IGNORED

I'm Afraid to Use Iron

hoonnirun
Note: This thread is 777 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

For the last couple rounds I found myself using 5 hybrid more and more. Yesterday I got my best score of 103, even at distance I can get with 5-6 iron, I op to use 5 hybrid. The problem is I still cannot control distance with hybrid (155-180yds) and the roll, I just swing as far as I can or take it easy with shorter distance.
With 5 or even 6 iron I only occasionally got a good hit even on the fairway, but hybrid even a bad hit I still can manage some yards. I started to hesitate even with my 7 iron.
I am a short driver 180-200 yds so it always left me with longer distance for second shot. 
Should I be looking more into hybrid set?

Hi, just my opinion, I think you need to find a way to practice and learn to hit your irons. It's not at all unreasonable to expect that someone who desires to become a better player learn to hit 5-iron. Especially since you said that even a 7-iron is sometimes a struggle, I think you need to fix that situation rather then changing clubs (to a hybrid set). 

How's your 9-iron? Start there?

Mike

Driver: TM Sim2 9* Ventus Black, M5 9* Kuro Kage
Fwy: TM SLDR 3W, 5W;    Hybrid: TM M1 4 Hybrid
Irons: TM Tour Preferred MC 2014
Wedges: TM Tour Preferred, 52 @ 51*, 56
Putter: Ping Scottsdale TR Anser 2 or Odyssey Rossie

It isn't the hours that you put in at practice that count. It's the way you spend those minutes. -- tony lema

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

• iacas changed the title to I'm Afraid to Use Iron

@hoonnirun Congratulations on the personal best!  Hope you have many more to come, and break that 100 mark sometime soon.