After many years of playing golf I finally understood the importance of "keep a steady head". It is definitely possible to shift your weight to your left foot without moving your head. It's the only way to ensure precision at impact.
Paula Creamer bailed on a stroke but still hit the ball, and she was allowed to replay it, but I think even that one was perhaps handled incorrectly (it was a long time ago, and she just topped it, she didn't actually miss). I will also say that if you intentionally miss (and a PGA Tour player missing a driver by six inches is an intentional miss), it's not a stroke.
The rules definition currently is: "The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball." It used to say the stroke had to be made "with the intention to hit the ball" and included language for when/if "a player checks his swing" or something like that.
I think the first and second rules officials tried to apply 13.1d - ball at rest accidentally moved (on a putting green), which is to replace and not count the stroke.
But it wasn't accidental. That he couldn't stop in time isn't an "accident." It's just an aborted swing that he didn't abort in time.
The stroke should have counted.
Officials are humans too.
Thomas claimed he didn’t intend to make a stroke. But he did. Perhaps he didn’t mean to complete the stroke. Somewhat like when Kevin Na would bail out of his drive and swing way over the ball and say he wasn’t making an intentional stroke. Your thoughts?
I think I agree with the announcer. He was distracted apparently, but he made a stroke and hit the ball. Shouldn’t have been given a re-hit.