• Announcements

    • iacas

      Introducing TST "Clubs!"   08/28/2017

      No, we're not getting into the equipment business, but we do have "clubs" here on TST now. Groups. Check them out here:
Sign in to follow this  
Motown88

Alignment Stick

Recommended Posts

Motown88    9

I carry 14 clubs in my bag, and an old Callaway driver shaft which I use as an alignment stick on the range.  It is only the shaft, no club head.  I know this may seem like an odd (and possibly very stupid) question seeing that it is clearly not a club, but since it is a golf club shaft does this count as a 15th club in my bag?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

mihi4    4

No.

Since it's no club, it doesn't count as one...

greetings

michi

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Fourputt    922
Originally Posted by Motown88

I carry 14 clubs in my bag, and an old Callaway driver shaft which I use as an alignment stick on the range.  It is only the shaft, no club head.  I know this may seem like an odd (and possibly very stupid) question seeing that it is clearly not a club, but since it is a golf club shaft does this count as a 15th club in my bag?

Just take care that you don't use it on the course or you would be in breach of Rule 14-3.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Motown88    9
Originally Posted by Fourputt

Just take care that you don't use it on the course or you would be in breach of Rule 14-3.

I don't see there being a time I would use it on a course...It's pretty hard to hit a ball without the club head :)

Joking aside, I would never use a training aid of any sort on the golf course.  Trying something new, or for training/learning purposes is something meant for the range in my opinion.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Fourputt    922
Originally Posted by Motown88

I don't see there being a time I would use it on a course...It's pretty hard to hit a ball without the club head :)

Joking aside, I would never use a training aid of any sort on the golf course.  Trying something new, or for training/learning purposes is something meant for the range in my opinion.

I have seen people use such things on the course, which is why I mentioned it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Rulesman    166

14-3/10.3

Use of Rod During Round for Alignment or as Swing Aid

Q. During a stipulated round, a player uses a rod to check his alignment or his swing plane. What is the ruling?

A. The player is disqualified under Rule 14-3 as the rod is unusual equipment and such use, during the stipulated round, is not permitted.

Carrying the rod is not, of itself, a breach of a Rule.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

zipazoid    266
Originally Posted by Motown88

I carry 14 clubs in my bag, and an old Callaway driver shaft which I use as an alignment stick on the range.  It is only the shaft, no club head.  I know this may seem like an odd (and possibly very stupid) question seeing that it is clearly not a club, but since it is a golf club shaft does this count as a 15th club in my bag?

I see pros with alignment sticks in their bags during tournament play all the time, so they obviously don't count as clubs. It may be a little fuzzy when it's a club shaft without a head, though it shouldn't. But you know how the rules can be.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Beachcomber    204
Originally Posted by Rulesman

14-3/10.3

Use of Rod During Round for Alignment or as Swing Aid

Q.During a stipulated round, a player uses a rod to check his alignment or his swing plane. What is the ruling?

A.The player is disqualified under Rule 14-3 as the rod is unusual equipment and such use, during the stipulated round, is not permitted.

Carrying the rod is not, of itself, a breach of a Rule.

This rule seems silly - because you can use your club (shaft) to help with alignment - before the shot.  Not that I use an alignment stick during a round of golf... I just find it silly that you can't use it... Especially when you can lay the golf club on the ground - make sure your stance line is where you want it - then pick the club up and make the swing.... And not incur a penalty.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Motown88    9
Originally Posted by Rulesman

14-3/10.3

Use of Rod During Round for Alignment or as Swing Aid

Q.During a stipulated round, a player uses a rod to check his alignment or his swing plane. What is the ruling?

A.The player is disqualified under Rule 14-3 as the rod is unusual equipment and such use, during the stipulated round, is not permitted.

Carrying the rod is not, of itself, a breach of a Rule.

Damn...there is a rule for everything apparently!!! Thanks for looking it up!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

turtleback    484
Originally Posted by Fourputt

Just take care that you don't use it on the course or you would be in breach of Rule 14-3.


I have a related question.  I sometimes carry a "donut" in my bag that I can slip onto my driver and make it a weighted club.  Am I correct in thinking that I can use it on the first tee before I hit my tee shot (and hence before the stipulated round has begun) and then put it away in my bag so long as I never use it during the stipulated round?

Thanks,

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

evan    0

I tend to just lay my club on the ground pointing towards my target, then position my feet before picking the club up. No unusual equipment with the same result.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Fourputt    922
Quote:
Originally Posted by turtleback View Post


I have a related question.  I sometimes carry a "donut" in my bag that I can slip onto my driver and make it a weighted club.  Am I correct in thinking that I can use it on the first tee before I hit my tee shot (and hence before the stipulated round has begun) and then put it away in my bag so long as I never use it during the stipulated round?

Thanks,

Yes, your thinking is correct.  It would be considered a swing aid, and as such its use is not allowed during the stipulated round.  You can use a weighted training club as long as the design of the club is within the rules, and it counts as one of your 14 clubs selected for the round.

Quote:

14-3/10

Use of Training or Swing Aid During Round

Q. During a round, may a player make a stroke or a practice swing using a club with a weighted headcover or "doughnut" on it, or use any other device designed as a training or swing aid?

A. No. The player would be using an artificial device to assist him in his play in breach of Rule 14-3 , but see also Decision 4-4a/7 for use of a weighted training club.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this