Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

First Time Champ!

6 posts in this topic

Last night was our league championship night. I was 2 points behind the leader going into the the night. If I beat him on nine holes we had to go into playoff holes to decide the winner. Well I absolutely crushed him on the 9 holes, by 10 strokes... he completely collapsed under the pressure... I was up by 5 after the first 2 and I kept the pressure on all night. Then on to the play-off hole we went......

It's not a long par 4, was playing about 350 yards but water lines the hole left side and it's a hard dog leg left from 130 yards to the green. Follow the link and click on the 18th hole to view if interested.....

We flipped a coin to see who tee's it up first and it was me. I placed my tee shot in in the middle of the fairway, 139 yards from the flag. My opponent hit's his tee to the right behind a small group of trees, about 8 feet behind them. He has about a 2-3 foot opening to shoot thru the trees and that's what he says he's going to do. I take cover behind our cart. He hit an awesome shot right thru the gap to the green but it rolled off into the bunker on the right side. This guy is one hell of a sand player to.

I grab my 8 iron to hit my approach shot, nerves were starting to kick in for the first time and wham.... hit fat and lands 60 yards short of the green! I pitched on and it rolled to the back of the green, about 30 feet past the cup, not good but have a slim chance at par which I figured was needed to win or tie. He goes to hit his sand shot and hits it thin, into the bunker on the other side! So now I am thinking, make it and it's over, If I lag it close at least finish with a bogey and play another hole. He punches out of the sand and barely makes the green leaving himself a 15 foot putt.

I am up to putt, the greens have played slow all day but this one was a downhill bender to the right so... yep 10 feet short! He putts and leaves it 24 inches short for his bogey putt, and he is now hitting 6. Now a bogey wins the hole and I am 10 feet away with all the break to the right. I putt and clipped the left edge of the hole and it stops 6 inches past.... He lets me finish out, a 6. I figure we tie, move to the next playoff hole. He lines up his putt and lipped it! Hit's the cup at about 8-9 o'clock and comes out at 12.... heartbreaking. I couldn't believe it. So I win the championship for individual, my opponent last night is my teammate and we won the team championship....


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Thanks! Yeah, not the most stylish win..... The 9th hole would have been better... I birdied that one... lol.


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Congrats man! Sounds like the pressure was maybe getting to you both a little bit, but way to hold it together and pull out the win. Well done.


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Congratulations.  And herein lies the reason why putting out every putt during casual rounds, even 2 footers, makes sense.


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • I'm good friends with a number of college coaches, particularly women's college coaches, and while I have no doubt that some likely care about height, most will take the player with the good scores so long as their game is commensurate. You're making a big assumption that a 5'5" girl is going to be bumping hybrids all day long. Jamie Sadlowski is only 5'10". Sadena Parks is 5'3". Kim Sei-young is 5'4". Brooke Henderson? 5'4". Randomly chose players from the top 20 on the LPGA's Driving Distance list. Distance is an, absolutely, but there's a big world between "bumped hybrids that roll onto greens" and "spinning the ball with irons." Height correlates to distance, but we're not talking about an R2 value of 0.89 or something. Now, before this gets too far off topic… let's leave it at that. P.S. Off topic because we're talking about how to get noticed by college coaches, not generalities of height and distance and impact on scoring in the vague, non-specific sense.
    • There are two ways he could reasonably respond to this… A) How would he know?
      B) The current rule does just that. I think you're misreading what he wrote. And you have no idea what the "primary cause" is, particularly since you're not even discussing a specific situation right now. I can see how soling your putter near the ball could be more likely to cause a ball to move than walking in and stopping a foot+ away from the ball. A ball overhanging the hole is not deemed at rest until the time has elapsed (or the player taps in). The situations are not alike. You, too, seem to be reading this incorrectly. Re-read 18-2/0.5. There's no presumption of guilt or innocence. The facts are simply weighed, and the most likely cause determined. The player is not guilty until proven innocent. Kindly stop just making stuff up. On that we agree.
    • I have a daughter playing D1 golf.  While the competition isn't as severe, D1 and high D2 coaches do have stereotypes for their golfers.  They want them a certain size and a certain build.  They will take a kid that is 5'9" that averages a 78 over a girl that is 5'5" and averages 75 .  They know that the 5'9" hasn't maxed out their potential and can grow in the distance department just on size alone.  They want girls going into greens with irons and spinning the ball, not a bumped hybrid that rolls onto the green.  Heard this from several coaches in the process.
    • I'm curious if Phil had found a setup edge with putting if he'd share it so openly with his fellow pros? He's rather competitive, but has been open about some of his strategies in the past. It probably depends on the individual stroke tendencies.
    • Did they ever look at just an exception to this rule for obvious external causes like wind and gravity? To a large extent though the hovering of the club was only relevant to actually causing the ball to move off the greens. Just stepping in to the ball and standing there (esp. on fast greens) is likely the primary cause - absent wind. Why is a putt that comes to rest on the edge of the cup and then goes in when a player walks toward it to mark it not treated the same under this rule. It's at rest and then it moves. Treat like situations alike, right? Why make an exception because it's on the green or near the hole? The player walking in is the likely cause and aren't extra heavy footsteps not allowed, because they are likely to tip the balance? Might not be 'opposite', but I do think your idea is a bit like shifting of the burden of proof from the defendant to the plaintiff. If done this way you could stick with the existing 51% threshold to be tighter on latitude. It just seems that way with a few of the rulings as applied. To a large extent though the hovering of the club to avoid a penalty was only relevant to actually causing the ball to move off the greens. Just stepping in to the ball and standing there (esp. on fast greens) is likely the primary cause of movement - absent wind. I personally like that the wind moving the ball regardless of whether or not the club was grounded does not result in a penalty now.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. billymo2
      (24 years old)
    2. bostonboy9416
      (16 years old)
    3. kpaulhus
      (29 years old)
  • Blog Entries