Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 4760 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
Not sure if this the right place for the post...

I scored a 7 on a par 4 today.
I was rusty....
First tee'd ball, drove into pond directly in front of tee.
Second re'teed and drove a hook into OB to the left.
Third retee drove the ball onto the green.
2 putt.

Is this a triple bogey?

Posted
Are you suppose to "re-tee" after the first ball went into the water? aren't you suppose to drop just in front of it? i'm not a rule expert by any means

Posted
Thats what im unsure of, so far Ive found that it can be reteed, the retee is a stroke.

So my next drive was my 3rd stroke. Then the next retee was another stroke then 3rd drive was my 5th stroke.

Posted
If it was your tee shot that went into the water,then you have the option of playing again from the tee if that seems to be the most reasonable course of action. IN this case you did everything correctly and scored a 7.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
I think you can hit a provisional? Cant you? I am sure a rule expert will be here soon..

Live, Breath, Golf.
My Home
FT-3 8.5* Driver
X22's
2i Hybrid 3i Hybrid 55* Wedge 60* Wedge PutterWhen Tiger puts spin on the ball, the ball does not hit the green and then spin back, the ball hits the green and the world spins forward.


Posted
Yeah, but after the second, I didn't think you can hit yet another off the tee. I thought you would have to drop.

Live, Breath, Golf.
My Home
FT-3 8.5* Driver
X22's
2i Hybrid 3i Hybrid 55* Wedge 60* Wedge PutterWhen Tiger puts spin on the ball, the ball does not hit the green and then spin back, the ball hits the green and the world spins forward.


Posted

When a ball enters a hazard you can either play another from the original position or take a drop at the point it last entered the hazard. So you were right to do what you did. It may have been more of an advantage to take a drop where it entered the hazard depending on how far infront of the tee box the hazard started. So you played the third shot (including penatly for hitting into hazard) out of bounds then tee'd again for your fifth. Hit onto green and two putted for a 7. You did everything by the rules. Only difference you could have done was take a drop where ball entered the hazard if you thought that would have been more of an advantage. See below

26-1. Relief for Ball in Water Hazard It is a question of fact whether a ball that has not been found after having been struck toward a water hazard is in the hazard. In order to apply this Rule, it must be known or virtually certain that the ball is in the hazard. In the absence of such knowledge or certainty, the player must proceed under Rule 27-1. If a ball is in a water hazard or if it is known or virtually certain that a ball that has not been found is in a water hazard (whether the ball lies in water or not), the player may under penalty of one stroke: a. Play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5), or b. Drop a ball behind the water hazard, keeping the point at which the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the water hazard the ball may be dropped; or c. As additional options available only if the ball last crossed the margin of a lateral water hazard, drop a ball outside the water hazard within two club-lengths of and not nearer the hole than (i) the point where the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard or (ii) a point on the opposite margin of the water hazard equidistant from the hole. When proceeding under this Rule, the player may lift and clean his ball or substitute a ball.

Driver: :tmade: R1 S 10 degree Wood: :ping: G20 3W Hybrid: :nike:Covert Pro 3H
Irons: :tmade: Rocketbladez Tour 4i-AW KBS S SW: :cleveland: CG15 54 degree
LW: :cleveland: CG15 58 degree Putter: :tmade: Corza Ghost Ball: :tmade: Penta


Posted
Yeah, but after the second, I didn't think you can hit yet another off the tee. I thought you would have to drop.

As long as they were all played from the tee, then he can keep hitting from the tee till hell freezes over or until he gets one in play. His procedure was spot on. No more discussion needed.

He would have to drop if the ball had been played from anyplace other than the tee.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • 2 years later...
Posted
Not sure if this the right place for the post... I scored a 7 on a par 4 today. I was rusty.... First tee'd ball, drove into pond directly in front of tee. Second re'teed and drove a hook into OB to the left. Third retee drove the ball onto the green. 2 putt. Is this a triple bogey?

You drove the par 4 green on your third attempt? I'd say considering your first 2 shots both resulted in loss of stroke and distance, that's a pretty decent triple bogey.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Originally Posted by Colinb913

I think you can hit a provisional? Cant you? I am sure a rule expert will be here soon..

Not for the shot into the water hazard.  Most misunderstood rule in golf.  Provisionals are for balls lost or out-of-bounds, not for balls known or virtually certain to be in a hazard.

But, it sounds like he observed his ball entering the hazard, and then going out of bounds.  So there was no reason for a provisional in the second case either.


Posted

Why in the world would people who don't have the slightest idea of what the rules are answer a rules question and then excuse themselves by saying they aren't a rules expert?  The situations in the OP's question do not require a rules expert.  He got a 7.  Yes you can re-tee a second, third, fourth time if the situation warrants it.  You can re-tee your ball, of you choose, any time you hit into a water hazard off the tee.  You can hit a provisional if you think the ball is OB (or lost, but that didn't come up in the OP) but NOT if you think the ball is lost in a water hazard.  These are basic rules, and while it is OK to not know these things is it just weird to try to answer a rules question when you DON'T know these things.

  • Upvote 1

But then again, what the hell do I know?

Rich - in name only

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Originally Posted by Colinb913

I think you can hit a provisional? Cant you? I am sure a rule expert will be here soon..

You can't play a provisional if you ball is in a water hazard.

You must play another ball under penalty of one stroke using the provisions of Rule 26.

If your ball is OOB you must play another ball under Rule 27-1b with a penalty of one stroke.


Posted

Probably should have left this thread alone.   Just about all the posters, including the OP, have not posted in a couple of years......so they're probably not listening anymore.

Regards,

John

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Originally Posted by Dormie1360

Probably should have left this thread alone.   Just about all the posters, including the OP, have not posted in a couple of years......so they're probably not listening anymore.

You are right - I never even noticed that.

But then again, what the hell do I know?

Rich - in name only

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 4760 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.