Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
bkuehn1952

Playing a 2nd Ball - Rules Issue

10 posts in this topic

When was the last time you played a 2nd ball because of some doubt or dispute over a Rule?  What were the circumstances and how did it work out?

Mine goes back a couple years.  I was playing a course for the first time as part of our "club without real estate" tournament series.  The 9th hole has the main entry road running along the left side of a dogleg right hole.  I pulled my first tee shot and it hit the cart path.  When I located the ball it was on the wrong side of the road lying on some grass with a clear shot to the green.  The road was not marked with white lines or stakes.  There was no indication on the score card that a ball over the road was OB but a couple guys in our group felt it might be OB so I said I would play the original ball in and also go back to the tee and play a second ball under stroke & distance.  My original ball was my preferred ball.  I scored "6" on the 2nd ball and "5" with the original.  After the round the club pro confirmed that the road and opposite side were not OB so bogey "5" was the correct score.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Men's Club tournament.  The par 5 6th hole has an irrigation ditch which often comes into play on the second shot.  I hit a high, strong fade (okay, it was a slice) that drifted right just enough to drop into the lateral water hazard.  Myself and 2 of my fellow competitors had a good line and marked the spot where the ball crossed the margin at about 160 yards from the green.  My 3rd FC insisted that the ball followed the hazard almost it's entire flight, even though he was well off the line, standing in the left rough and had the poorest view.  His contention was that I should drop about 220 yards out.  Since he was adamant, I played from both spots, selecting the 160 yard ball as my preferred, and actually made the putt for par with the selected ball, while I made double with the other ball.

After reporting to the committee, they made all of us go back out to the hole and lay out the shot for them.  When 3 of us all said the same thing, and what they could see from the spot where the ball was hit, the committee ruled for me.  They ruled that the 4th guy's angle was too far off the line for him to have seen anything accurately, which meant that by the rules I was correct in my procedure.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I hit a high, strong fade (okay, it was a slice) that drifted right .

No. It's actually quite a difficult technical shot called a Reverse Draw.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Only one in recent memory, and pretty simple, but it's amazing how poorly informed a lot of golfers are over the simplest or rules.

I was on the fringe chipping.  Brushing the grass with my wedge just trying to get a feel for the distance.....I looked at the pin and promptly hit my ball with the toe of my club, causing it to scoot off the fringe and into a deep bunker.  A real bonehead move if ever there was one.  My 2 fellow competitors insisted that the ball had to be played from where it lay in the bunker.  I claimed that because I moved the ball, but without intent, had not made a stroke , that the ball had to be replaced in the same position on the fringe and played under penalty of one stroke.

I played both and made 5 with my ball from the fringe and 6 from the bunker.  Of course the committee ruled that replacing the ball was correct.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

If a player knows the Rules, he can often save time by just proceeding correctly, regardless of what a FC may suggest, and leave it up to the FC to bring the situation up to the Committee. This would work in the last two of the three situations above. The one regarding the road and OOB is, imo, a proper use of Rule 3-3.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If a player knows the Rules, he can often save time by just proceeding correctly, regardless of what a FC may suggest, and leave it up to the FC to bring the situation up to the Committee. This would work in the last two of the three situations above. The one regarding the road and OOB is, imo, a proper use of Rule 3-3.

I played the second ball as much to keep peace within the group for the remainder of the round as for any real uncertainty.  We still had 12 more holes to play and if I had just blown him off, the rest of the day could have been uncomfortable for both of us.  As it was, he was satisfied that the committee would rule against me, and I was quite certain that they wouldn't, so the rest of the round was relatively friendly.   When the round was over and the ruling went my way, he still didn't agree with it (he is one of those bulldog types who has trouble letting go of an idea once it's in his head), but was willing to accept their decision as final, so that he and I are still on friendly terms to this day.  He is now much better versed on the rules than he was then (it was just his first year in the club), and would probably not dispute the point if it came up again.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I played the second ball as much to keep peace within the group for the remainder of the round as for any real uncertainty.  We still had 12 more holes to play and if I had just blown him off, the rest of the day could have been uncomfortable for both of us.  As it was, he was satisfied that the committee would rule against me, and I was quite certain that they wouldn't, so the rest of the round was relatively friendly.   When the round was over and the ruling went my way, he still didn't agree with it (he is one of those bulldog types who has trouble letting go of an idea once it's in his head), but was willing to accept their decision as final, so that he and I are still on friendly terms to this day.  He is now much better versed on the rules than he was then (it was just his first year in the club), and would probably not dispute the point if it came up again.

