Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
barbm12thtee

Placing my ball on a fairway pitch mark to tee up ball. Wrong or right?

50 posts in this topic

After a downpour, last night's League Play was like playing in a swamp. Finding relief from casual water was a joke. Lift, clean and place was in effect. So here's what I did on a fairway shot, I lifted my ball, cleaned and placed it on the pitch mark made by my ball. It sat up real nice, like on a tee. So I hit my driver, to get the ball to the green on a Par 5. Did I cheat?" Should I not have done that?" (Said in George Costanza voice).
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Originally Posted by barbm12thtee

After a downpour, last night's League Play was like playing in a swamp. Finding relief from casual water was a joke. Lift, clean and place was in effect. So here's what I did on a fairway shot, I lifted my ball, cleaned and placed it on the pitch mark made by my ball. It sat up real nice, like on a tee. So I hit my driver, to get the ball to the green on a Par 5. Did I cheat?" Should I not have done that?" (Said in George Costanza voice).

Totally permitted under lift, clean and place.  In fact the PGA Tour players also do this exact thing when available.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well, you cannot replace the ball in such a way to improve your lie, so, "teeing" it up on a pitch mark is indeed improving it, so, I would say you broke the rules, yes... You naughty man! :D

Well, I eat my hat... And learn something new at the same time! :D

This is why I joined here... For snippets like that!

Dabz

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You may also place the ball on a stray tee that someone has fortuitously left stuck in the ground.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by barbm12thtee

After a downpour, last night's League Play was like playing in a swamp. Finding relief from casual water was a joke. Lift, clean and place was in effect. So here's what I did on a fairway shot, I lifted my ball, cleaned and placed it on the pitch mark made by my ball. It sat up real nice, like on a tee. So I hit my driver, to get the ball to the green on a Par 5. Did I cheat?" Should I not have done that?" (Said in George Costanza voice).

Totally fine, in fact, I learned that trick from a pro playing winter golf in a competition..As long as the pitch mark wasn't closer to the hole.

He also would put his ball on top of a piece of goose crap that was near his ball.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by phan52

He also would put his ball on top of a piece of goose crap that was near his ball.

A strategic worm cast is better.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by phan52

Totally fine, in fact, I learned that trick from a pro playing winter golf in a competition..As long as the pitch mark wasn't closer to the hole.

Not all tricks learned from pro's are according to the Rules, unfortunately. Fortunately this one is.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Rulesman

Quote:

Originally Posted by phan52

He also would put his ball on top of a piece of goose crap that was near his ball.

A strategic worm cast is better.

As long as you don't create the lie or move something to place the ball on, anything within the relief area is fair game.

If you use goose crap, you might want to be careful of the splatter.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Two more separate questions..... 1.) Okay, so if you are playing winter rules and rolling the ball is acceptable or in a scramble, can you take a practice swing and create a divot which creates a nice little place to "tee" your OWN ball? 2.) Also, I remember the Pro playing with my team in a scramble, instructed ME to try to create a divot while swinging my club when we were hitting from the rough. This was so that HE could place his ball on the fluffed up grass MY swing created. Does that sound right?
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by barbm12thtee

Two more separate questions.....

1.) Okay, so if you are playing winter rules and rolling the ball is acceptable or in a scramble, can you take a practice swing and create a divot which creates a nice little place to "tee" your OWN ball?

2.) Also, I remember the Pro playing with my team in a scramble, instructed ME to try to create a divot while swinging my club when we were hitting from the rough. This was so that HE could place his ball on the fluffed up grass MY swing created. Does that sound right?

None of the above is acceptable in the Rules.

But there are no rules in scrambles other than the ones made up by the organiser(s).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Rulesman

You may also place the ball on a stray tee that someone has fortuitously left stuck in the ground.

This is drawing a very long bow ?................Not recommended ...............

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by thescarecrow

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rulesman

You may also place the ball on a stray tee that someone has fortuitously left stuck in the ground.

This is drawing a very long bow ?................Not recommended ...............

Why?  You can't stick it in the ground, but if you find it there and it's within the area allowed for placement, then it's fair game.  If that bothers you, well...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by thescarecrow

Not recommended ...............

By whom?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Fourputt

Why?  You can't stick it in the ground, but if you find it there and it's within the area allowed for placement, then it's fair game.  If that bothers you, well...

Well...........  If you truly believe  what you are saying, good luck to you.....However ....The Local Rule should read "place it  on a spot"  Spot meaning ''a spot on the fairway".....If the ball was placed on a tee,(fortunate or not)  and  I happened to   turn as you hit the ball, and a tee just happens to fly in the air , what do you think my  response would be ?..........As I said "not recommended"   Well..........................I would assume it fell out of your pocket and .......Well,........ "not recommended"    Well.........., what else have you been up to with my back turned. ...............Well........ "Not Recommended"........No,..It does not bother me, unless I had your scorecard in my pocket..

