IGNORED

New Golfer

jaymc2007

Note: This thread is 732 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Looking to start golfing a little.  I am a teacher and a girls basketball coach.  I am golfing in a fundraiser for the boys basketball, kind of support the program kind of thing.

I have golfed very sparingly in the past.  But, looking to get into it a little.  What is a good place to find some beginner clubs that won't break down immediately and where do I find them?

I would go to a someplace like Dicks Sporting Goods or your local Pro Shop for advise. Dicks sells beginner clubs that will last and wont break the bank. You can also look at used clubs. I would talk to a Pro and get some good ideas first, maybe a lesson or two before you go out a play.

• Thumbs Up 1

If available in your area, you might want to try one of those 2nd stores that carry used sports equipment. 

Out here, one is called "Play It Again Sam's". Not sure what some of the other outlets are named. Check your phone book, or google for your area.

Also, does your school have a golf team? Coach?

Edited by Patch

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

You can find some great deals on used clubs on ebay.  I just bought a set of Titleist DCI 962 irons (3-PW) in very decent condition for $28 plus shipping.  They're no longer cutting edge technology but they are still a good set of clubs for not a lot of money.  You can always spend more later if you wish. 

Edited by Philco
  • Thumbs Up 1