• Announcements

    • iacas

      Visit FlagstickRule.com   03/13/2017

      Visit the site flagstickrule.com to read about and sign a petition for the USGA/R&A regarding the one terrible rule in the proposed "modernized" rules for 2019.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
steelernation

Rules question Help

15 posts in this topic

Not sure if this the right place for the post...

I scored a 7 on a par 4 today.
I was rusty....
First tee'd ball, drove into pond directly in front of tee.
Second re'teed and drove a hook into OB to the left.
Third retee drove the ball onto the green.
2 putt.

Is this a triple bogey?
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Are you suppose to "re-tee" after the first ball went into the water? aren't you suppose to drop just in front of it? i'm not a rule expert by any means
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thats what im unsure of, so far Ive found that it can be reteed, the retee is a stroke.

So my next drive was my 3rd stroke. Then the next retee was another stroke then 3rd drive was my 5th stroke.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If it was your tee shot that went into the water,then you have the option of playing again from the tee if that seems to be the most reasonable course of action. IN this case you did everything correctly and scored a 7.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I think you can hit a provisional? Cant you? I am sure a rule expert will be here soon..
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, but after the second, I didn't think you can hit yet another off the tee. I thought you would have to drop.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When a ball enters a hazard you can either play another from the original position or take a drop at the point it last entered the hazard. So you were right to do what you did. It may have been more of an advantage to take a drop where it entered the hazard depending on how far infront of the tee box the hazard started. So you played the third shot (including penatly for hitting into hazard) out of bounds then tee'd again for your fifth. Hit onto green and two putted for a 7. You did everything by the rules. Only difference you could have done was take a drop where ball entered the hazard if you thought that would have been more of an advantage. See below

26-1. Relief for Ball in Water Hazard It is a question of fact whether a ball that has not been found after having been struck toward a water hazard is in the hazard. In order to apply this Rule, it must be known or virtually certain that the ball is in the hazard. In the absence of such knowledge or certainty, the player must proceed under Rule 27-1. If a ball is in a water hazard or if it is known or virtually certain that a ball that has not been found is in a water hazard (whether the ball lies in water or not), the player may under penalty of one stroke: a. Play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5), or b. Drop a ball behind the water hazard, keeping the point at which the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the water hazard the ball may be dropped; or c. As additional options available only if the ball last crossed the margin of a lateral water hazard, drop a ball outside the water hazard within two club-lengths of and not nearer the hole than (i) the point where the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard or (ii) a point on the opposite margin of the water hazard equidistant from the hole. When proceeding under this Rule, the player may lift and clean his ball or substitute a ball.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, but after the second, I didn't think you can hit yet another off the tee. I thought you would have to drop.

As long as they were all played from the tee, then he can keep hitting from the tee till hell freezes over or until he gets one in play. His procedure was spot on. No more discussion needed.

He would have to drop if the ball had been played from anyplace other than the tee.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Not sure if this the right place for the post... I scored a 7 on a par 4 today. I was rusty.... First tee'd ball, drove into pond directly in front of tee. Second re'teed and drove a hook into OB to the left. Third retee drove the ball onto the green. 2 putt. Is this a triple bogey?

You drove the par 4 green on your third attempt? I'd say considering your first 2 shots both resulted in loss of stroke and distance, that's a pretty decent triple bogey.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Colinb913

I think you can hit a provisional? Cant you? I am sure a rule expert will be here soon..

Not for the shot into the water hazard.  Most misunderstood rule in golf.  Provisionals are for balls lost or out-of-bounds, not for balls known or virtually certain to be in a hazard.

But, it sounds like he observed his ball entering the hazard, and then going out of bounds.  So there was no reason for a provisional in the second case either.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Why in the world would people who don't have the slightest idea of what the rules are answer a rules question and then excuse themselves by saying they aren't a rules expert?  The situations in the OP's question do not require a rules expert.  He got a 7.  Yes you can re-tee a second, third, fourth time if the situation warrants it.  You can re-tee your ball, of you choose, any time you hit into a water hazard off the tee.  You can hit a provisional if you think the ball is OB (or lost, but that didn't come up in the OP) but NOT if you think the ball is lost in a water hazard.  These are basic rules, and while it is OK to not know these things is it just weird to try to answer a rules question when you DON'T know these things.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Colinb913

I think you can hit a provisional? Cant you? I am sure a rule expert will be here soon..

You can't play a provisional if you ball is in a water hazard.

You must play another ball under penalty of one stroke using the provisions of Rule 26.

If your ball is OOB you must play another ball under Rule 27-1b with a penalty of one stroke.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Probably should have left this thread alone.   Just about all the posters, including the OP, have not posted in a couple of years......so they're probably not listening anymore.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Dormie1360

Probably should have left this thread alone.   Just about all the posters, including the OP, have not posted in a couple of years......so they're probably not listening anymore.