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by thescarecrow

Well...........  If you truly believe  what you are saying, good luck to you.....However ....The Local Rule should read "place it  on a spot"  Spot meaning ''a spot on the fairway".....If the ball was placed on a tee,(fortunate or not)  and  I happened to   turn as you hit the ball, and a tee just happens to fly in the air , what do you think my  response would be ?..........As I said "not recommended"   Well..........................I would assume it fell out of your pocket and .......Well,........ "not recommended"    Well.........., what else have you been up to with my back turned. ...............Well........ "Not Recommended"........No,..It does not bother me, unless I had your scorecard in my pocket..

I cannot recall the competition but years ago Bernhard Langer dropped his ball taking relief from something and his ball ended up on the tee he had used to mark the margin of his drop area. The referee gave the situation some thought and in the end allowed Langer to play his ball from the tee. Obviously no Rule against that.

Afa as 'a spot' is concerned it could be anywhere, not only on fairway (which, btw, is not defined in the Rules at all). It could be in a tree, on a bridge, on a car, virtually anywhere. So placing a ball on a stray tee is as good place as any. Happens very seldom, though, I would suspect.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Rulesman

By whom?

By me......This is my personal opinion..........It is not recommended ............

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Ignorant

I cannot recall the competition but years ago Bernhard Langer dropped his ball taking relief from something and his ball ended up on the tee he had used to mark the margin of his drop area. The referee gave the situation some thought and in the end allowed Langer to play his ball from the tee. Obviously no Rule against that.

Afa as 'a spot' is concerned it could be anywhere, not only on fairway (which, btw, is not defined in the Rules at all). It could be in a tree, on a bridge, on a car, virtually anywhere. So placing a ball on a stray tee is as good place as any. Happens very seldom, though, I would suspect.

Dropped is not placed.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by thescarecrow

....The Local Rule should read "place it  on a spot"  Spot meaning ''a spot on the fairway"...

But it doesn't. It simply says " he must place it on a spot within (specify area, e.g., six inches, one club-length, etc.) of and not nearer the hole than where it originally lay, that is not in a hazard and not on a putting green"

Some years ago I received this reply from the R&A;

"If there's an LI or a movable obstruction within the distance, the player may place the ball on it."

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • The progressive wing of the Dem party hates Kaine. He is pro TPP and favors deregulation to wall street. However he brings in VA and has a solid record on many issues for moderate Dems.
      I would not be surprised if you see Bernie speak at the DNC. He will tell his supporters that even though HRC is not their first choice he (Bernie) will have a better chance of working with  her for their issues, than DT! I hear they are countering Baio with prime time slot speech from Erin Moran!!!!!
    • Newtogolf's post is important.  I do not like hanging around people that are used to having a staff.  I just went on a raft trip with a friend of almost 50 years.  We do our own trips, and it is important for everyone to pitch in as it is a lot of work for guys in their 60s.  My friend just retired from being a doctor, and never really figured out how to help for the good of the group. He kept wanting to consider himself a "guest."   That is after we had some long discussions about being part of the team.  He will not be invited back. I would not want to play golf with people that are used to having a caddy either.   
    • Most double bogies, especially from the average golfer don't come from "taking risks", they come from a poor swing that results in OB, water hazard, lost in the woods, whatever.  A decent player can still break 80 with a double or two for exactly that reason, it's only a couple of bad swings.   The reason that most golfers never break 80 is that they make a lot of those bad swings, that add up.  But even good golfers, who break 80 (or better) consistently, will have the occasional bad swing that will result in a penalty and subsequently a double, or worse.   Which is "harder" is a matter of skill level. For me, someone who, as the OP asked, is as likely to break 80 as not, if I had to bet on the result of any given round before the first tee, I'd bet that I break 80 over a DB free round of any score.  Higher handicap players will find the opposite.  Scratch or better players will seldom fail to break 80, but will still have their share of individual blowup holes.  They'll just use their superior play on the remaining 16 or 17 holes to offset the couple of bad swings. 
    • I don't know enough about his situation.  Maybe not immediately -- he wouldn't qualify for the PGA Championship or the FedEx Cup playoffs (you can't earn points as a non-member, which he is for this event).  But probably by end of summer to start the 2016-17 PGA Tour season as a member.  Unless I'm forgetting someone, he'd be the third amateur to win a PGA Tour event in my lifetime (Verplank, Mickelson). 
    • Thanks.  I figured I would have heard by now if it made a difference, but I'm glad to hear it just the same. I tee off in just over three hours for my first round with the game golf.  
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

  • Blog Entries