IGNORED

Does Altitude Matter?

Pretzel
Note: This thread is 3113 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Living in Colorado, I know that my golf ball should travel a good deal further in the air and total than when at sea level. However in a recent trip to Michigan, I noticed that my distances only changed by 5 yards or so with the irons and around 10 with hybrids and woods. I expected a much greater change myself and it makes me wonder if I subconsciously was hitting the ball harder to try and match my usual distances or compensate for the air pressure. Has anyone else played at altitude and close to sea level and noticed a small difference as well?

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I've been playing golf at sea level for the last 15 years. And, I only average about 240 off the tee. So I would like to think that if I was playing at 5000 feet I would be bombing it out there. Ha. Doubt it. I do play in the Adirondaks on occasion and I notice a small difference with distances. I wish it was more.

I'll be traveling to Asheville, NC this weekend to play the course at Grove Park Inn. I'll see if I notice much difference between Sea Level (Myrtle Beach) and 2500 feet (Asheville).

I don't have any scientific data for you - but I think it does matter. Maybe not 30 yards or anything like that.  But I feel the ball doesn't travel as far when I play at sea level.  And similarly when it has just rained or is a super humid day here at 1000 feet.