Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
butt3r3dt0ast

"Hole in One"?

9 posts in this topic

Hey All,

I was playing golf with a buddy a couple days ago. We were on a short par 3 and we both left our shots off the tee just short of the green. As there was no one behind us, we both took a second shot just for fun seeing as it was an interesting hole layout and a challenging hole to practice short game. I hit a beauty on my 2nd shot and rolled it a few inches past the cup.

Although, I didn't make the 2nd shot... it sparked an interesting conversation between us about the legitimacy of a "hole in one" while hitting a 2nd ball for fun/practice. I'm curious, has this happened to any of you? How do you feel about it and what do you tell people regarding the incident?

All the best!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Hole in one?  Of course not.

The actual correct answer, in terms of the rules, is that by playing the next shot from the tee box you abandoned your first ball under penalty of one stroke and put the 2d ball in play.  If it goes in, you just made an extremely difficult and improbable par!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by butt3r3dt0ast

Hey All,

I was playing golf with a buddy a couple days ago. We were on a short par 3 and we both left our shots off the tee just short of the green. As there was no one behind us, we both took a second shot just for fun seeing as it was an interesting hole layout and a challenging hole to practice short game. I hit a beauty on my 2nd shot and rolled it a few inches past the cup.

Although, I didn't make the 2nd shot... it sparked an interesting conversation between us about the legitimacy of a "hole in one" while hitting a 2nd ball for fun/practice. I'm curious, has this happened to any of you? How do you feel about it and what do you tell people regarding the incident?

All the best!

The closest I've come to that came in a junior tournament when I was younger. Pulled my tee shot left, hit a tree and went out of bounds. Holed out the provisional for a par, but I don't consider it a hole in one. Just a long hole-out for par.

I think in that situation, I would be happy and think it was cool, but I wouldn't claim it. Especially when the playing partners started lobbying for free drinks.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by David in FL

Hole in one?  Of course not.

Yea I agree. Personally, of course I wouldn't count it on my score and I wouldn't claim it legit. But man that would be frustrating to have that happen and not be able to claim the fame!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by geauxforbroke

The closest I've come to that came in a junior tournament when I was younger. Pulled my tee shot left, hit a tree and went out of bounds. Holed out the provisional for a par, but I don't consider it a hole in one. Just a long hole-out for par.

I think in that situation, I would be happy and think it was cool, but I wouldn't claim it. Especially when the playing partners started lobbying for free drinks.

I've actually seen that happen TWICE.  Sadly, my brother-in-law has a hole-in-one plaque hanging on his wall as a result.

The 2d time I was with a buddy who started jumping up and down about his ace.  I corrected him and when I got back to the clubhouse, I ordered him the plaque, but had it inscribed to read "Hole-in-Three".  He's quite proud of it, and rightfully so.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

It's not like anybody walks around town telling anyone who'll listen that they have made a hole in one (at least not after that day ;)) ... it only comes up when asked.  That said, I would assume that 99.9% of the time, it would go something like:

Q:  "So, have you ever made a hole in one?"

A:  "Well, sort of, but not technically.  I have holed out from the tee before on a par 3 but it was not my actual shot, so its not official."

Nobody's going to get their name on a plaque for that type of hole in one, and they probably aren't going to frame the ball either, but its still a feat worth mentioning.

I play in a charity scramble every year (when I'm not stuck going out of town for weddings) where, for the last couple of years, they have had a raffle for a hole-in-one to win $100,000 (might even be a million, but I don't remember).  They draw the raffle ticket prior to the round, and they walk the winner out to the fairway of the 18th hole at 160 yards, I think, with everybody watching, and if he makes it, he wins the money.  It's not "technically" a hole in one because its not during a round, but if I am drawn and sink the shot for the money, you better damn well believe I'm chalking that up as a hole in one.

EDIT:  Damnit David, I stand corrected (re: your brother-in-law, lol)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Golfingdad

It's not like anybody walks around town telling anyone who'll listen that they have made a hole in one (at least not after that day ;)) ... it only comes up when asked.  That said, I would assume that 99.9% of the time, it would go something like:

Q:  "So, have you ever made a hole in one?"

A:  "Well, sort of, but not technically.  I have holed out from the tee before on a par 3 but it was not my actual shot, so its not official."

Exactly how I think of it. I actually do this for my first birdie I ever got.

I was playing with some guys that were much better than me who I had never met, just got paired up. Came to a par 3 over a pond and I got nervous and bladed my first shot right in the pond. I lined a second ball up, hit it within a foot of the hole and putted in. I counted it as a 4 on my card and qualify the story when it comes up, but I was still excited about the shot and getting "almost" a birdie.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've had an ace - only one.  And it was pure - first swing off the tee and the ball never strayed from the flag in flight.  A small bounce; a short roll; and it disappeared.  I wish that joy upon every golfer.

