Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 1455 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Hello all.

I searched this topic and found a 1900 day old post that was not quite on topic. The post more discussed about backswing and not fore swing. I was at a Pro event a few years back and a player tried getting a free drop by switching lefty and then claiming he would be striking the tree on his fore swing creating a dangerous condition. Rule official denied his claim and he had to pitch out right handed. 

Similar issue came up with me the other day. I am right handed and tried cutting a corner on 18. Ended up along side a tree growing horizontally and had I taken a full swing at it would have wrapped the club across the tree base. The first half of the swing was unobstructed. Hitting the ball would be clean. But the fore swing was taking on a tree trunk. 

Was there an option similar to what the pro was requesting for free relief? This was to keep a round in the 70's after a year and a half of not playing. So sort of a key shot in the round. Hated ending up there but it was what it was.

I can't find anything concerning "hazardous swing" or "hazardous conditions". Anyone have input on this?

Thanks

G- 


Posted (edited)

3) No Relief When Clearly Unreasonable to Play Ball. There is no relief under Rule 16.1:
    •    When playing the ball as it lies would be clearly unreasonable because of something other than an abnormal course condition (such as when a player is standing in temporary water or on an immovable obstruction but would be unable to make a stroke because of where the ball lies in a bush), or 
    •    When interference exists only because a player chooses a club, type of stance or swing or direction of play that is clearly unreasonable for the circumstance.

 

 

Edited by Vinsk

:ping: G25 Driver Stiff :ping: G20 3W, 5W :ping: S55 4-W (aerotech steel fiber 110g shafts) :ping: Tour Wedges 50*, 54*, 58* :nike: Method Putter Floating clubs: :edel: 54* trapper wedge

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted

You don't get relief if you might strike a tree.

The pro didn't get relief, nor would you have. A tree is not a "dangerous condition" at all in this case. Maybe if you were being asked to play a shot from under a tree that appeared to be minutes from collapsing/falling down, you might get relief. But for striking a tree purely by choice? You hit it there. No relief.

  • Informative 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
14 minutes ago, iacas said:

You don't get relief if you might strike a tree.

The pro didn't get relief, nor would you have. A tree is not a "dangerous condition" at all in this case. Maybe if you were being asked to play a shot from under a tree that appeared to be minutes from collapsing/falling down, you might get relief. But for striking a tree purely by choice? You hit it there. No relief.

Thanks. I chose not to take relief and at least I know I didn't miss an opportunity I could have used.

G-

35 minutes ago, Vinsk said:

3) No Relief When Clearly Unreasonable to Play Ball. There is no relief under Rule 16.1:
    •    When playing the ball as it lies would be clearly unreasonable because of something other than an abnormal course condition (such as when a player is standing in temporary water or on an immovable obstruction but would be unable to make a stroke because of where the ball lies in a bush), or 
    •    When interference exists only because a player chooses a club, type of stance or swing or direction of play that is clearly unreasonable for the circumstance.

 

 

Thanks for the reference.

I would have been a bit confused by the "clearly unreasonable" statement for my situation. The pro, I get it. trying to swing lefty creates an unreasonable swing situation. But for me it was a right handed swing, I am right handed, was aiming in the direction of getting back into the fairway, and the tree was in the fore swing, so how does the unreasonable part come into it? Would it be that knowing you are going to hit the tree be what makes it an unreasonable situation?
G-

  • Like 1

  • Administrator
Posted
27 minutes ago, march11934 said:

I would have been a bit confused by the "clearly unreasonable" statement for my situation.

That doesn't apply to your situation.

That's when someone tries to take relief by playing in a direction that's unreasonable, or adopting a stance they don't need to adopt, etc. in order to get relief for a situation from which you get relief (like a cart path or another obstruction or something else).

You don't get relief from a tree. It's not a "dangerous situation," unless like I said it's about to fall over and crush you or something.

And now that I think about it, I don't even know if you'd get relief from a tree about to fall over, because it's not a dangerous animal condition:

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr&section=rule&rulenum=16&subrulenum=2

The rules don't allow relief for "dangerous conditions." They allow relief for a dangerous animal condition.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
36 minutes ago, iacas said:

That doesn't apply to your situation.

That's when someone tries to take relief by playing in a direction that's unreasonable, or adopting a stance they don't need to adopt, etc. in order to get relief for a situation from which you get relief (like a cart path or another obstruction or something else).

You don't get relief from a tree. It's not a "dangerous situation," unless like I said it's about to fall over and crush you or something.

And now that I think about it, I don't even know if you'd get relief from a tree about to fall over, because it's not a dangerous animal condition:

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr&section=rule&rulenum=16&subrulenum=2

The rules don't allow relief for "dangerous conditions." They allow relief for a dangerous animal condition.

Thanks for the clarification. 

G-


Posted
On 11/29/2021 at 4:53 PM, iacas said:

That doesn't apply to your situation.

