without knowing it, but I'm not sure. I need to record some of these swings and look. When I swing in a mirror, I know I do it "correctly," but those aren't real swings where I'm hitting a ball. There is a parasite in there somewhere, and I have to find it.   
    • 😄 My breath is smelling better today...
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. alexfisher
      alexfisher
      (43 years old)
    2. Fkstang
      Fkstang
      (53 years old)
    3. marygujjari
      marygujjari
      (30 years old)
    4. RRTXgolfer
      RRTXgolfer
      (78 years old)
    5. Wanzo
      Wanzo
      (43 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...