Jump to content
IGNORED

Rules Question: Relief from cart path


Note: This thread is 3643 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts



Originally Posted by zeg

My approach, to save time, is to choose a drop point conservatively so that I can be sure I'm compliant even if I don't estimate accurately.  If there's a good lie that's clearly less than half a club length away from the area where the NPOR would be, then you only need to estimate it to half a club length to be sure you're in a legal spot for the drop.

If there's nasty turf I want to avoid or I'm trying to get away from a slope, then I'll be more careful and start marking locations to be sure I drop legally, but it's somewhat rare for that to be needed.


Sometimes the most important measurement can be in determining the nearest point of relief.  It is not always obvious from where the ball lies on a cart path or in ground under repair.  I've even seen it where there were 3 possibilities from GUR which were all within a foot of each other in distance, but because of the size and shape of the GUR, were separated by more than 10 feet in position.  Only one was actually the correct spot, and playing from the wrong one would result in a minimum of a 2 stroke penalty.  If dropping in the the wrong place took tree out of play, or otherwise gave the player a significant advantage, then it could result in disqualification.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • 2 weeks later...


Originally Posted by Fourputt

Not true.  You have to play the stroke as you would normally do it if the obstruction were not there.  Taking an unusual stance or making an unusual swing just to gain relief is not allowed.  The interference has to occur when you take what would be your normal stance for the lie.  If the situation is such that you would be forced to take an unusual stance, and there was interference at that point, then you would be allowed relief, but not if you take a right handed stance solely to get relief.

I saw this video posted in the NY Times and it says you can choose to his left handed.  Of course in this case hitting left handed is the better play in this video but I am not sure he is forced to take a left handed stance...

http://video.nytimes.com/video/playlist/sports/on-par-with-bill-pennington/1194811622291/index.html

Link to post
Share on other sites



Originally Posted by Bigacito

I saw this video posted in the NY Times and it says you can choose to his left handed.  Of course in this case hitting left handed is the better play in this video but I am not sure he is forced to take a left handed stance...

http://video.nytimes.com/video/playlist/sports/on-par-with-bill-pennington/1194811622291/index.html


Took me a while to find it, it was under the title 'Rules that rule'.

That is a typical example of exploiting the Rules. Bill takes a relief from the cart path simulating a lefthanded stroke which he is fully entitled to do as it is the most rational way to play the ball and in fact his only reasonable possibility. Now, when he takes relief from the cart path and drops his ball within 1 club-lenght of the NPOR he is free to change back to righthanded play if that is a reasonable thing to do. So, in essence, Bill gets pretty nice relief using Rule 24-2 to his advantage.

Do note that Bill has to determine his NPOR lefthanded but after he has taken relief he is free to choose either side he sees fit. Convenient, huh?

Link to post
Share on other sites

I didn't follow the link, but as described, it's a wise way to play the game.  You are entitled to take "advantage" of the rules when they give you an advantage, and in this case if your best play is an unusual stance, you may be entitled to relief.

I put "advantage" in quotes because you have to be careful---you may not take unfair advantage of the rules, that is more or less to say you must comply with Equity.  When determining the stance and direction of play in this case, you must be choosing a reasonable stance and a reasonable direction of play given the circumstances.  For example, you could claim you're going to take a left-handed swing aimed into the woods when you had a bad lie but an unobstructed right-handed swing toward the green.  You cannot make an unusual stance or direction of play in order to get relief.  So if you're right-handed and you have been playing right-handed all day, you would generally not be able to suddenly choose to make a left handed swing and take relief.

If you're a one-in-a-million golfer who plays full swings right-handed and short-game shots left-handed, then you're probably in business to play left-handed if it's a chip.  The key is that you have to choose an honest shot first, then take relief if you are so entitled.

Link to post
Share on other sites

I've actually carried a LH 5-iron for trouble shots that would severely restrict a RH swing.  These last few posts remind me -  since I'm down to 13 clubs, I need to go find that old POS......

Link to post
Share on other sites

Hopefully you can see dangerous, life threatening squirrels in the tree, or a fire ant bed, and drop in the middle of the fairway--no nearer the hole of course.
Link to post
Share on other sites

Note: This thread is 3643 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasfeb21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • Even if you recover, long covid is no joke. I know some people who are experiencing the not pleasant after effects of getting covid.
    • Day 126 (12 May 21) - rain today so nothing outside.  Mirror work focusing on getting hips clear to complete the turn.  Worked face on as well as down the line in terms of mirror watching.  Also played around with stance in terms of flaring feet and getting to a good "weight forward" ending position my trans-metted left foot can handle.  I will say this much - compared to videos from last April during the 30 day challenge, I am seeing better rotation.  
    • I have known people that recover from cancer as well. These kind of comments are why other people are saying you are being kind of stupid in saying these kinds of things. Again, it’s about more than you and your friends/family.
    • This is probably the most problematic statement. 🤣
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Adlamb
      Adlamb
      (46 years old)
    2. Baba
      Baba
      (45 years old)
    3. Healup
      Healup
      (49 years old)
    4. SophieWaggner83
      SophieWaggner83
      (38 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...