Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
joekelly

Borrow a ball

6 posts in this topic

Recently read that a golf pro, while playing the Hong Kong open was DQd for failing to tee off 'on time'. Turns out that, unlike on most courses, the second nine, pro's first hole of the day, starts on hole 11. The caddy got lost, the pro had only his putter in hand and did not play on time. Yes, he could have used the putter to drive but what if he had the putter (any club) but no golf ball.

Could pro borrow a ball from FC, or anyone in the gallery?

Does seem crazy to me that he did not drive off with the putter, at least get a start. Heck, it would probably be as good a shot as i might take with the big club.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Recently read that a golf pro, while playing the Hong Kong open was DQd for failing to tee off 'on time'. Turns out that, unlike on most courses, the second nine, pro's first hole of the day, starts on hole 11. The caddy got lost, the pro had only his putter in hand and did not play on time. Yes, he could have used the putter to drive but what if he had the putter (any club) but no golf ball.

Could pro borrow a ball from FC, or anyone in the gallery?

Does seem crazy to me that he did not drive off with the putter, at least get a start. Heck, it would probably be as good a shot as i might take with the big club.

He may borrow a ball from anyone. However, in many pro events (almost certainly including this one), the 'One Ball Condition' is in force, so that he could only play with a ball of the same make and model as the ones he had use for the rest of the round.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

He may borrow a ball from anyone. However, in many pro events (almost certainly including this one), the 'One Ball Condition' is in force, so that he could only play with a ball of the same make and model as the ones he had use for the rest of the round.

What is the penalty for using a second type of ball when the one ball rule is in effect?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I believe it's two stokes in stoke play for each hole played with ball. Max 4 strokes. Loss of hole match play. Max two holes. If u don't correct on next hole after the error is discovered its DQ.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

"Why are you smiling, you just hit 4 balls into the water hazard?" "Because I got them out of your bag."
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I believe it's two stokes in stoke play for each hole played with ball. Max 4 strokes. Loss of hole match play. Max two holes.

If u don't correct on next hole after the error is discovered its DQ.

Thanks.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0