You are right - I never even noticed that.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    Leupold Golf
    Snell Golf
    Talamore Golf Resort
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • Which range in the US, the piece doesn't say. Trackman Range is basically setting up multiple radars, 3 for example, so that it can provide numbers for a range of a given length, like 130 yards in the example here and everyone on that range in selected spots basically has radar. Here's the piece that talks about the setup some more plus putting. The new ability to measure putt related data is interesting as well, wonder what it'll add in addition to SAM Puttlab. 
    • Well,  you said for most people,  and I do not have a large sample size to draw from in my own experience in golf so... I draw from my own personal experience.    As a player there was a time when I wanted to change the shape of my swing very badly in a certain way.  I have found that when I tried to do that and hit a ball at the same time it was too much for my brain and I would find contact with the ball over making the change or the change I saw on video would be miniscule if present at all.  I found though that if I removed the ball I was able to make changes.  Now,  obviously this was making an air swing that might not even hit a ball on the ground.  No accuracy,  but that's the point!  Free the brain from having to put clubhead on ball for a minute and focus on something else to harness it a bit!  I removed all intention of a precise strike or clubface control by doing this.  I am talking now seriously make a swing or two look at video...most times exaggerate the move even more...look at video.  Repeat repeat repeat.   Same exact video angle all the time!   This is not a fast process I am just explaining what I was doing.  Backyard was perfect for this feel vs real experimentation feedback loop I was working on.  The only purpose of this was to develop a way I could learn to somewhat repeat what I was looking for.  Stage two would be targeting a tuft of grass and doing it again video.  Stage three would be maybe going out to the range and like you said rehearsing a few and then bringing in the ball and striking it. For me going out and shanking and slicing a bucket of balls working on a change costs money and it's hard to convince myself it's a success regardless of what I see on video.  I've done it several times. So,  before I did the whole air swing thing I hit many buckets and basically it was not effective at anything except maybe excercise and grooving compensations to the point I built myself a nice yip impact block on full swings.  Yes I admit at first I thought I could beat golf by athletic ability alone like every moron high cap that beats balls ingraining moves that need to be eliminated if they are ever to improve.  Without a couple simple workable concepts imo hitting balls is really the worst thing to do for a relatively inexperienced player.  So,  that's my take. For background info on me I played tennis in college and it was sport of focus from maybe sixth grade on and I took proper instruction with one coach for quite a while.  I feel I maximized my potential there.  Often in college I would surf in the morning early (skipping class obviously) and then for the afternoon travel for matches and play my singles and a doubles match.  My coach seriously used to ask me if I surfed that day because he said I played better when I did! I have a lot of experience in teaching athletics of various sorts  including surfing and soccer and I have been told many many times by many people that I have a natural affinity for teaching in a minimalistic simple fashion.  I succeeded in many ways in athletics but for me it was always a personal focus on technique that led to success.  Growing up I could never jump high or run very fast or lift heavy weights,  but I developed a pretty good jump shot in hoops.   I could kick a ball far and score goals in soccer. I am just not one of those naturally athletic fearless types who as a kid could jump their bike real huge or Ollie a skateboard a couple feet into the air or do a tuck flip off a diving board into a pool without thinking a bit how they did it.  I can identify those types and imo there's something happening there most of the rest of us ain't got!  Sure I could flip but it was an extended body flop of sorts lol.  In tennis I got decent,  but it was from good instruction,  good practice, an absolute ton of hours of hard work,  and if I might say so very good technique.  In golf I can't break par so I don't really ever bother people in swing threads unless I can speak from personal experience.  I realize I am not qualified to develop a swing to say a par shooter,  so I don't try to.   I think I might have some thoughts relative to some though.  Sorry for boring those who have read this but I must say I value my time spent on this site highly;  most sites are crud these days filled with Internet warrior liars who don't offer much true Quality.        
    • Yeah, I dunno about any of that. There were almost 150 women playing in this tournament (28*5, right?), no doubt many of them using the restroom during a round, yet only two used a cart to get there. 
    • I agree.  It's really pretty simple, and needn't be over complicated.    
    • I've been doing Cross fit since 2006.  Back then our gym was just an athletic training facility.  Trained college teams, sport specific training etc...  When Cross fit became the rage a few years ago we did hybrid classes and now our gym is Cross fit but still mixes in athletic training. It's called Crossfit Ares in Massachusetts.   I love it....Being there over 10 years is proof.  I was never good at working out on my own so the small classes, having an instructor plus the classmates make it fun and competitive. Very good for my game... Why?...well I'm 55 and have not lost any yardage anywhere.  In fact I hit it further.  swing speed is at 115 mph.  No flexibility issues, core strength and over all strength is up.  I'm in better shape now than 20 years ago.  Who would have thought at 55 I'd be doing 36" box jumps on one leg...and I'm 5'5" 142 lbs.  I have no problem beating the 25 year olds in sprints, suicides, 3 cone agility...  Legless rope climbs, Donkey Kong rope climbs...I owe it all to the trainers.   Like anything, you have to be smart about training.  Shoulders and rotator cuffs, knees...just have to watch what I do for weight.  In Cross fit there is a prescribed men's and women's weight for the WOD.  Most times I go in the middle when picking a weight...sometimes the woman's weight does me fine.  Body weight exercises like pushups, pullhps I crush everyone.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Golfgirl10543
      Golfgirl10543
      (43 years old)
    2. jkettman
      jkettman
      (28 years old)
    3. old man1953
      old man1953
      (64 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon