Jump to content
Asheville

What May be Moved?

24 posts / 1509 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

16 minutes ago, Club Rat said:

Well Damnit, I didn't read enough, now I see how it applies.
I took this as "Free Relief" from loose impediments...

John, when is there "free relief" from loose impediments?

16 minutes ago, Club Rat said:

I will usually announce my intention to Identify my ball and mark it.

That's scummy, and I'd call you out on that if you're doing that regularly.

16 minutes ago, Club Rat said:

Then is it OK to remove any loose objects before replacing my ball back to it's original position?

See 15.1a Exception 1:


Exception 1 – Removing Loose Impediment Where Ball Must Be Replaced: Before replacing a ball that was lifted or moved from anywhere except the putting green:

  • A player must not deliberately remove a loose impediment that, if moved when the ball was at rest, would have been likely to have caused the ball to move.

  • If the player does so, he or she gets one penalty stroke, but the removed loose impediment does not need to be replaced.

This exception applies both during a round and while play is stopped under Rule 5.7a. It does not apply to a loose impediment that is removed as a result of marking the spot of a ball, or lifting, moving or replacing a ball or causing a ball to move.


P.S. To iterate upon the "announce my intention to identify a ball," the rule says "If a ball might be a player’s ball but cannot be identified as it lies:". That's why it's scummy - it's scummy to put your hands on your ball under the false pretense that it's to identify it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

6 hours ago, Club Rat said:

Well Damnit, I didn't read enough, now I see how it applies.
I took this as "Free Relief" from loose impediments...

Another Question. When I need to move a loose impediment?
I will usually announce my intention to Identify my ball and mark it.
Then is it OK to remove any loose objects before replacing my ball back to it's original position?

The other exception to the rule: Preferred lies. Some areas have extended PL seasons. Check your calendar. As soon as the course changes to "summer rules" you're out of luck.

Spoiler

DDA

 

Edited by DrvFrShow

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

10 hours ago, iacas said:

John seems to have gotten himself turned around somewhere.

Make sure, @fredf, when you try to tag someone that you actually do it. @Club Rat - you have to choose their name from the small popup. https://thesandtrap.com/how-to/mention-members

Yes, I tried that and when that black box with the name inside came up I couldn't get my cursor to reappear in the writing area - it was all frozen. And then I repeated it and had the same experience, so I'm not sure what I was doing wrong. Perhaps if I write the message first and then go back to the top and put the @name in?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I had clicked the name but it all froze up. But I'm sure it has worked for me in the past. I'm thinking it's a plot by Microsoft to force me off my Windows 7 machine.😖

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...