That's when someone tries to take relief by playing in a direction that's unreasonable, or adopting a stance they don't need to adopt, etc. in order to get relief for a situation from which you get relief (like a cart path or another obstruction or something else).

You don't get relief from a tree. It's not a "dangerous situation," unless like I said it's about to fall over and crush you or something.

And now that I think about it, I don't even know if you'd get relief from a tree about to fall over, because it's not a dangerous animal condition:

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr&section=rule&rulenum=16&subrulenum=2

The rules don't allow relief for "dangerous conditions." They allow relief for a dangerous animal condition.

Last year some serious wind took down a tree and it was laying horizontally. Played that course a lot, for golf reasons, that day was the first time I ever hit one anywhere near that tree. Because of course it was.  It was under the fallen trunk/branches so much that even after taking an unplayable and relief I had no swing. It felt really dirty but the guy I was playing with said the fallen tree didn't have any option for free relief and since I had not realized it was under the tree from the box, and did not want to do the walk of shame on the first tee with multiple groups waiting...ugh. Sometimes the rules feel penal, but then I remember I am the one who made the sub-optimal swing in the first place. 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted
13 minutes ago, darthweasel said:

Last year some serious wind took down a tree and it was laying horizontally. Played that course a lot, for golf reasons, that day was the first time I ever hit one anywhere near that tree. Because of course it was.  It was under the fallen trunk/branches so much that even after taking an unplayable and relief I had no swing. It felt really dirty but the guy I was playing with said the fallen tree didn't have any option for free relief and since I had not realized it was under the tree from the box, and did not want to do the walk of shame on the first tee with multiple groups waiting...ugh. Sometimes the rules feel penal, but then I remember I am the one who made the sub-optimal swing in the first place. 

This is a situation in which the Committee could have (should have?) defined the downed tree as GUR, in which case you would have been able to take free relief.  In my group of friends, we'd probably play it as GUR in a casual game.  Otherwise, a completely detached fallen tree is a loose impediment, you could have moved it (if possible) or even broken off part of it in order to make a swing.  If its still attached to the roots, you simply cannot do anything about it.

But a question, in taking Unplayable Ball relief, couldn't you have gone back on the line and found a place where you could swing?  You don't have to take Lateral Relief and stay within 2 clublengths.

  • Informative 1

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
6 hours ago, DaveP043 said:

This is a situation in which the Committee could have (should have?) defined the downed tree as GUR, in which case you would have been able to take free relief.  In my group of friends, we'd probably play it as GUR in a casual game.  Otherwise, a completely detached fallen tree is a loose impediment, you could have moved it (if possible) or even broken off part of it in order to make a swing.  If its still attached to the roots, you simply cannot do anything about it.

But a question, in taking Unplayable Ball relief, couldn't you have gone back on the line and found a place where you could swing?  You don't have to take Lateral Relief and stay within 2 clublengths.

roots were indeed still attached.  So many trees fell in that windstorm across the state that tree removal services were...not fast. And I likely could have  gone back on a line but have not studied the rules nearly well enough so did not know I had that option. Been trying to frequent the rules section on these forums to learn them better as I actually have been playing in a lot of Golfs Guys tournaments so stuff like that matters. Main problem I run into is I will see some weird edge case people talk about, and not encounter it myself for months and then try to remember what was said about it (and this is likely not an edge case, just me being ignorant. I had asked if it counted as GUR but should have asked about options other than unplayable which if I recall is what he said was my option).

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
On 12/1/2021 at 1:15 PM, darthweasel said:

... I had asked if it counted as GUR but should have asked about options other than unplayable which if I recall is what he said was my option).

Back on line is one of the relief options for unplayable. See rule 19. 

It was not GUR, so unplayable was your only option. 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • 4 weeks later...
Posted

so the gur would be no stroke penalty if there was a clearly defined area around the tree marked by the course super??....Asking for a friend.

whats In the bag. 
Callaway epic max LS
Cobra Fmax 3,5 woods 
Titleist 4 hybrid 
5,6,7,8,9,pw,S,gap,60 cobra ltdx 
sabertooth putter


Posted
9 hours ago, rocket23 said:

so the gur would be no stroke penalty if there was a clearly defined area around the tree marked by the course super??....Asking for a friend.

