Jump to content
BrendanR

Red Penalty Area Behind Green, and No Drop Zone

6 posts / 2162 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

My first post!

My coastal course has a green with the ocean behind it. It is classified as a red penalty area (lateral water hazard old language).

If I thin (skull) a short wedge, the ball can fly through the green and into the penalty area (and gone).

At the point of entry it is impossible to drop within 2 club lengths 'no nearer the hole' and out of the penalty area, because the margin of the penalty area curves around and towards the green. I can't go back behind the area, as it's the ocean. 

There's no designated drop zone either.

So what are my options?

1. Replay the shot under stroke and distance, or

WHAT ELSE??!!!!

I have been taking a drop right on the point of entry. It always rolls into the penalty area so I then place the ball right at the point of entry, as it is 'no nearer the hole' and within 2 club lengths. I take a stroke penalty as well of course.

Is this legal? It seems to be legal to me, but the rules of golf don't cover this scenario as far as I can see. 

Are players required to have at least two options when their ball is in a penalty area, according to the rules?

This situation is really bugging me and Google is silent!

Regards - Brendan

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

Yeah the course really should have a drop zone out there for that hole...

But in your circumstance i would guess what you've been doing is all you can do other than re-playing the shot. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There's no guarantee that any of the options available in the rules are actually available for an individual circumstance.  If there is no relief area available within 2 clublengths of the entry point AND not nearer the hole, then you do have to go back and use the stroke and distance option.  I agree with @Groucho Valentine, the club would do well to establish a drop zone, but unless they do, you only have one choice under the rules.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

3 hours ago, BrendanR said:

 I have been taking a drop right on the point of entry. It always rolls into the penalty area so I then place the ball right at the point of entry, as it is 'no nearer the hole' and within 2 club lengths. I take a stroke penalty as well of course.

 Is this legal? It seems to be legal to me, but the rules of golf don't cover this scenario as far as I can see.

If you truly have no point sideways that's not nearer the hole, you can't drop on the point of entry legally, no. You'd still be dropping in the penalty area, as dropping on the point of entry puts you IN the penalty area.

And, really, even with a "round" green, there are often spots that you can drop that are "no closer to the hole." For example:

Image%202019-06-06%20at%2010.38.13%20AM.

In that photo both the blue and pink "hole locations" intersect the edge of the penalty area a few times. You can see how there are areas where you could drop in those situations. (Assume the edge of the penalty area is the white of the rock wall.)

More here:

3 hours ago, BrendanR said:

Are players required to have at least two options when their ball is in a penalty area, according to the No.

I'm with the others: you should ask your course about establishing a drop zone.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Thanks guys!

Much appreciated, I will talk to the club about it and ask for a drop zone.

In the meantime I will hit a provisional ball the next time I skull it through that green...!

Ciao – Brendan

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...