Yep, me too.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Understand your reason(s), but I wouldn't have bothered playing under 3-3 in those circumstances, just to "keep the peace". It's not necessary, inconvenient and slows play. I'd just politely tell him that I know what I'm doing and suggest he can bring it up with the Committee at the end of the round if he disagrees. FC, including markers, are not referees and not expected to be.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Back on topic - the last time that I used 3-3 was when my original ball was lying on a road (not artificially surfaced) leading to the maintenance compound. I thought I would be entitled to relief, so chose the second ball to count. Scored five (par) with the original ball played from the road and six with the ball dropped for relief. The Committee ruled against me and said the original ball must count. :-D
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No. It's actually quite a difficult technical shot called a Reverse Draw.

I like that. I always called it a leftys draw, but reverse draw sounds better.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    Leupold Golf
    Snell Golf
    Talamore Golf Resort
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • He's not denying anyone if he takes it or not. The list of invitations is pretty well established, and as a former champ, he essentially has a lifetime invitation. The field expands or shrinks based on who accepts the invitations. There are no "spots" and they won't invite someone else if Tiger doesn't take his invitation.
    • Some questions to kick off the run-up to and playing of the 2017 Masters Toonamint at Augusta National: Is Jordan Spieth the favorite to win after his collapse last year? Is it the best story in golf? If not Jordan, how about Dustin Johnson? Will Tiger Woods make the cut? Will he play? Will he surprise everyone (likely including himself at this point) and finish in the top ten? If he skips this tournament, will this be the last time anyone really cares? Last year's winner Danny Willett… does he contend again, or will his drop in play (evident at the Ryder Cup) continue? Ask any other questions you may have, and answer them, too.
    • One philosophy has pervaded my life. It's simple really, but doesn't seem to be easy to live with: "There has to be a better way." When I came to golf eight months ago, I applied this principle, as I had to everything I've ever done. Can this be better? Not just for me, but for others. I want to enjoy golf, and I want everyone to enjoy the game, even if they disagree with me or don't need any better. Recently I have been playing rounds of what some of us are calling Play 200. Each hole, I begin at the 200 yard mark (shorter par 3's excepted, of course). I start every hole from 200 yards from the green according to my Garmin GPS watch. Because I can't reach the green in one shot, I have to plan what club I'm going to hit, where I want to land it, from how far out I want to be to hit my second shot into the green. Yesterday, I shot 6 over for nine holes. It was fun. By eliminating the tee shot, I also cut my nine holes down to less than an hour and a half. I played a few holes with two other guys, so that slows it down. They didn't mind, after they understood what I'm doing. I'm practicing. I spent a hour on the range practicing my full swing. I spent a half hour chipping and putting. Then I played nine holes, (after 3 o'clock it's only $10), and was home in time to fix my wife dinner when she got home from work. That's what I call a great golf day. I left the course happy about how I spent my day. My driver is not reliable. My three wood isn't either. Even if it was, I would still keep playing from 200. Some say, "That's not golf!", but if you take the driver out of the bag, is it still golf? If you tee off with an iron every hole, the game has changed. If you "move up," to what? is it still golf? Yes. All of that is golf. So why not do something that works, that takes over half of the frustration out of the game? Why not try something that makes the game more fun, esp if you are over 100 avg.?   Thank you for the folks who have written in support. I know this is a place where people who push the envelope are not popular. I have run into this in many places where the status quo is well-protected. I push the boundaries. I think to myself, "How can this be better," and I work on it. This might be a way to get people to stay playing golf, when they might otherwise give it up. Golf is hard. For more than half of those who try it, it's too hard. They give up. This is way outside the box, but if you think that a without a driver, the game isn't the same, either. It's all golf. Once I can hit my driver, I'll be back on the tee box. Where the fun is one stroke more. Best wishes. Enjoy the process. Think outside the box.
    • I work at a Stations casino. Ours is a second tier house, not a break-in joint. And everything you said is true about 1999. After 2008, it is decidedly NOT true. Only the Wynn dealers have any chance of getting close to a hundred K a year. The vast majority are still making 30% less than 2006, or even less. We make $18 an hour in our casino. All of us. Even the lousy dealers. I've been doing this five years. I have been in Vegas for eleven. You have great insight, for someone who doesn't know. Today I begin forty hours a week, after working 24 hours a week for the last three years. It took THREE YEARS to gain full-time employment in my industry. I took home $25,852.65 last year. My wife does not have health insurance where she works. For the first time in several years, she'll see a doctor. Golf is expensive. Lessons are expensive. Disrespect is cheap. Esp here.
    • Good post. One slight correction is the split in his MP 29 & 14 was between the 4 and 5 iron rather than between the 3 and 4. An interesting side note...his Cobra driver was 43.625" and his 5 iron was 37.75" which used to be pretty standard at the time, but is short compared to most modern specs.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. BreakingBadly
      BreakingBadly
      (34 years old)
    2. dreamcrusher28
      dreamcrusher28
      (45 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon