Jump to content
Nail

Marker Doesn't Sign Card: Who Is in the Wrong?

22 posts / 1324 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

4 hours ago, MacDutch said:

Where I live, you check the result first. Then the marker signs and gives the card back. This might differ for the USA, but thats how it works here in Spain. Played many tournaments over here. So yes, I will point a finger. Skunky move by the marker who knows this is possibly the best card (relative to handicap) the player ever carded. I would be rooting for him, if I was the marker. I would make sure my part would be done for sure.

 

What complete and utter nonsense. First of all, 42 points will rarely guarantee a win in a stableford competition in a grade where there are guys playing off 20..

Secondly - where is the "Skunky move"? That would be the case if the marker submitted the card before giving it to the player to check and sign.

Thirdly, when I have a decent score I check signatures several times - almost to an obsessive degree - and so should everybody.

There is not one single iota of blame upon anyone but the player. 

I'll tell you how this sort of stuff usually happens: A player gives an ALREADY SIGNED card to his marker on the first or second tee. The marker marks it, doesn't sign it and submits it. The player has stupidly assumed that the marker signed it.

There are absolutely no grey areas in the OP's dilemma in this thread. He is 100% wrong. What I find disturbing is tat the the player thought it wasn't his fault. On what possible basis?

1 hour ago, Nail said:

 

He still got cut two strokes though lol so he is now off 18 and he got no prize for his efforts 😂

Why? It shoud have been a DQ.

Edited by leftybutnotPM

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

4 minutes ago, leftybutnotPM said:

Why? It shoud have been a DQ.

I don't know the CONGU rules, but in the USGA areas, a player's score is still submitted for handicap in most situations where a DQ is warranted.  And with the "ratchet" system that CONGU uses, I could see his handicap being reduced by 2 strokes with such a good score.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

6 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

I don't know the CONGU rules, but in the USGA areas, a player's score is still submitted for handicap in most situations where a DQ is warranted.  And with the "ratchet" system that CONGU uses, I could see his handicap being reduced by 2 strokes with such a good score.

You are probably right -  I think this is to prevent people from manipulating their handicaps. An NCR can result in a handicap going down for low markers.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

23 hours ago, leftybutnotPM said:

What complete and utter nonsense. First of all, 42 points will rarely guarantee a win in a stableford competition in a grade where there are guys playing off 20..

Secondly - where is the "Skunky move"? That would be the case if the marker submitted the card before giving it to the player to check and sign.

Thirdly, when I have a decent score I check signatures several times - almost to an obsessive degree - and so should everybody.

There is not one single iota of blame upon anyone but the player. 

I'll tell you how this sort of stuff usually happens: A player gives an ALREADY SIGNED card to his marker on the first or second tee. The marker marks it, doesn't sign it and submits it. The player has stupidly assumed that the marker signed it.

There are absolutely no grey areas in the OP's dilemma in this thread. He is 100% wrong. What I find disturbing is tat the the player thought it wasn't his fault. On what possible basis?

Why? It shoud have been a DQ.

It was a DQ but the club still cut him, I assume because he played to a certain standard shooting an 85 so they cut him.

btw I’m the OP but not the player or the marker. I’d never make the mistake to not get a good score signed

23 hours ago, DaveP043 said:

I don't know the CONGU rules, but in the USGA areas, a player's score is still submitted for handicap in most situations where a DQ is warranted.  And with the "ratchet" system that CONGU uses, I could see his handicap being reduced by 2 strokes with such a good score.

Ya I think he was off 19.9 before and he shot 5 points over the competition standard scratch for the day so (5 x 0.3) 1.5 off his handicap is 18.4 so playing handicap goes from 20 to 18. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...