IGNORED

Tall golfer (6'2") looking for lie angle info?

Note: This thread is 4679 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recently got some WS fg tours. Fitted. 1" long and 2 deg. up.

I started playing with standard length and lie clubs and found myself lowering my center of gravity to lay the club comfortably against the turf. And these more fitted irons are tough to hit. Could it be because I'm used to adjusting to shorter clubs?

I noticed online comments of flatter lie angles (for me shorter clubs) tend to create a flatter swing, and less aggressive angle of attack. Which i only would assume results in less HEAVY turf interaction and crisp contact.

could it be i just need to get used to a more vertical swing? Or would flattening the lie angle to standard or even 1 down be ideal?

ALSO, i noticed that the mid to long irons aren't as hard to hit but these clubs have a progressive offset which is minimal. Another reason why a flatter swing might be preferred considering longer irons create flatter swings?

1" long and 2 deg. up would usually fit a player with a 37" wrist-to-floor measurement.  If that's what yours is, then I would say you need to get your posture and distance from the ball correct.  Then you can swing upright or flat or anywhere in between, whatever swing plane works for you.

Don't know at 6'2" (about 1.88 meter) you might be just over average, but people are different, some have long legs, some have long arms, etc...... I am 6'9" (2.06 meter), but also have long arms and not a really upright swing ...... My irons are 1.5" longer, but standard lie ..... but when ever walking into a shop they about allways can tell I need maybe 2-2.5 longer clubs and at least 4* upright lie......

I am actually gripping down about half an inch on full shots, bc it gives me more control.