yep

  • Thumbs Up 1
  • Informative 1

Note: This thread is 1455 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • When you've been teaching golf as long as I have, you're going to find that you can teach some things better than you previously had, and you're probably going to find some things that you taught incorrectly. I don't see that as a bad thing — what would be worse is refusing to adapt and grow given new information. I've always said that my goal with my instruction isn't to be right, but it's to get things right. To that end, I'm about five years late in issuing a public proclamation on something… When I first got my GEARS system, I immediately looked at the golf swings of the dozens and dozens of Tour players for which I suddenly had full 3D data. I created a huge spreadsheet showing how their bodies moved, how the club moved, at various points in the swing. I mapped knee and elbow angles, hand speeds, shoulder turns and pelvis turns… etc. I re-considered what I thought I knew about the golf swing as performed by the best players. One of those things dated back to the earliest days: that you extend (I never taught "straighten" and would avoid using that word unless in the context of saying "don't fully straighten") the trail knee/leg in the backswing. I was mislead by 2D photos from less-than-ideal camera angles — the trail leg rotates a bit during the backswing, and so when observing trail knee flex should also use a camera that moves to stay perpendicular to the plane of the ankle/knee/hip joint. We have at least two topics here on this (here and here; both of which I'll be updating after publishing this) where @mvmac and I advise golfers to extend the trail knee. Learning that this was not right is one of the reasons I'm glad to have a 3D system, as most golfers generally preserve the trail knee flex throughout the backswing. Data Here's a video showing an iron and a driver of someone who has won the career slam: Here's what the graph of his right knee flex looks like. The solid lines I've positioned at the top of the backswing (GEARS aligns both swings at impact, the dashed line). Address is to the right, of course, and the graph shows knee flex from the two swings above. The data (17.56° and 23.20°) shows where this player is in both swings (orange being the yellow iron swing, pink the blue driver swing). You can see that this golfer extends his trail knee 2-3°… before bending it even more than that through the late backswing and early downswing. Months ago I created a quick Instagram video showing the trail knee flex in the backswing of several players (see the top for the larger number): Erik J. Barzeski (@iacas) • Instagram reel GEARS shares expert advice on golf swing technique, focusing on the critical backswing phase. Tour winners and major champions reveal the key to a precise and powerful swing, highlighting the importance of... Here are a few more graphs. Two LIV players and major champions: Two PGA Tour winners: Two women's #1 ranked players: Two more PGA Tour winners (one a major champ): Two former #1s, the left one being a woman, the right a man, with a driver: Two more PGA Tour players: You'll notice a trend: they almost all maintain roughly the same flex throughout their backswing and downswing. The Issues with Extending the Trail Knee You can play good golf extending (again, not "straightening") the trail knee. Some Tour players do. But, as with many things, if 95 out of 100 Tour players do it, you're most likely better off doing similarly to what they do. So, what are the issues with extending the trail knee in the backswing? To list a few: Pelvic Depth and Rotation Quality Suffers When the trail knee extends, the trail leg often acts like an axle on the backswing, with the pelvis rotating around the leg and the trail hip joint. This prevents the trail side from gaining depth, as is needed to keep the pelvis center from thrusting toward the ball. Most of the "early extension" (thrust) that I see occurs during the backswing. Encourages Early Extension (Thrust) Patterns When you've thrust and turned around the trail hip joint in the backswing, you often thrust a bit more in the downswing as the direction your pelvis is oriented is forward and "out" (to the right for a righty). Your trail leg can abduct to push you forward, but "forward" when your pelvis is turned like that is in the "thrust" direction. Additionally, the trail knee "breaking" again at the start of the downswing often jumps the trail hip out toward the ball a bit too much or too quickly. While the trail hip does move in that direction, if it's too fast or too much, it can prevent the lead side hip from getting "back" at the right rate, or at a rate commensurate with the trail hip to keep the pelvis center from thrusting. Disrupts the Pressure Shift/Transition When the trail leg extends too much, it often can't "push" forward normally. The forward push begins much earlier than forward motion begins — pushing forward begins as early as about P1.5 to P2 in the swings of most good golfers. It can push forward by abducting, again, but that's a weaker movement that shoves the pelvis forward (toward the target) and turns it more than it generally should (see the next point). Limits Internal Rotation of the Trail Hip Internal rotation of the trail hip is a sort of "limiter" on the backswing. I have seen many golfers on GEARS whose trail knee extends, whose pelvis shifts forward (toward the target), and who turn over 50°, 60°, and rarely but not never, over 70° in the backswing. If you turn 60° in the backswing, it's going to be almost impossible to get "open enough" in the downswing to arrive at a good impact position. Swaying/Lateral Motion Occasionally a golfer who extends the trail knee too much will shift back too far, but more often the issue is that the golfer will shift forward too early in the backswing (sometimes even immediately to begin the backswing), leaving them "stuck forward" to begin the downswing. They'll push forward, stop, and have to restart around P4, disrupting the smooth sequence often seen in the game's best players. Other Bits… Reduces ground reaction force potential, compromises spine inclination and posture, makes transition sequencing harder, increases stress on the trail knee and lower back… In short… It's not athletic. We don't do many athletic things with "straight" or very extended legs (unless it's the end of the action, like a jump or a big push off like a step in a running motion).
    • Day 135 12-25 Wide backswing to wide downswing drill. Recorder and used mirror. 
    • Day 6 - 2025-12-25 10 minutes of swing work on the mat and net. Focus on turn and weight shift.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.