I've never even THOUGHT about taking a second crack at the tee shot on a par-3 and considering it an ace.  It'd remove all the joy of the experience IMHO.  Quite the contrary, it'd probably add the frustration of knowing you had that shot 'in you', but failed to execute it when it counted.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The last time I remember playing a par 3 where this might come into play was a hole where most of the distance between the tee and the green was water.  I dunked the first, reteed, and dunked the second, then played a third from the tee.  Unfortunately the third, while dry was still not even on the green, much less anywhere near the hole.  I chipped up and two putted for smooth 8.

Fortunately, I do have 2 legitimate Aces, so I guess that having a hole like above is just entropy balancing the universe.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    Leupold Golf
    Snell Golf
    Talamore Golf Resort
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • When the courses open for the year around here (North Dakota), I try to get out and do something everyday.  Whether it be chipping and putting for an hour, range session, or get a quick 9 holes in I try to do something daily.  Not sure if that qualifies as "playing" daily.
    • (Feel free to move if this isn't an appropriate location) I purchased a SkyTrak launch monitor, and I have been very pleased with the product thus far. I feel that my review/experiences over the past few years may be able to help some or create good discussion on practicing. I don't have practice facilities readily accessible (25 min drive), so I've spent countless hours refining my swing in my garage with a mat/net.  3 years ago I was a 12 hcp and often struggled to make consistent solid contact, but have since lowered my hcp to the 4-6 range. It took a little while to learn the "feel" of different hits/misses while hitting into a net, but I was soon able to identify many different misses (fat, thin, toe, big slice, duck hook, etc) as well as a relatively solid hit.  It was easy to make improvements to my swing, because the difference between my "better" shots and my "worse" shots was easy to determine.   As I continued to improve my ball striking on the mat, I saw positive (although somewhat delayed) results on the course.  Last year, I had finally eliminated the majority of major mis-hits, and my "worse" shots turned into smaller draws and slices as well as small errors in distance control and starting flight path. I found that my mat/net practice sessions mostly consisted of solid feeling hits that went in the general vicinity of my target.  I was no longer getting specific enough feedback to further hone my ball striking.  I would spend a full week practicing what felt great at home, but when I took it to the course, I realized that I actually had a mild-moderate slice/draw that I wasn't aware of.  Basically, it was like hitting an 8 iron and knowing that my ball likely landed somewhere on the green or fringe, but, but not knowing if it was left, right, short, or long. I spent more time going to the range and hitting the course, but my schedule just doesn't allow me to go more than once or twice per week.  My improvement plateaued.   I did some research, and ultimately settled on the $2k SkyTrak instead of the variety of different options.  I considered the Optishot2 and GC2 based on other reviews, but ultimately settled with an in-between.   It was easy to setup, and after 5 minutes of experimenting with different ball positions, I've found it to be very accurate and consistent to the best that I can tell.  I can't attest to the accuracy of the more specific measurements (spin, launch angle, club head speed, etc), but what I "feel" seems to be very consistent with what I see.  The only thing that doesn't "feel" like what I see, is that my stock standard "good" feeling shot has a decent draw to it instead of being straight (remember my problem above?).  Adjusting my baseline "feel" to what is reality, any shots that feel like a draw actually show up as a bigger draw, and what feels like a fade is actually a straight shot.   I can consistently judge a fade, draw, flighted, flop, and my carry to within ~5 yards after I strike the ball.  It truly feels like I'm hitting on the range but with more specific information at my disposal (carry, launch angle, max height, spin).  Even if the numbers aren't perfectly accurate, they seem to be accurate relative to other shots within the same launch monitor (aka spin numbers increase and decrease as would be expected based on swing/club, even if I can't confirm their overall accuracy). I have no clue if SkyTrak was the best bang-for-buck, or if there are better products out there.  I also haven't been able to take it outdoors to confirm flight patterns.  It seems like a very poor setup for anyone wanting to take it to the range - indoor mat/net setup is its niche from my understanding.   I'm only a week in to using it, so my feeling may change over time, but I thought I would share my experience and offer to answer any questions if anyone has them.  Happy golfing!
    • So, I have another lesson on saturday but I've been working hard maintaining my posture during the swing. Over the last few months i developed a trend where on the down swing i would lean my left shoulder toward the ball and my right shoulder would come under and 4 times out of 5 i hit the ball fat. Yesterday's range session showed tremendous improvement, and i was back to hitting good shots again. Now that I have this down, I think it's time for another lesson so I can work on whatever he tells me next. Also, I bought a nike blades 4 iron for fun because I've always liked the look of blades but don't have the balls to actually play them, and I was shocked at how much distance I got, even on mishits. I was even more surprised when I put it on a tee and was hitting the ball almost as far as my 3 wood... just a lot more accurate. Can anyone say Beginners Luck? I think the true cause for this is actually the loft of the 4 iron. The one i have now(Cobra King Forged TEC), has so little loft it feels like i'm attempting to hit driver off the deck and is super tough to hit.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. henry granic
      henry granic
      (61 years old)
    2. Jscrillah
      Jscrillah
      (45 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon