Jump to content
IGNORED

Marker Doesn't Sign Card: Who Is in the Wrong?


Nail
 Share

Note: This thread is 816 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

4 hours ago, MacDutch said:

Where I live, you check the result first. Then the marker signs and gives the card back. This might differ for the USA, but thats how it works here in Spain. Played many tournaments over here. So yes, I will point a finger. Skunky move by the marker who knows this is possibly the best card (relative to handicap) the player ever carded. I would be rooting for him, if I was the marker. I would make sure my part would be done for sure.

 

What complete and utter nonsense. First of all, 42 points will rarely guarantee a win in a stableford competition in a grade where there are guys playing off 20..

Secondly - where is the "Skunky move"? That would be the case if the marker submitted the card before giving it to the player to check and sign.

Thirdly, when I have a decent score I check signatures several times - almost to an obsessive degree - and so should everybody.

There is not one single iota of blame upon anyone but the player. 

I'll tell you how this sort of stuff usually happens: A player gives an ALREADY SIGNED card to his marker on the first or second tee. The marker marks it, doesn't sign it and submits it. The player has stupidly assumed that the marker signed it.

There are absolutely no grey areas in the OP's dilemma in this thread. He is 100% wrong. What I find disturbing is tat the the player thought it wasn't his fault. On what possible basis?

1 hour ago, Nail said:

 

He still got cut two strokes though lol so he is now off 18 and he got no prize for his efforts 😂

Why? It shoud have been a DQ.

Edited by leftybutnotPM
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Moderator
4 minutes ago, leftybutnotPM said:

Why? It shoud have been a DQ.

I don't know the CONGU rules, but in the USGA areas, a player's score is still submitted for handicap in most situations where a DQ is warranted.  And with the "ratchet" system that CONGU uses, I could see his handicap being reduced by 2 strokes with such a good score.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

6 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

I don't know the CONGU rules, but in the USGA areas, a player's score is still submitted for handicap in most situations where a DQ is warranted.  And with the "ratchet" system that CONGU uses, I could see his handicap being reduced by 2 strokes with such a good score.

You are probably right -  I think this is to prevent people from manipulating their handicaps. An NCR can result in a handicap going down for low markers.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


23 hours ago, leftybutnotPM said:

What complete and utter nonsense. First of all, 42 points will rarely guarantee a win in a stableford competition in a grade where there are guys playing off 20..

Secondly - where is the "Skunky move"? That would be the case if the marker submitted the card before giving it to the player to check and sign.

Thirdly, when I have a decent score I check signatures several times - almost to an obsessive degree - and so should everybody.

There is not one single iota of blame upon anyone but the player. 

I'll tell you how this sort of stuff usually happens: A player gives an ALREADY SIGNED card to his marker on the first or second tee. The marker marks it, doesn't sign it and submits it. The player has stupidly assumed that the marker signed it.

There are absolutely no grey areas in the OP's dilemma in this thread. He is 100% wrong. What I find disturbing is tat the the player thought it wasn't his fault. On what possible basis?

Why? It shoud have been a DQ.

It was a DQ but the club still cut him, I assume because he played to a certain standard shooting an 85 so they cut him.

btw I’m the OP but not the player or the marker. I’d never make the mistake to not get a good score signed

23 hours ago, DaveP043 said:

I don't know the CONGU rules, but in the USGA areas, a player's score is still submitted for handicap in most situations where a DQ is warranted.  And with the "ratchet" system that CONGU uses, I could see his handicap being reduced by 2 strokes with such a good score.

Ya I think he was off 19.9 before and he shot 5 points over the competition standard scratch for the day so (5 x 0.3) 1.5 off his handicap is 18.4 so playing handicap goes from 20 to 18. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • iacas changed the title to Marker Doesn't Sign Card: Who Is in the Wrong?
Note: This thread is 816 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • What happened at the last Ryder cup when USA lost, you said your team didn't play to their potential. I call that double standards, but no problem for me I can wait for the next Ryder cup and see if Europe play well or not, and what will USA do. Either way it's game of fun and friendship with a little competition mixed in, I enjoyed it....
    • Under the definition that I am familiar with, yes. Links courses to me, and I believe this is a fairly strict definition, are as follows: 1.) Oceanside 2.) Sandy turf 3.) Rolling dunes 4.) Land is unfarmable. This is one of the most important pieces, as it is how golf really picked up steam. Because the turf is sandy, dune covered, and close to the ocean, it makes it unsuitable for agriculture. Rather than the land just sit there unused, let's make a game that can be played on said land. 5.) Trees are minimal. This is a course feature, as well as a natural one, because the variety of trees that can withstand sea-spray (salt) is low. 6.) Deep bunkering which is often smaller in area than what is seen on parklands courses. 7.) Plenty of acreage of the course is left "natural". Long uncut fescue and gorse are common, though not required.   The challenges on these courses lie in the land itself more than "manufactured" hazards. The wind, unpredictable bounces, severe bunkers, and natural areas are the course's defense, as opposed to on course water and trees. Many courses in North America have this idea going for them, but may not be seaside, or may not be in that unfarmable strip of land.  
    • Two years is a long freaking time, 12 of the top 21 being on ONE team is a LONG shot to happen again. That's just the odds, man. So how much do you want to bet? For all you know it might be some South African kid in college right now, or three Korn Ferry Tour players. Two years ago did you think Patrick Cantlay would be OWGR 4? Heck no. What were the OWGR rankings of the previous six U.S. Ryder Cup team members? 12 inside the top 21 is really rare. 18 holes of match play, in a match that wasn't remotely close to interesting for the American player, doesn't prove that Brandel Chamblee was wrong about how poor of a ball striker Ian Poulter is right now. This speaks to that: SG: Approach the Green | PGA TOUR Stats Strokes Gained | Greens in Regulation | Accuracy from Fairway | Accuracy from Rough | Scoring | Going for it | Holeouts, Other Oh, gee, 141st. Oh, maybe he's a good driver? SG: Off-the-Tee | PGA TOUR Stats Strokes Gained | Distance (All Drives) | Distance (Measured Drives) | Accuracy | Scoring | Other | Radar Nope, 133rd. Poulter is a poor ball striker. His record in this Ryder Cup was (backward): He won his singles match against Tony Finau, who withdrew from the Dunhill Links due to an ongoing health issue, 3&2. He was waxed with Rory McIlroy by DJ/Collin, 4&3. He was waxed by Cantlay and Schauffele, while playing with Rory again, 5&3. Thus, he was 1-2-0 for the week. 1-2-0 is the "best result of the European players and most of the USA players"? On what f***ing planet? Because if you are — as you clearly are — only talking about singles matches, then that's just really dumb. Like I said, a "terrible take." BTW, Poulter won 3&2. He played the 16th hole. JT won 4&3. Bryson won 3&2. Scottie beat Rahm (who is a significantly better ball striker than Ian Poulter) 4&3. Cantlay won his match 4&2. And Rory won 3&2, too. So that's five other people, three of which are Americans, who either matched or beat Poulter's singles match play scoring… Like I said, a terrible take.
    • It doesn't matter if the guy is perfect or the girl is prefect, as long as they are perfect for each other. Good Will Hunting  
    • I live in Scotland guys, if you do make it over, give me a shout, would gladly meet up for a round..! brendan
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. bandstan
      bandstan
      (51 years old)
    2. boobiemiles
      boobiemiles
      (30 years old)
    3. ButterCuts1372
      ButterCuts1372
      (36 years old)
    4. Dombaker
      Dombaker
      (25 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...