• Announcements

• iacas

Introducing TST "Clubs!"   08/28/2017

No, we're not getting into the equipment business, but we do have "clubs" here on TST now. Groups. Check them out here:
Sign in to follow this  
carlson

Cutting down belly putters

carlson    0
I just purchased a new taylormade belly putter on eBay because the price was too low to ignore. I am fairly new to the game but absolutely love it. I would really like to cut the putter down and make it a standard size putter but I don't know anything about the possibilities of that. Like I said I am new to the game so this may be a simple question but I really don't know the answer

treebound    4

Is there any reason to not do this at home?  I've been wondering the same thing lately after I saw a long putter in a local used store.  I figure it is just chopping off the excess length from the grip end, deburring the cut end and cleaning it up a little, then slipping on a new grip.

swampertwo    0

The loft/lie of belly putters is mostly the same as a standard putter.  The lie of a long putter is a lot more upright (70-71 versus 80/81*)

Can be done with belly putters at home--can't be done with the long putter without bending the shaft or redrilling the head.

Jeff

arturo28mx    26
Yes you can shorten it. but you will end up with a putter that is heavier than normal. You may like it. I didn't. (the head of belly putters is heavier than the head of standard putters)

I recently cut down an Odyssey 2-ball putter from belly length to standard length and had the same experience as the poster above .  . . feels too heavy in the head.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  

• Want to join this community?

We'd love to have you!

• 2017 TST Partners

Talamore Golf Resort
    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Mission Belt